Blogger Bites: Am I A Blogging Resolution Fail?

bloggerbites

Let’s face it: In light of the recent events, I’ve been pretty much shit at keeping up with the blog. This is no doubt disheartening, and it sucks, because I haven’t even achieved my first year, and my statistics have forged ahead into monophonic decline. Not that I’ve been keeping tabs so much as I did as a blogger novitiate, but honestly, it’s a little frustrating that for months on end, my blog has sojourned at a virtual standstill. I know that blogging is all about sharing your thoughts and opinions, and not about reaching out to an expanding audience, but because I (like most others), thrive in progress, I hope you understand that lately I’ve been feeling dismal about the fact that I haven’t been on the blog regularly enough to keep it from standing on the brink of perpetual stagnation.

sorry

So basically, what I’m trying to say here is that I feel like a failure. I know that up until this moment, I’ve shot the works at embodying a constant ray of sunshine, throwing around random bits of impromptu advice to bloggers who need the simple jolt of motivation I offer. However, I’m human in every respect, which means that I’m not sorrow / disappointment / despondency proof. Sometimes I feel as if I haven’t been pushing my boundaries brutally enough. Sometimes I think that if I tried to do things differently, I would be miles and miles ahead.

But the thing is, I’m not. I used to reply emphatically to comments I receive, no exceptions, to let my readers know that I take all of their thoughts into account– and I do. But lately, I’ve answered in response to some for the sake of getting it over with so I can start drafting a new post, sometimes not even letting the comment totally sink in (which is a total shame to admit, but there you have it). Furthermore, I’ve been promising a queued entry to help keep the blog updated during similar circumstances, but the reason why I can’t make them is the same reason why I need them in the first place: I’m pressed for time.

So what’s the rush, Jasmine? You can’t possibly be that busy.

As a matter of fact, I am, because a few months prior, I signed up for all these activities to keep my senior year productive, and somewhere along the way, my limit was consigned to oblivion. To add to this destitution, whatever it is that I’ve signed up for doesn’t exactly allow me the luxury of backing down.

i hate me too

For a more comprehensive overview of my senior year, let me tell you that Parallax (the school fair) is in three days, and I have to print, sort out, and manually count chits, record T-shirt orders and prepare the sound system for the concert. Moreover, I have yet to design posters for charity events, which is deplorable if you’re a dilettante to Photoshop, and I’m even worse. As for my onus to the Yearbook Committee, I have to edit news articles, gather photos for the collage, abridge the student write-ups, write entries on important events and generate a compilation in timetable format. I was missing in action last week because my group had to make a toy for the Science and Technology Week, where we had to create a board game from magnets, transistor circuits, aluminum bars and lots of heavy plywood, assemble the circuit, solder the wires, and glue gun the light emitting diodes to the contraption. Yup, it’s about as fun as it sounds.

too much

 

Oh, and prom is in eight days, and I have yet to steeplechase for a ready-to-wear dress that won’t fall off my non-existent cleavage and would hug my almost non-existent waistline (sometimes, I just feel like a goddamned toothpick). And then of course there’s the matter of my academics, which means research papers, long tests, surprise quizzes, graded recitations, practical exams, presentations, lightning tasks, military training, and physical fitness tests (usually 5 laps around the campus in half an hour). Brain cells melt and my legs turn to jelly. Good times.

sleep

So that pretty much sums up my life since I’ve dabbled in abrupt truancy. And likely until I graduate, none of that is going to change. So much for devoting my free time to the blog (though last I checked, I didn’t exactly have any to begin with). Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t write this post to whine about why I just can’t seem to blog the right way, although of course this fact deeply frustrates me.

The real reason why is because I need your help. I know that this is the first time that I’m asking to be on the receiving end of counsel, but if I can’t cope with the nervous tension within the confines of my being, I can’t expect to manage dishing out advise to cope with the tension without. I, however, refuse to believe that I am a blogging resolution failure this early. Yes, it may be problematic for me to find the drive to succeed in the midst of failure, but I’ve done it before, albeit to a lesser degree, and hopefully it’s not too late to change course.

