Bookish Survey: Greek Mythology Style!

survey

Many of you know I’m a quiz-loving person, so for this month I decided to go with a Percy Jackson – themed survey, it being one of my all time favorite series, and Percy being my single most beloved protagonist.

So how does it work? Basically, it’s a survey of sorts, where for the first half, I list down the major gods of Olympus (the Twelve Olympians, and then some), and you answer with the title of a book or the name of a character that relates to the gods’ representation. For the second half, I list down notable characters from the series and you answer with yet another set of titles or characters that comes in congruence with the examples. If you wish to use any of the given PJO and HOO personalities as answers, feel free to do so (I did much the same thing). Instead of just commenting your results below, I’d love to see you create your own post! Feel free to grab the banner if you do so wish. Of course, this activity is not exclusive to fanatics–every book lover is welcome to join in! Even if you don’t want to create your own post, do share some of your picks with me. And in the case that you do, I’d love to see a comment-link to your post on it 😀

If you find this survey too hefty for your liking, feel free to split your posts into two (as per usual), according to the way I divided them below, or choose to do one but not the other. But of course you can always partition it to suit your fancies– remember, this is a free for all!

Before anything else though, you may be wondering where this came from and why I decided to do this. That’s a long story, but I’ll try to explain it coherently. Well, basically…

I got bored. And so it begins.

design

gods

Zeus (Jupiter)

God of the Sky and Thunder / King of the Gods

Favorite book (choose your own category!): I don’t think I’ve ever asked this question before, so I’ll go with my Favorite Novella (but of course you don’t have to!) This would have to be Destroy Me (Tahereh Mafi), because I loved Warner’s portrayal in this book and never would have adored Chapter 62 Unravel Me just as much without it. Fracture Me was less than stellar though, and I just wish novellas didn’t necessarily come in e-book format! They’d look cute on the shelves, haha.

Poseidon (Neptune)

God of the Seas and Earthquakes

Book that drowned you in feels: Love Is All You Need (Deb Caletti). This is actually a collection of three different books in one, and the thing is, I loved every single one of them. Love is all I need. Amen.

Hades (Pluto)

God of the Underworld

Favorite book with a dark / ominous plot: Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Laini Taylor). People say that this book is child’s play as compared to Days of Blood and Starlight, but I loved how the author incorporated the idea of angels and demons into the story without making it sound all too cliché (there is simply NO way you can disapprove of Akiva).

Hera (Juno)

Goddess of Marriage and Family

Cutest fictional couple: Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters (The Fault In Our Stars, John Green). I mean, their dialogue is witty, and they entertain each other with venn diagram humor, and one accepts the imperfections of the other, and you just can’t go wrong with any of that. Love this pure could not have been portrayed so effortlessly out of a John Green novel, so I think the book well deserved its widespread reception.

Athena(Minerva)

Goddess of Wisdom, Handicraft and Strategic Warfare

Series with the best world-building: Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling). She built an entire world of literal magic from scratch, and up to now I can’t seem to fathom how she imagined all of it up. Hogwarts alone is an amazing concept, but with so many names, places, and spells to remember, I can hardly even grasp the little details anymore! Needless to say that I loved this series (and their movies!) nonetheless.

Aphrodite (Venus)

Goddess of Love and Beauty

Most beautiful cover on a 2014 release: Infinite (Jodi Meadows). Have you even seen the cover to this one? I mean, it reminds me of colourful birds and masquerade parties, and pretty much anything with a gorgeous façade, and though I haven’t actually read the previous books, I think the cover alone is enough to entice me into doing so (Seriously, LOOK AT THEM).

infinite

Ares (Mars)

God of War and Bloodshed

Most violent book you’ve ever read: A Game of Thrones (George R.R. Martin). I’m not into horror books, at all, though medieval settings do somehow require excessive bloodshed, for some reason. The setting of this book isn’t exactly a place on Earth, although the customs and the costumes are reminiscent of both the dark and chivalrous ages, where of course knights spear through each other like butter, and army soldiers tear one another limb from limb. Good times.

