Blogging Resolutions + Year End Giveaway

giveaway1

First and foremost, IT’S 2014 YOU GUYS!! (at least for me, depends on the timezone). I can’t evenΒ believe that this is the year I get to graduate from endless partying academic hell high school, and pick out courses, and go to college and grow freaking up and SQUEEEEEE 2014!!

… Okay, I needed that. Happy New Year to y’all! Anyway, I just decided to assemble a list of Blogging Resolutions for the New Year, the New Me, and of course the New Flip That Page and share it with you ( it’s not going to change inordinately though, I just wanted to embellish that statement. HA!) If you have some of your own, do tell πŸ™‚

design

  1. I will update the blog regularly. I had to go on hiatus for almost a month just recently, because I couldn’t manage my time competently enough to metaphorically stockpile more for responsibilities to Flip That Page. And though it indubitably regained me the drive to blog, I do think it would be nice to leave a post at least 4 times each week, to keep the blog active and my viewers happy.
  2. I will leave meaningful comments on other blogs. Inasmuch as I detest conversing with walls, I would fall in utter enmity to actuallyΒ being the wall. Β As I’ve been doing this pretty much the entire time, I do resolve to leave comments on the blogs I follow, and the blogs of those who take the time to stop by and say hi.
  3. I will not get involved in drama with authors and fellow bloggers alike. I don’t need a reason to scorn the blogging community, and I assuredly don’t want one. Being the all-around ray of sunshine that I am, however (at least I hope that’s the ilk of aura of I radiate, because who even wants to be around a debbie-downer), I highly doubt that this will be much of a problem (#ego).
  4. I will be diligent with author review requests. I will push accepted requests as far up the list as is possible. Lately I’ve been feeling iniquitous, on account of my ignorance, but I do resolve to do my part, and this time be persistent in filtering out requests that may be well worth my time, and assiduous in reading sent copies. In exchange for their free provision of the title, it would be nice to give back to these authors with an honest and prompt review.
  5. I will post original content. I will not succumb to posting memes and tours particularly (though I amΒ envisaging my first tour), and instead focus on generating creative vomit and original content that will provoke thought, encourage discussion, and solve predicaments. If I haven’t been trenchant or convincing enough for your fancies, do forgive me, but I promise to amp up my game for the coming year.
  6. I will not envy others their success. I will not try to bring others down to bring myself up. Nobody has to be that despicable to gain followers, and anyone who is doesn’t even deserve the attention! Let’s all be friends here,aight? Let’s maximize the use of the word ‘congratulations’ and the phrase ‘I’m happy for you’ sincerely and wholeheartedly, because you know what? Being content is the only answer to being happy.
  7. I will not obsess over statistics. Followers and retweets are important to bloggers, yes, but they will come in due time, so I needn’t monitor them consistently. Gratitude and improvement is the only way to go, and Augustus Waters did once say, “I’m on a roller coaster that only goes up, my friend.” (Though I must say that sort of ride will scare the bejeezus outta me).
  8. I will think of blogging as a hobby, not an obligation. This is paramount for circumventing slumps, because if I want to keep up my blog, it’s important to work at my own pace and not give in to the outside pressure.
  9. I will queue posts and manage my blog responsibly. I’ve been mentally castigating myself for lacking the initiative, but I do hope this year greets me an active vibe! I think I’m going to need an extra post or two, lickety-split.
  10. I will fulfill the aforementioned. Easier said then done.

The thing is though, I’ve never been able to keep a project up for more than half a year, save for my planner. Flip That Page, however, has been live for a little over seven months now— and if I do the math–let’s assume correctly–that means I’ve already broken my start-and-not-finish record! (because I sure do hope to start-and-never-finish blogging).