So here’s the question: do you think it’s too early to claim that I am blogging resolution failure (or that anyone is, for that matter?) How do you manage your time when it comes to blogging? What gives you the drive to blog? Do tell me in the comments below!

And because I don’t want to end on a sour note, I just want to let you guys know that my efforts at school haven’t exactly come to naught— I passed the entrance exams for each of the three colleges I applied for, which of course makes it all worthwhile. In addition, I was chosen as a candidate for the IntarMed program at the University of the Philippines (which is an accelerated course for doctor-aspirants, and meant that by some miracle, I was one of the top 82 from thousands to take the test. At the moment, it hasn’t even begun to sink in). I also managed a spot as one of the Director’s Listers for the Ateneo (top 200 or so), which is pretty surreal principally because Management Engineering is math heavy and is an honors course, and as a matter of fact, I expected to fail the test itself (the maths churned my brain into zombie meat). So yeah, none of that would have happened without sacrificing some of the time I usually reserve for blogging and using it instead to study for these exams, so I do hope that if I have failed you in a way, you understand that I did, not intentionally, but at a worthy expense. But of course I won’t stop trying.

Snape_approves_gif

So wish me luck, and I’ll see you later!

siggy

31 thoughts on “Blogger Bites: Am I A Blogging Resolution Fail?

  1. I think that it’s a given fact that though we don’t blog for page vies it does perk you up a bit knowing that someone is reading something that you have put time into.
    And don’t think that your blogging resolution has faled, they only way you would have failed it is if you give up now and don’t carry on trying. x

    Saira||<a href="Link text“>Growing Wings

    • Of course it perks me up when I find out that people have taken the time to stop by, but it’s never been the top priority to gather as many of them as I can 🙂 Aww thank you for the encouragement, Saira! Of course I shall carry on trying 😀

  2. You are not a blogging failure! Honey you’re so busy it’s normal to be MIA. A blog shouldn’t be work. When I know I’m gonna be busy or when I have a few moments to breathe, I may schedule two or three posts scattered throughout a week or two. That way my blog is active and I’m still able to sleep and do everything I have to do. Or you can take a different approach. Just be like FYI guys I’m gonna be gone for two weeks! Don’t miss me too much haha It’s ok to take a few days to yourself because you have to deal with life. Don’t feel like a failure cause you are not. Ok? 🙂

  3. Hello!!! Blogging is a hobby – life is real and you seem to be excelling at that. If you don’t DO things, you’ll have nothing to blog about. So CONGRATULATIONS on rocking it hard in your senior year. You can come and go from blogging at any time and re-build an audience – but it’s not that easy with life. So I say no contest as to which is more important.

    • Thank you Tanya! 🙂 And you’re right– school is definitely more important, and even if I love my blog, there’s no real way to fail at it so I should just sort my priorities and keep an open mind 😀 Thanks for making me realize that, too 🙂

  4. I totally understand where you’re coming from with the “being too busy to blog” scenario. I work full time, and have often felt like I have way too little time to devote to blogging. Even with some free time, I can’t spend ALL of it blogging – there’s reading to be done, and actual relaxing that needs doing!

    If you made a resolution you can’t stick to, or feel bad about “breaking”, change it! Do what makes YOU feel good! That might mean going on an official hiatus for a while so you can concentrate on school, or maybe trying to post a TINY little something every week… Just pick a plan that makes YOU feel most comfortable.

    But again, NO ONE should be judging you a blogging failure. This isn’t a job, it’s YOUR space, YOU decide, and YOU should feel proud of whatever you can put into it, no matter how much or how little that is, and even if that means taking an official break.