Hephaestus (Vulcan)

God of Blacksmiths and Fire

Scorching hot swoon worthy character: Based on a recent read, I would have to say Galen Forza (The Syrena Legacy, Anna Banks), because of course, you can’t be a mermaid syrena without being a good swimmer, which should of course equate to hunkiness and abs and a protective demeanor and am I allowed to swoon yet?

Artemis (Diana)

Goddess of the Hunt and Virginity

Favorite Kick-Ass Heroine: Juliette Ferrars (Shatter Me, Tahereh Mafi) hands down. I mean, she was abused and an outcast for practically her whole life, and instead of whimpering like a kicked dog in the corner, she chose to fight her inner demons and stand against their faulty government, kicking ass and literally squeezing the life out of her foes with her bare hands (I don’t actually ever recall her ever doing this, but might as well). Rewarding her with Warner’s love would probably a good idea right about now.

Phoebus Apollo (Apollo)

God of Light and Healing

Sequel book that redeemed its series: Unfortunately, it’s hard to come by any of these, and to be honest I don’t quite recall ever having encountered any one of them. So I think I’m going to tweak my answers up a bit and go with The House of Hades (Rick Riordan), because by the end of The Mark of Athena, I was losing hope that all seven of the demigods would survive, and that Leo would ever get himself a love interest (don’t get me wrong though, I am loyal and have loved every single one of these titles).

Hermes (Mercury)

Messenger God of Thieves and Commerce

Book with the best message: The Book Thief (Markus Zusak). I thought that this book was both touching and empowering at the same time, and because it spoke of love for the written word, I guess in that way it also spoke to me.

Hestia (Vesta)

Goddess of the Hearth and Home

Book with the most relatable story: Fangirl (Rainbow Rowell). Haha well what can I say? I’m a cheater. I haven’t read this book to be honest (though I intend to), but I don’t ever recall reading a book I could thoroughly relate to (and if I did, it would probably bore me senseless). Being a fandom hopper myself, however, I do think that Cath and I may find common ground. So if you’re willing to send a copy over, PLEASE PLEASE DO SO.

Demeter (Ceres)

Goddess of Fertility and Agriculture

Favorite bookish setting: I wouldn’t really wish a dystopian community onto myself, though most of the books I love are set in one of them, so I would have to go for Camp-Half Blood, because I love the sense of camaraderie, as well as the welcoming environment, and it’s obviously where I belong (confession bear: I’m a demigod). Oh and, I would really like to know for myself if it’s even possible to flunk out at monster fighting class.

Dionysus (Bacchus)

God of Wine and Celebration

2014 / 2015 release you are most anticipating: Ignite Me (Tahereh Mafi). SQUEEEEEEE it’s out next week!! BE STILL MY HEART. Of course, I’m excited because Chapter 62 all day everyday I do want to know who Juliette ends up with, and how she will manage to stand her ground against the Reestablishment (if my preferences on both counts aren’t fulfilled, shit will be flipped. Kidding, but still. Mafi, pretty please with cherry on top, don’t disappoint).

greek1

design

heroes

Percy Jackson

a brave, spirited natural leader with a sarcastic sense of humor, and a will to save friends and enemies alike

Favorite protagonist: Let’s not stray far from the source, shall we? I think my favorite would have to be Percy Jackson (Heroes of Olympus, Rick Riordan) because he’s both funny and extremely gifted when it comes to making use of his demigod abilities (which are the bomb diggity, by the way), and I can’t exactly think of a heroine who hasn’t annoyed me at least once. So there you have it! And with Logan Lerman’s face attached to his persona, what more is there to ask for?

Annabeth Chase

intellectual genius with a strong mind, brave heart, and a love for architecture

Series / book with the cleverest plot: I was mighty impressed with Cinder(Marissa Meyer), because although the book didn’t incorporate the Disney classic as much as I thought it would, I loved how Cinder’s world clashed with Cinderella’s and how the key elements to the original fairytale were retold in a futuristic setting. And if truth be told, I quite like this heroine much better (and not to mention this Prince <3)

Jason Grace

 has a moderate sense of humor, but a strong sense of honor, justice and compassion, often described as perfect

Book with an epic finale: Clockwork Princess (Cassandra Clare). Nothing beats the way this series concluded in my opinion, and the finale of course was the main reason why it was 2013’s read of the year. I would have done just as well without the epilogue, but suffice it to say that the conclusion pretty much answered all my prayers (and confirmed my suspicion that Cassandra Clare is, indeed, a goddess).