WOOHOO PARTY PARTY!!Β 

dance2

dance1

dance3

dance4

dance5

My point is, however, that none of this *makes all-encompassing gesture* would have acceded to realization if not for the amazing readers who have been supportive of Flip That Page from day one onwards, and because the New Year is cause enough for celebration, I think now is the time to give back and show you guys just how much I appreciate the people who have inspired me to keep on keeping on, and have kept me company for the duration of my stay (which I hope lasts for much, much longer!)

So, I’ve decided to host, not one, but TWO giveaways (so stay tuned for the next one tomorrow!) to spread the love to all the marvelous readers out there. I will be giving away your choice of book from my top 10 reads this year (you may also choose any other book in the series, if applicable), plus my very first 2014 read, Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood.Β Options include:

giveaway1

Also, a shout-out to my parents: to mommy, for supporting every endeavor, keeping your calm in the midst of vexation, and for being downright awesomesauce for sponsoring this giveaway (so thank her, not me); and daddy, despite being a total non-reader, for encouraging my love for books and deriving happiness from mine . So THANK YOU mom and dad, infinite huggles to both of you!! (I’ll give you real ones later on, you’re right across the hall, haha).

So whether or not it’s your first time on the blog, do participate in this mission to spread the happiness! It is open INTERNATIONALLY, and will end JANUARY 30, 2014. So without further ado…

 

Click Here To Enter Giveaway

And please read the Terms and Conditions at the bottom of the widget!

Good Luck, and Happy New Year!

siggy

61 thoughts on “Blogging Resolutions + Year End Giveaway

  1. HAPPY NEW YEAR’S Jasmine! Hope you are having a wonderful new year right now and that you accomplish all of your resolutions (I know you will!). I really like your resolutions. Mine is to only post 2-3 posts per week. I used to do 3-4 but now I’m going to calm things down because in September 2014, I’m going to be a freshman in college which will be cray. Yay we’re graduating on the same year! Advance congrats πŸ˜€ hehe. The only book that I read on your top ten is Where She Went which was amazing. I also read The Fault in Our Stars which was an okay book for me (black sheep over here).

  2. Happy New Year’s! My post of goals and stuff goes up tomorrow- it’s only New Year’s Eve here. My favorite reads this year were Attrition by S.G. Night and The Bride of Devil’s Acre by Jennifer Kohout- both ARCs, both amazing. Thanks for the giveaway! I really want to read Clockwork Princess; I’ve read the first two in the series and can’t wait to finish it! (:

    Alicia
    http://www.awesomebookassessment.com

    • Oh then that’s something to look forward to πŸ˜€ It’s actually quite funny cause I’m watching a CNN Countdown to 2014, and it’s already 2014 here. HAHA! And ooh, maybe I should check those favorites out! And well, good luck on the giveaway Alicia πŸ˜€

  3. Great resolutions, I hope they work out! I haven’t been too active lately on my blog, because of exams and just school in general, and I hope to change that in 2014. My favourite books of 2013 are also Clockwork Princess and Unravel Me πŸ™‚ And thanks for the awesome giveaway! Happy 2014!

    • Oh I KNOW THAT FEEL. But much like you, I hope to change that and be more active too! πŸ™‚ And you’re very welcome Eveline, happy 2014 to you as well ❀ And hey, I missed seeing you on the blog *huggles*

  4. I love your resolutions and I’m glad you’ve kept blogging. My blog is about the same age as yours, so I definitely understand the feeling of accomplishment that comes with sticking with it.

    Sadly, I haven’t read any of the books on your top 10 list, but most of them (or at least books in their series) are on my TBR list.

    Hope you have a great new years!

    • Thank you so much, Tanya! ❀ And I should definitely check your blog, pronto πŸ˜„ And well, I hope you get to read any number of the books on my list soon πŸ˜€ Hopy you have a great new years too!

