Guest Post: 5 Amber Preserved Self-Publishing e-Book Platforms

ebook

I know of a lot of bloggers who have aims and aspirations that necessitate the inception of a legendary, almost apocryphal work of fiction, subsequently having them published. And as for me, I’ve long since endeavored to do my part by helping them out in a way or two, help them move one step closer to defeating the chase for that endless dream.

I however, have not only next to no idea of what one must go through to become a published author, but also am a beginner when it comes to the various platforms by which one may do so. So of course, you can imagine how ecstatic I felt to note that Claire Amber‘s idea of a guest post involved helping out fellow aspirants achieve their goals, by providing you guys with a list of trustworthy platforms you may be interested in trying out, if you are just as interested in self publishing in e-book format. I’ve never been much of a writer myself, so kudos to Claire Amber for coming up with the list! Make sure to check her blog out when you have the time for it, as she is an amazing and innovative writer herself.

And without further, inconvenient ado, here it goes!

design

1.  BookTango

booktango

Price: $0 – $359

Author Royalty Cut: 100%

Distribution Partners: Barnes & Noble, Scribd, Amazon, iBookstore, Sony, Kobo, Google

Editing Services: $0.023 per word

Book Cover Services: $159

BookStubs: $99 (Quantity: 20)

U. S. Copyright Registration: $150

Website Hosting Services: $199 ($129 yearly fee after first year)

My Thoughts:

This platform is probably my favorite. It has everything you could possibly need for a reasonable price, plus additional features. I strongly recommend considering self-publishing your e-book with BookTango.

2. eBookIt!

ebookit-logo

Price: $149

Author Royalty Cut: Depends on the retailer

Distribution Partners: Amazon, Apple, B&N, Sony, Ingram, Kobo, Baker and Taylor

Editing Services: $16 per 1000 words

Book Cover Services: $99

Website Hosting Services: $200-$900

My Thoughts

They offer services at a reasonable price and have standard offers on other things one  may need for the publishing journey.

3. Vook

vook_logo_vector

Price: Undefined ( set based on the length, layout, formatting and inclusion of media)

Author Royalty Cut: Depends on the retailer

Distribution Partners: Amazon, iBookstore, Barnes & Noble, Samsung, Google, Baker & Taylor

Editing Services: $6 per page

Book Cover Services: $199 – $299

Website Hosting Services: Authro

My thoughts

It’s similar to eBookIt! and is a better bargain for shorter novels.

4. BookBaby

BookBaby-logo

Price: $99 – $349

Author Royalty Cut: 100%

Distribution Partners: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBookstore, Sony, Kobo, Baker & Taylor, Copia, Gardners, eBookPie, eSentral, Scribd, PagePusher

Editing Services: FirstEditing

Book Cover Services: $149 – $279

Website Hosting Services: HostBaby

My Thoughts

ISBN costs $19, so you have to pay a $19 yearly fee unless you avail of the Premium Package. Otherwise, there are some pretty neat offers.

5. BookCountry

book-country-logo-o

Price: $0 – $399

Author Royalty Cut: 85% – 100%

Distribution Partners: Amazon, Apple, Barnes & Noble, Google, Kobo, Scribd, Sony

Editing Services: $0.023 per word

Book Cover Services: $159 – $249

BookStubs: $69 (Quantity: 20)

U. S. Copyright Registration: $99

My Thoughts

It’s a decent platform, though I feel as if it could use more promotional services. Otherwise, I do like it as it is.

design

And that’s about it! I’m not sure what any of these mean, if truth be told (except for the self-explanatory ones, duhh), but I’m sure that to the people who matter, you completely understand– and of course in some way, I do hope it helped! 🙂

If anybody else is interested in guest posting (or cross-guest posting!) feel free to send me an email 🙂 Till next time, then! Happy holidays evrahbody 😀

siggy

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: 5 Amber Preserved Self-Publishing e-Book Platforms

  1. Hmmn… This is something new, Jasmine. I’ve never been privy as to how e-books are produced since I am more interested in reading them. And my, even if we have this notion that e-books are cheap to produce, it’s not actually if we look at the figures above. A lot of e-books are sold at 2-4 dollars and come to think of it, most of them don’t even sell or even if they did, authors hardly gain any profit if the sales are really low.

    After reading this post, my sympathy for self-published authors just increased.

    Thanks for sharing, Claire and Jasmine!

    • Haha yes, it really surprised me when I first read it, but I guess that a lot of aspiring authors are willing to spend this much on a published e-book (maybe regardless of the returns, but honestly I wouldn’t know). Anyway, I’m glad that this post was an eye opener of sorts too 🙂 But MORE SUPPORT TO E-BOOKS! And I agree, I do feel for self published authors, which is why I prefer to accept their review requests, coupled with the fact that they come up with some GREAT content 😀

  2. Thank you so much for hosting my post, Jasmine :D! I’ve been doing research and I found out that creating and marketing a self-published e-book is actually more expensive and hard work than I originally thought. Most of them never even get into the hands of a reader or make any profit because of a poor book cover, editing etc. I have heard about many cases where an author had his/her book rejected from countless publishers, then being forced to resort to self-publishing. But surprisingly enough, in some of the cases the books did extremely well. It’s true it’s hard finding a hidden gem because we are bound to judge books by their covers or names of authors/publishers, but self-published works should never be left out. Which is why I am always ready to accept to review a self-published novel. Many people will only accept traditionally published work or those that have an agent behind them, but I know how much self-published authors struggle and that many of them can and will produce some quality reads. So in other words, I absolutely agree with you two 😀

    • Aww well I’m glad that you agree Amber! I definitely understand better now what many of these self published authors have to go through, and honestly, most of them create quality content that A LOT of us miss out on! Which is why I like helping out with their exposure 🙂 And you’re welcome as well, thanks again for the input ❤

Write me a little something. I reply!