Piper McLean

aggressive and persuasive but down to earth, caring and loving towards Jason, her friends and family

Book with a tempting synopsis (one you haven’t read!): Angelfall (Susan Ee). Riddle me this: how many recommendations should it take for one to give in and pick up a book? Well if you asked me, I’d say not too many, and to be honest, I have received well above enough for me to shit a brick. I have loved the idea of this book since the day I read its first review, so why is it taking me ages to get the job done? Hmm well, ask Fullybooked. Or any other bookstore that NEVER HAS IT IN STOCK (None of my family members own credit cards, because we’re impulsive buyers, which is a shame because they don’t run out online). I heave endless sighs. *siiiigh*

Leo Valdez

good-natured and energetic, funny but intelligent, honest and witty, and is skilled with machines

Book that made you laugh: My Life Next Door (Huntley Fitzpatrick). This wasn’t an easy favorite, though I adored it nonetheless—the Garretts’ crazy antics were hilarious, and I think I literally laughed out loud at more than one point during my read, which of course startled this peaceful household (conveniently in the middle of the night). GEORGE, though! Nothing could be any sweeter, believe me. And it gets a companion (The Boy Most Likely To, 2015)! The good vibes are everywhere.

Hazel Levesque

bright  and outgoing despite an unfortunate childhood, is mature for her age and has a love for horseback riding

Favorite character with a tragic past: I’m not too sure how I’m supposed to define tragic, but by my standards, I think Akiva (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Laini Taylor) fits the bill. He was the epitome of enigma for most of the book, and I loved him exponentially better after unravelling his mystery, and it was magic. And those eyes (I mean duh, I’ve never seen them, but can you even imagine how gorgeous they must be?)

Frank Zhang

somewhat shy, cynical, and clumsy, though he possesses a strong sense of duty, loyalty, and love

Book you loved more than you thought you would: Wither (Lauren DeStefano). I read this book recently, not expecting to like it as much, because after all, the synopsis didn’t quite speak to me (which should explain why it took me this long to read it), but suffice it to say that the book was a pleasant surprise.

Nico di Angelo

grim, solitary, powerful and mysterious, highly unpredictable and selectively affectionate

Most mysterious character you’ve ever encountered: Probably The Darkling (The Grisha, Leigh Bardugo), though almost a page before the big reveal, I totally called the shots regarding his true intentions. I still love him to death, regardless (he is seriously a weakness).

Grover Underwood

cheerful, upbeat and protective satyr who chews on furniture when he gets nervous

Book you won’t read due to warnings against them: Carrier of the Mark (Leigh Fallon). I read a review on this book over at PaperGrey, if I’m not mistaken, and the review was written well enough for me to completely make it a point to steer clear of this book once and for all. If you happened to have liked it, try to convince me otherwise by telling me why!

Clarisse La Rue

arrogant and hot-tempered, but brave, strong and protective of camp

Most annoying character: I hate to say this, because she does remind me of well, myself, but I think America Singer (The Selection, Kiera Cass) is the single most exacerbating heroine I have ever encountered on this bookish journey of a lifetime. I mean, there were two sides to her persona, one clever and the other rash, and unfortunately, she channeled the latter almost ten times as much. I’d like to say that I am rooting for her (because who else is there to root for), but after reading The Elite, I’m not so sure anymore.

greek2

design

And that’s it for this feature. Now it’s your turn! comment some of your links and your answers to make my day, and join in the fun, because you know you want to 😉

And now a Logan Lerman collage for motivation (this took me 7 hours to upload. How is that even possible).

loganlerman

See you next time! Hope you have fun 🙂

siggy

30 thoughts on “Bookish Survey: Greek Mythology Style!