  5. So glad to hear that you’ll be around more Jasmine!!! I’ve missed your smiley face! And yes – you are a lovely ray of sunshine πŸ˜‰

    I’d have to say some top reads from 2013 for me would be Angelfall, Steelheart, Lola and the Boy Next Door, the Legend series, the Grisha series, oh my god there’s too many. *scrolling through Goodreads* Gosh darn it. I loved like 50% of them okay don’t make me pick any more

    • Haha d’aaaaww at least I get one seal of approval that I am a ray of sunshine :> πŸ˜€ Gahh I REALLY wanna read a lot of your 2013 favorites! I will, one day! And okay, I won’t make you pick more, haha πŸ˜„

  6. Great resolutions! I know you live on the other side of the world, but it’s still crazy to think that it’s 2014 there when, as I type this, it is still 5:40 PM on New Year’s Eve for me!

  7. I love all of those resolutions! Many of them are similar to those of mine! I really need to work on the posting more frequently and queuing posts! I’m always rushing at the last minute or posting late! :O

  8. My WordPress ‘like’ button is broken. I cannot like posts at the moment and it is slowly killing me D:
    My resolutions are pretty much the same as yours to be honest. I wrote a post about them, as well – hurrah!
    I think you’re pretty savvy about what my favourite books have been this year. But the tied numero unos are IGNITE OF COURSE and The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. So much love for these two books. They have their own little shrine in my mind. Yes, I am weird like that. But you know that, as well πŸ˜€
    Is it odd that I feel really REALLY weird entering a giveaway from you? πŸ˜„

    • But whyyyy D: YOU WORK WORDPRESS, WORK!! (Not sure if yelling at it works XD) But yeah, I am pretty savvy about your favorite things πŸ˜€ We talk quite often, right? Haha! I WANNA READ THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS NOW D: And yeah it’s a little odd, unless you feel weird entering all other giveaways πŸ˜„ Mine’s no different though! But I think it’s because I’m shipping to you either way or something, since your Christmas-New Year present is on its way, haha!

      • I KNOW RIGHT. UGH. It’s back! I just liked this post πŸ˜€ Your yelling worked. You are magical.
        You are, you are!
        ERMAGERD JASMINE YOU NEED TO DO THIS FOR ME.
        I feel fine entering other giveaways, haha! I think it’s because you’re my friend, and I feel like I’m scunging a present off of you HAHAHA.
        YOU SENT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • YAY FOR MAGICAL ME πŸ˜„ And I will, I will soon enough :> Hmm no, I don’t see it like that at all! Giveaways are fun, and nobody is scunging anything for me πŸ˜€ I SENT IT!!!!

  9. It sure has been a great year. Don’t stress out if real life gets in the way of blogging. Real life is more important. I keep telling myself that my blog will gain success in its own time and if not it wasn’t meant to be so I don’t worry too much about statistics.

  10. Well, happy new year! I hope you succeed in finishing that last resolution, most of all. πŸ˜€ As for giveaways, maybe I’ll try one this year when I figure out how to ship! πŸ˜› I have so many books I want to get rid of.

  11. Those are awesome goals! I hope you get to complete all (some?…lol) of them! I’m not very good at making goals. I like to make lists of things I want to do in the year. Still! I want to do some of these too (mainly not envy other blogs and comment back better!). Congrats on your awesome blog and thanks for the give away!

    • Aww well I’m glad that even if you don’t really like making lists like these, you’re still into following some of them! It’s a great feeling not envying other blogs and instead using them as role models of sorts πŸ™‚ And commenting is fun too! I love having conversations with people~ And thank you so much Cait, you’re very welcome too πŸ˜€

  12. Goodluck on your blogging resolutions, Jasmine! It’s true that sometimes blogging feels like an obligation and not a hobby, I still have to work on that as well.
    Eleanor & Park made it to my best 2013 read, and eventhough I’ve read Where She Went in 2012, I re-read the book last year. It’s one of my all time favorites so it’s practically one of my fave read too πŸ˜€
    Happy new year! Cheers to graduating high school and starting college, yay!

