Cast Of Characters: Princes In YA

cast

the-chronicles-of-narnia-prince-caspian-4Prince Caspian, The Chronicles of Narnia

gist

In this frame of reference, the term ‘Prince’ is taken literally—that is, an individual of royal lineage, and one customarily expecting direct ascendance to the throne, when all is said and done. In many of Young Adult novels, princes serve as love interests to heroines who are commonly either outcasts in society, or regulatory hotties who can somehow resist the royal charms (though obviously not for long).

example

 

cast1

quotes

Try to match each quote to the corresponding prince who said it from the examples shown above! I may have removed some of the names so that it won’t be such a giveaway! Also to avoid spoilers 🙂

“I was afraid I was wrong, that you would change your mind any second. I’ve been looking for a suitable alternative, but the truth is … there’s only you. Maybe I’m not really looking, maybe they aren’t right for me. It doesn’t matter. I just know I want you. And that terrifies me. I’ve been waiting for you to take back the words, to beg to leave.”

“I wanted you to go away, because it hurts to be with you when I can’t see you.”

“I know this is stupid, but part of me felt like if I could come see you today, if I could convince you to go with me tonight, then maybe I could still change things. It’s dumb, I know. It’s not like she cares if I, you know, might have actual feelings for someone.”

“And I swear, if there is a way for us to be together, I will find it. No matter how long it takes. If I have to chase your soul to the ends of eternity, I won’t stop until I find you, I promise.”

verdict

feels

To be honest, the idea of a prince may sound like a threadbare phrase, and to an extent a prosaism, and even more so the idea of having them fall for a low-profile heroine (too good to be true), yet I still take delight in the idea of them, and hold them in high esteem, for why’s and wherefores entirely my own.

First of all, the manner by which they are commonly portrayed as well-mannered gentlemen who care for their loved ones and their kingdoms alike eliminates the stereotype of a prince as an arrogant, condescending noble who gets everything he wants without even trying because he demands it, and not because he’s entirely deserving. As a matter of fact, their likeness considerably humanizes the idea of a prince, and their interaction with the ‘bourgeoisie’, that is to say the common citizen, bridges yet another gap in the process.

It may perhaps just be my predilection or particular fondness for the romantic cavalier, but I do find princes ten times as swoon worthy as the abstruse, inscrutable bad boys who spend their days chafing inwardly and their nights possibly plotting revenge. Yes, the dialogue may get cheesy (refer to example quotes!) but I find it much easier to rest assured that when they claim to love someone, the emotion is absolute. After all, it’s not common for a prince to marry outside of a peremptory arrangement,  to a girl he most likely has no intention of marrying, much less loving. Meeting the girl of his dreams will probably dragoon a stalwart impact.

Oh and, it’s a guilty pleasure of mine to feel so freaking triumphant whenever he gets the girl, and vice versa. From the prince’s standpoint, their love is strong enough to resist the gradient of common practice, and from the heroine standpoint, a million screaming girls simultaneously crushing on the prince would gladly step on one another to secure the prize, and yet he still manages to single her out.VICTORY DANCE!

So yeah, suffice it to say, I approve!

What about you? Do you approve of princes in YA? Do tell me in the comments below 🙂

siggy

26 thoughts on “Cast Of Characters: Princes In YA

  1. Love this new feature! I enjoy discussing all things book related.
    Personally I don’t mind reading about princes and how they somehow fall in love with a commoner but I feel like most of the princes I’ve read about so far are all very similar, none of them stands out. There’s only one or two exception(s) and I’ve read about quite a lot of princes now. I think authors need to spice up their prince’s storylines some more.

    • Thanks! 🙂 I’m glad you like the new feature, Kaylie ❤ But awww it's unfortunate that you haven't read about the awesome princes yet! The ones in the examples are ones I've read about, and they all pretty much rocked my world ❤ So yeah, I hope those authors spice up the storylines a bit more too 😀

  2. What I can’t stand is how some girls go “I’m waiting for my prince” and I’m like “can you do anything yourself?” A prince usually is a good looking guy with nice hair and smooth words. I’m not charmed by these people at all ad I always feel like the one that’s left out in Birthday parties because of it. LOL.

    Great post… And I think that first quote was Maxon… yes?

    • Oh well I’m definitely more a fan of the prince than the girl all of the time 😄 But it’s sad that you don’t like princes because WHY NOT?! Hahaha, I kidd :p It’s alright that you don’t, we all have our preferences 😀 I just think that they’re not all about charming girls and sweeping them off their feet, because I like to look past the words and the hair and examine their personalities and the way they interact with their people. It’s so refreshing to see a lot of them genuinely care about the welfare of their kingdoms, and I really get amazed at how they can run an entire country 😄 But thanks for that Nova, and it IS Maxon! 🙂

  3. This is really clever!
    I have to say that I sometimes love the Prince, and I sometimes don’t. I feel as though he is overdone (like the bad boy), but when he is done well, then it’s brilliant. As long as the author’s incorporate something unique into him, then I like Prince’s in YA. 🙂

    • Thank you Brea! 🙂 Well yes, of course, the way the Prince is written has to be good enough for me to like him 😀 I definitely like them more than the bad boys, though 😄 And amen to the author incorporating uniqueness! I think without that, they’d all just look and feel the same to me, which would get boring easily. So yeahp, right about that! And thanks for stopping by~

  4. What a fun new feature. I have to say that although the Prince character is often overdone I just can’t help but swoon (I think it was all those disney movies I watched while growing up).

    The most recent novel I read that starred a Prince, was Siege and Storm. Have you read that one yet? It has a most swoon worthy prince in my opinion!

    I haven’t read any of the examples that you have chosen (yeah I know, I’ve been living under a rock), but I’ll try to guess the quotes anyway based on their goodreads synopsis.