  1. I loved this, Jasmine! I actually made a post myself, but I only answered part one. 😀 You can find my answers here.

    Is it really weird that I disagree with most of your answers for part 1? :O Galen, Juliette, Ignite Me… *shudders* But I have to agree with Fangirl, Infinite and all of your Percy Jackson related answers, lol! 😀

    • Oh thank you 🙂 And yaaaay for answers! I shall check it out 😀 GASP you disagree?! How could you! Hahahaha I kidd 😄 Each to his own right, but seriously I love Galen (just his looks though) and the Shatter Me books. But yay for some agreement! It’s not weird at all, though 😀

  2. I’M PARTICIPATING THIS. I PROMISE I’M GOING TO. I’M GOING TO WRITE THIS POST RIGHT NOW. MAYBE IT’S BECAUSE OF “GREEK MYTHOLOGY” OR BECAUSE OF THE LOGAN LERMAN PICTURES (WHICH ARE BASICALLY BRIBERY) BUT I’M GOING TO DO IT BECAUSE I FEEL SO HIGH OOPS SORRY FOR THE caps but I always love these but have no time to do it D: So since I have 40 more minutes, I’m going to do this!
    Oh dear, how many times have I said that… Anyway, thanks for sharing, Jasmine!! 😀

    • HAHAHA woah I love that enthusiasm right there 😄 And yeahhh, I KNEW the Logan Lerman pics were gonna reel some in 😀 Wheee I hope you finish! I have something to look forward to, now ❤

  3. As you know very well already, I love your surveys and this one sounds so much fun!!! And well, if I had any doubts about doing it, that Logan Lerman collage just totally quenched them. 😉

    • HAHA and I love seeing your posts on my surveys, too! 😀 I look forward to them, and NICE I just knew my collage would work! :> (Logan Lerman is some serious eye candy isn’t he?)

  4. I just finished working on this and it took a while but SO FUN! I’m excited to post it, thanks for creating an awesome survey (Greek mythology is one of my favourite things in the world)! 😀

    • HAHA YAAAAY ❤ I'm glad someone had fun doing one of my surveys 😀 Such an honor~ And you're very welcome too (yep, we share that interest in mythology and novels on them, even the Edith Hamilton and Homer versions! XD)

  5. Agghhh I am so addicted to doing these! This is awesome. And I am doing this. I’ll add a link here when I actually finish it 🙂

    And on a side note – YOU READ DEB CALETTI?!? I love Deb Caletti and I don’t ever run into people who read her! I can think of maybe two bloggers who know who she is 😦 She’s too underrated, she’s the reason I gave contemporary YA another chance!

    • YAAAAY for finishing my surveys! I sooo love it when people link up ❤ Haha yeah I do read Deb Caletti! Her works are PRECIOUS. And yeah she is definitely too underrated 😦 I wish more bloggers would read her works like they do Sarah Dessen's or John Green's. But boy am I glad that you do! 😀

      • …so it took me a month but I did it! I was relooking over your answers and you know, we have seriously similar taste. I’m thinking I need to read all the books on here I haven’t read yet (there aren’t that many either)

        And I have always wondered why exactly it is that Deb Caletti isn’t as popular as Sarah Dessen and John Green! I mean, she’s been around as long, she writes very similar stories, and honestly out of the three (keeping in mind I’ve only read one John Green book and it was practically a decade ago), her writing is my favourite. But then again I’m also clearly biased on the matter haha

      • Wow that is so cool! 😀 THANK YOU ❤ WHOOPEE for similar tastes! 😀 Yeah I love Deb Caletti! I'm not sure why either, but her stories are fantastic. I hope she writes a break through book one day so that everyone will come to know of her amazing-ness 😄

  6. It took me about a week to do it and fit it in, but I did this today! Just as fun as the others, of course – and there are also those difficult ones that have me stumped for a good minute or two!
    Thanks for taking the time to make and fill this out! Here’s mine.

    • YAAAAY hahaha well I did actually hope it would have you stumped at least once, haha! The hard part is the fun part 😄 And you’re very welcome! Thank you so much as well for participating ❤

Write me a little something. I reply!