    • Thank you so much for that Tirta! ❀ And we can do this, blogging should NEVER feel like an obligation πŸ˜€ And YAY for Eleanor & Park! I really want to get to read Fangirl too πŸ˜„ Happy New Year to you as well! Cheers πŸ˜€

  13. Happy New Year Jasmine! I hope that you have a wonderful year ahead of you!
    I think your resolutions are very good, one of mine is to also comment on other blogs (I am so bad at that). I like your thinking of your blog as a hobby and not obsessing over statistics as well – I think this is a good way to keep yourself excited about blogging. And I LOVED your “I will not envy others their success” – I think that at times a little jealousy can creep in (either over stats, arcs etc), and some don’t recognise it as jealousy. A very admirable resolution!

    • Happy New Year to you too, Kristy! And it’s alright, here’s to hoping you can comment a bit more this year! πŸ™‚ And yeahp, I definitely think it’s important not to constantly compare yourself to others, and instead just be the best version of yourself πŸ˜€ Thanks, and I’m glad you like these resolutions~

  14. WOOT WOOT 2014!!! I agree, it’s the reading that make blogging fun. I mean if you aren’t writing on your blog for readers who are you writing your blog for??? I have never felt like blogging is an obligation. Sometimes I get behind on checking on the posts that the blogs I follow do… but then I take a day to go through them and I feel up to date! Good luck on your goals!

    • PS My favorite read was The Diviners. I just really enjoyed it. It’s a long book so it takes a minute to get into it but once it gets going I loved it.

    • Of course I’m writing for my readers! They mean the most to me after all πŸ˜€ SO thank you for being one, Angie! And also, I think it’s important to be able to follow the activities on other blogs out there, because it’s definitely loads of fun to get to converse with other people πŸ™‚ Thank you, and good luck on your goals too πŸ˜€

  15. One of my favorites was On The Jellicoe Road by Mellina Marchetta. Powerful and beautiful book with amazing characters. Then Unravel me by Tahereh Mafi, original writing style and one complex male character named Warner, who you just have to love! πŸ™‚
    Happy New Year !!!

    • Oh I haven’t read that first one, but I REALLY want to read something by Marchetta! I have heard so many good things about her books πŸ™‚ And YES to Unravel Me!! Team Warner WOOHOO πŸ˜„ Happy New Year to you too ❀

    • YES! Now tell me you’re Team Warner or something. HAHA! And yeah, I am actually rereading the Fault now πŸ™‚ Cannot wait for the movie! And I do hope you get to read more amazing series and books this year! (cause I know you meant last year when you said ‘so many awesome books this year’ :D)

  16. Not obsessing over stats or being envious of other people Is important. You should always keep in mind that you started to blog because you love talking about books πŸ˜€ I made a list of 15 favourite books of 2013, some of them were Grave Mercy & Dark Triumph, Throne of glass & Crown of midnight and Shadow & bone + Siege & Storm πŸ˜€ Thanks for the giveaway ❀

    • EXACTLY! That’s what I came here for in the first place too, to talk about books with people who share the same love for them πŸ™‚ OOOH those are lovely books on your favourites! I have yet to read Dark Triumph, and I will because Grave Mercy was BEAUTIFUL and everyone seems to be raving on about Throne of Glass! I NEED to get my hands on a copy πŸ˜„ I love the Grisha series too ❀ And you're very welcome, Mel πŸ™‚

  17. Great list! I’ve read a few of these and will put the rest on my top to read list! I really loved Unravel Me this year (same as you) because of Mafi’s unique and beautiful writing style and the distressed but strong characters. Also loved Sweet Peril this year and love the unique story and who couldn’t love the Duke of Lust’s hot british son? πŸ™‚ Thanks!