    I think that:

    “I was afraid I was wrong, that you would change your mind any second. I’ve been looking for a suitable alternative, but the truth is … there’s only you. Maybe I’m not really looking, maybe they aren’t right for me. It doesn’t matter. I just know I want you. And that terrifies me. I’ve been waiting for you to take back the words, to beg to leave.”

    belongs to The Selection.

    I think that:

    “I wanted you to go away, because it hurts to be with you when I can’t see you.”

    belongs to Graceling

    I think that:

    “I know this is stupid, but part of me felt like if I could come see you today, if I could convince you to go with me tonight, then maybe I could still change things. It’s dumb, I know. It’s not like she cares if I, you know, might have actual feelings for someone.”

    belongs to Cinder

    and finally I think that:

    “And I swear, if there is a way for us to be together, I will find it. No matter how long it takes. If I have to chase your soul to the ends of eternity, I won’t stop until I find you, I promise.”

    belongs to The Iron Knight

    Let me know how I do, and remember they are all blind guesses so don’t judge me! Great post! 🙂

  5. *fangirls* Princes! I love them so much! I love Nikolai in Siege and Storm, Ash in The Iron Fey, Kai in the Lunar Chronicles, and (okay, this is TV, but still) Bash (even though he’s a bastard prince) in Reign on CW. I just love princes. I love when they’re a little arrogant because, hey, they’re a prince, but I love when their character arc brings them to this point where they’re NOT arrogant anymore, and they can step down and realize they’re just another person who happens to have a title tacked on before their name.

    So yeah, I totally approve of princes in YA. Granted I really only like them when it’s done right. I haven’t read The Selection yet, but I’ve heard quite a bit about it so I’ll get around to it some time. Eep, now I need to read something with princes in it. ASAP!

    • YAAAY! I love those princes ❤ but I definitely have to read up on Nikolai, since I haven't quite gotten around to reading Siege and Storm yet (but I will!) And yeahp, it's definitely the character arc that makes it work for me 🙂 It makes me appreciate their efforts to reach out so much more, to the kingdoms and not just to the girl they've fallen in love with, which is GREAT 😀 HAHA but it does have to be done right of course! And no worries, Maxon was okay in the Selection. It's the heroine that really gets to you, ugh.

  6. Super fun post! I LOVE princes and princesses (I think that comes from my obsession with historical fiction) so I love when royalty is mentioned in YA because heck, what girl wouldn’t want her very own prince? 😉

    • HAHA YES! I do so love historical fiction too ❤ Well I would definitely want my own prince! SO yeahp, I love it when there's royalty involved in YA as well (and one of them is particularly swoony haha!)

  7. huhu 😦 I wrote a comment and then my stupid computer crashed. Lol.

    Hmm, this got me thinking whether I’ve ever LOVED a prince in a book, and I just realized I’ve never had. The only fictional guys I love are Four from Divergent and Ignifex from Cruel Beauty. I guess I’m a very picky person when it comes to guys haha (even in real life). I like prince Maxon from The Selection though, but for Kaito…I thought he was all right. He was just ‘there’… I think he lacked character development and personality. He just wasn’t charming as I thought he would be.

    • Gahhh yeah that happens to the best of us, sometimes 😦 I sigh D: But anyway, I hope that one of these days you get to read a book with a prince you adore, or any other fictional guy really! Other than that, I really hope you can try out some of the books listed on the examples, which are by far some of my favorites ❤

  8. omg I love princes in YA! In general they’re so well mannered and nice. I like me my nice guys 🙂
    KAIIIIII ❤
    I also really love Dorian from Throne of Glass. Not as a love interest, but as a character. He's so awesome 😀

    • Hahaha aren’t they just? I love to read about them ❤ HAHAHA I think Ash would have to be my favorite out of the four, but Kai was pretty darn awesome! Does he get any better in the next books, I wonder? 😄 Ohhh I wanna meet that Dorian you're saying! It's too bad ToG is NEVER available anywhere in a bookstore 😦

  9. If I’m honest to myself, I FREAKING LOVE PRINCES IN BOOKS!!! OMG KAI AND ASH.
    For the quotes: I’m pretty sure the last one is Ash and that number 2 is Po. The other 2… takes a bit more thought but I think it’s number 1 Maxon and number 3 Kai. Anyways, loved this post 😀

  10. Ahh I love most of the Princelings in YA. I think #1 is Kai, #2 is Po, #3 is Maxon and #4 is Ash. #4 is really the only one I’m 100% sure about. I love this new series, Jasmine, keep it up! Ooh and I don’t know if you’ve read the Throne of Glass series yet, but if you have, you missed Prince Dorian!!!

    • YAY me too! 😀 well you got Kai and Maxon mixed up, I think, but at least you got right the one you were sure of :> No I haven’t read it sadly 😦 Dorian sounds so amazing though! I’ll see what I think when I meet him 😉

  11. Princes in YA make me swoon, there aren’t enough though! I was a huuuge fan of Tamora Pierce’s MG novels, so I grew up swooning over knights and princes, I think it’s the chivalry aspect ❤ Although, I like Chaol a lot more than Dorian in Throne of Glass haha so I guess the Prince isn't a sure thing for me. Awesome discussion!

    • Oh I see! I’ve never read any of her works, but if she got you into knights and princes, huge kudos to her! 😀 And yeah, chivalrous is dead sexy to me, haha! 😄 Hmmmm I don’t know how to respond to Chaol though because I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t read ToG D: I WILL THOUGH! And thanks, Chantelle ❤

  12. I’ve read Cinder, The Selection, and The Iron Knight, and all of those princes are totally swoon-worthy! Now I need to re-read The Iron Knight because I miss Ash.

Write me a little something. I reply!