    And be proud of the things that are making you so busy!! Some might be frustrating, but others sound like amazing opportunities, and you shouldn’t feel bad about devoting time to them. Senior year is HARD, but you get out of it what you put in, and you’re putting in some seriously awesome stuff. ❤

    PS. …Sorry if that comes across as a little CAPSLOCK DON'T BE HARD ON YOURSELF, but I've been convincing myself of the same thing lately, so it's something I've been feeling strongly about. <3<3<3

    • Awww thank you for that, Nikki ❤ And no, it's quite fine– I like all the advice 😀 I think you're right when you say that I shouldn't put too much pressure on myself, because after all, it's still my blog, and the community has just been so understanding and welcoming so far that shouldn't even worry that I'll disappoint anyone 😀 I think sticking to what works for me is paramount in this situation 🙂 So thank you for that, and don't be too hard on yourself either! (I hope you're convinced of that now :D)

  5. First of all, you would’t be a blogging failure even if you spend all your days just looking out the window to see the world pass by. What I mean to say is, you are the owner of this blog and you can do whatever the hell you want to do with it. Nobody is going to say you’re a failure, you are the only one who is telling yourself that and that’s such a shame! There is no need to add this extra stress to your life. You can at least say you aren’t a failure when it comes to school and that is so much more important. I don’t really know you that well, but hell, I’m even proud of you seeing what you’ve achieved there 😀 Smarty pants!

    How I manage my time.. Well.. I go to school and that it is. Yes, I’m busy sometimes, but I don’t have a job or a regular sport. Frankly, I’m just very lazy (but I’ve been trying to change that), so when I’m not at school or doing homework, I’m blogging 🙂 And this year I’ve had much free time, so yeah. But anybody with a schedule like you would be too busy to blog. Relax girl! ❤

    • Well, I personally love that thinking principle of yours Mel! 🙂 I mean, you’re always so active when it comes to blogging, so I hope that keeping a positive mind will work for me too 🙂 And thank you, I hope to find some more inspiration to blog, and be able to achieve more once I get to college 😀 Yep, I’ll try and relax– thanks again for stopping by, Mel ❤

  6. Its not easy to fit blogging in while being a full time student and you are more involved than I ever was in high school and even than I am in college. My rule of thumb for blogging is when I have the inspiration I find a time that day to sit down and at least write a rough draft of the post. There are times I don’t touch my blog for days and I hope that you aren’t too terribly stressed out about not posting because it is okay. The great think about this community is that when you are gone your statistics go down, but when you come back this community will accept you back with open arms and not hold it against you for not posting consistency. Statistics have shown that people who read for pleasure are often very committed to their studies and have a tendency to take on more than they can handle. You sound like you just need to take a step back and focus on school.

    • Yeah, I’ve noticed that too 🙂 I guess I just have to keep in mind that no one is around to judge me but myself, really! This community is too welcoming 😀 And thank you for that advice! I don’t want to abandon the blog, but I won’t force myself to post if I really can’t. I should take my own advice and work at my own pace 🙂

  7. Jasmine, senior year is a busy time, especially when you’re taking college entrance exams (and especially if you’re doing awesome at them! Way to go!) and in a million activities. I understand why you’re feeling like a failure, but seriously, don’t feel that way. I’ve been wanting to back off my blog just a little, just to write more, and I’ve had a hard time doing it. My default is to come home from work and do blog stuff, and I feel like I am letting everyone down if I don’t, which I know isn’t actually true. So I am needing to reorient my thinking and not be so afraid of not doing the blog stuff as much so I can pursue what I hope will turn into a career, and even if it doesn’t, it’s what I love most. So just do the best you can. Pop in when you can, and we’ll be happy you’re here! But you’re not a failure, you’re busy and you have a life, and that’s totally understandable.

    • I’m glad you think so, Amy! 🙂 And I’m glad you understand the circumstances too! ❤ I hope I can stop feeling like I've failed, and I guess if I work hard, I won't have to 🙂 But we'll see what I can do! I'm glad you've decided to reorient your own thinking as well 😀 I hope this turns into a worthwhile year for the both of us, then!