    • Thank you Erika! πŸ™‚ And YES, I am glad you agree with Unravel Me πŸ˜€ That writing style DID bother me to no end at first, but I adored it in the end πŸ™‚ I HAVE to read Sweet Peril too! Hot british son totally sounds hot πŸ˜„ And you’re very welcome, thanks as well for stopping by πŸ˜€

  18. Great goals!!! Good luck on accomplishing everything you set out to do! I’m trying to kick my ARCs and requested books up to the top too, but also keep a good mix of my own review choices πŸ™‚ It’s hard to do!
    I also need to get back in the swing of commenting. Things have been so nuts lately but we can do it!!! πŸ™‚

  19. My favorite 2013 book would be Fangirl. It was the first book of Rainbow Rowell that i’ve read and i’m very glad i did because it was so awesome! Allegiant by Veronica Roth and House of Hades by Rick Riordan were great too.

    • I NEED TO READ THAT BOOK D: I love Rainbow Rowell’s works, and it’s frustrating that I can’t find Fangirl anywhere :O I didn’t like Allegiant all that much (never been a big fan of those types of endings, and I really wasn’t expecting it), but House of Hades was the bomb diggity. I CANNOT wait for The Blood of Olympus, although I am secretly hoping the series won’t end. Haha!

  20. I don’t think I’ve ever really been involved in drama either…clearly we are awesome #DefiniteEgo haha
    Seriously though, I think all of your resolutions are reasonable! Especially number 8. I go by that policy as well, and it’s worked out pretty well for me πŸ˜€

    As to good 2013 reads:
    Clearly, The House of Hades. Should be self-explanatory really. I’m sure we’ve had enough sessions of fangirling about that book lol
    Also The Lies of Locke Lamora- an adult fantasy book and omg omg omg it’s awesome. And just really clever. It’s about this band of thieves and their shenanigans. AND IT’S EPIC.

    • HAHA yes we are #DefiniteEgo πŸ˜€ And I hope NEVER to get involved in any of that O.o And I’m glad you think this is reasonable! I hope I can stick to them in that case πŸ™‚ Yep we all know about The House of Hades. Rick never disappoints (and we all know why I mega loved it, because I SHIP —–). That adult fantasy book you mentioned sounds right up my alley! I should definitely check that one out πŸ˜€

  21. WHAAT! Drama free here! πŸ˜‰
    I think I love you more for quoting Augustus and then making me laugh. I really do!
    I am with you on these resolutions! I need to post more original comments and comment on the blogs that visited mine!
    I’m so glad you’ll keep blogging and let’s kill 2014(as cliche as that sounds!)!! πŸ˜€

  22. Correct me if I’m wrong but do you mean you’re graduating high school THIS year? Because I am too! I am so nervous and excited and scared and wow that second sentence of this blog post was exactly how I was feeling when the fireworks were over, making it officially, for me, 2 thousand and fricking 14!!!
    And may I say GOOD LUCK FOR YOU BLOGGING GOALS FOR 2014. I just know Yr12 is going to be a real right rhymes with witch and I can’t imagine keeping a blog on the side but I so do admire your dedication.
    HERE’S TO 2014!! πŸ˜€

    • Oh and I didn’t see the question you asked us in the blog post comment section of the rafflecopter, haha.
      I didn’t get to read much this year but out of the books I did I would my top 2013 reads are:
      Will Grayson, Will Grayson; Cloudstreet; TheCandymakers; Looking For Alaska; Life of Pi; All Our Yesterdays and More Than This
      πŸ™‚

  23. Thank you for hosting this giveaway internationally! I’m really excited for it! John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars was one of my top reads for 2013. It was ah- mazing! Totally messed with my feels… in a good way πŸ˜€

    • You’re very welcome! πŸ™‚ Thanks as well for participating, and YAAAY for John Green! I’m fine with books that mess with my feels too, but as long as it’s in the way that makes me happy πŸ˜€

      • I totally agree! I think that’s what draws me into books sometimes, or most of the time, especially contemporary ones. I just love having my feels messed with lol! I’m planning on reading more of his books πŸ˜€

Write me a little something. I reply!