  8. So I’ll just make this short so it would leave a bigger impression in your mind, considering you barely have any time.

    How can you fail at blogging? HOW?!

    (P.S. Your achievements are so awesome, and I’m just so scared right now because I don’t know what to do for college. I don’t even know about review classes and etc. And your year sounds like a total pain. Laidback useless hobo in the corner status has its perks.)

    • HAHA well I’m not sure if you meant encouragement (I hope so), but thanks for that either way, Shannelle 😀 And yeah I hope I can keep on achieving when it comes to college. But don’t be scared! You have an entire year to think things through. It’ll come to you one day 🙂 HAHA well I like progress, so this painful year may hopefully be worth it XD

  9. AHHH I wrote such a nice long comment and WP ate it right up! STFU!! AHH.

    Anyway, what I will now say in brief, it’s ok to feel like a failure, but just know that you’re not one. You’re not.

  10. Dude I totally understand you! I have SO many things to do since I’m a senior in high school. There’s so many projects, homeworks, labs, research paper, etc. It’s so crazy and I’ve been sleeping past 12am which is bad. I don’t even have time to go out. When I’m not doing anything, I use that time to sleep. Also, I haven’t been in the mood to read lately which sucks because I’m 2 books behind my reading goal. So yes, I totally feel like a failure too right now, but I know we both can do it!

    • HAHA woah I wouldn’t wish anymore of that on you, but HIGH FIVE FOR I CAN RELATE! XD Anyway, I’m glad that you’re staying positive like that, and I think using your free time for sleep is fine– we can’t not have any of that after all 🙂 I hope all goes well with you too, and thank you, I hope we do make it through 🙂

  11. Awwww Jasmine. Honestly, nobody is a resolution failure until the very end of the year. They’re not made to keep to for a month but for a whole year, after all. So do what you have to do with school and college and stuff, and come back when you can. And I’m soooo proud of you for all the successes with your unis! You can’t imagine.

    On another note, I swear I screamed when I read I’m on your blogroll on your sidebar. Cheeers.

    • Haha yeah that’s what I like to think, too! 🙂 And I will, of course 😀 Thank you for the encouragement, and aww thanks, I hope uni / college will be a blast just as much 😀

  12. I think you should take the pressure off yourself..blogging first and foremost should be fun and opportunity to squee with like minded people about the books you love! Stats and followers don’t matter it is comments and interactions that I think are more important!

  13. You’re not a failure at all! First off, it’s only January. There are still eleven more months to this year, so it’s far too early to even be considering that thought. Plus, most resolutions don’t just happen overnight. I prefer to look at them as goals to work on throughout the year. So you’re struggling now, I get that, but that’s completely ok! And you have A LOT going on! I understand where you’re coming from because I was very much in the same position towards that latter half of last year, and it can be very frustrating and discouraging, but my best advice is to keep trying. And that might mean you struggle for a few months and it will probably suck, but from personal experience, as long as you don’t give up and continually tweak what you’re doing, you’ll eventually find your groove.

    • Awww thank you for that Rachel! ❤ I think you're right that it's way too early to call myself a failure, because there are lots of opportunities to improve, and I do intend to embrace them! 🙂 I think it really IS important to keep trying to succeed, and if I have the will, there's always a way, right? 😀 So yeah, let's do this blog! Thanks again for that amazing advice ❤

  14. Nope, Jasmine. You are NOT a Blogging Fail! Everyone has their schedules, and everyone gets busy! So it’s understandable that you cannot be posting every single day! It’s only the start of the year, you need time to get back into the groove of things!! So definitely, don’t call yourself a blogging fail, because so many of us know you aren’t! Find fun in this, and enjoy it! 🙂

Write me a little something. I reply!

