Top Ten Tuesdays: Halloween Reads

toptentuesdays

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish 🙂

I don’t usually celebrate Halloween, unless it’s a party and it involves school, but I do love to read books that revolve around relationships between the dead and the living. However, I am an utter wuss when it comes to hair-raising covers, so I’m usually lily-livered at the thought of reading books that wear disturbing dresses. However, I did manage to come up with this list, and I hope that you share in my appreciation for it!

Happy reading 😉

design

Recommended Reads

halloween1

1. The Body Finder (Kimberly Derting)

The content itself isn’t as creepy, but I find that this is perfect for Halloween especially if you’re into heroines who can hear echoes of the dead who have left this world behind (A bit morbid I know, but I think you’ll love her, if you still don’t, that is!)

2. The Raven Boys (Maggie Stiefvater)

Not at all scary either, yet the fact that Blue grapples with spirits everyday (even if she can’t really see them) gives me an excuse to place it under this category.

3. The Immortal Rules (Julie Kagawa)

If you haven’t already figured out that I DON’T like reading scary-ass books, then here is your ticket towards the all-imparting knowledge. I was a bit apprehensive of this one at first, because of the vampires (yet again?! Blech), but I did find this book quite interesting, if not at all horrifying. Trust me, the romance and the action supersedes all.

4. Something Strange And Deadly (Susan Dennard)

Well… the title did warn you. Strange? Check. Deadly? Check. Recommended? Double check.

design

Chilling Covers From Books Read

halloween2

5. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs)

I didn’t like this book as much as I thought I would, but what I did like was the fact that I managed to plow through it despite the cover. That kid. Scares the living daylights out of me.

6. Anna Dressed In Blood (Kendare Blake)

SO MUCH LOVE. If you manage to get past the, well uhm, blood, I urge you to give this book a try. No regrets.

design

Chilling Covers From Books Yet To Read

halloween3

7. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea (April Geneviene Tucholke)

Thank god for ginormous font. It helps hide the eerie background, which has for so long been deterring me from this book. Too bad the title actually reads something even creepier (Did I ever get around to telling you that I particularly dislike deep bodies of water?)

8. Bad Girls Don’t Die (Katie Alender)

I mean, she has a veil to cover her face. One can only wonder what’s behind it! As for me, I’d rather back away with caution lest she jumps out of the cover and comes straight at me.

9. Some Quiet Place (Kelsey Sutton)

I LOVE the premise of the book. I’ve been meaning to read this, but I can’t even stand to look at the cover. Don’t get me wrong though, it’s pretty, but it scares me. Look at the girl’s face (or lack thereof)! She looks like a corpse. Great sense of style, though.

10. Ten (Gretchen McNeil)

Ten for Top Ten! Haha, okay just had to get over that. I’m a fan of the Gretchen McNeil, but I’m not a fan of the lonely island.

design

So what do you think? If you have any opinions or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to comment and tell me!

siggy

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Halloween Reads

  1. OH MY GOSH! Anna Dressed in Blood, The Raven Boys, Miss Pergrine’s Home for Peculiar Children… All books I own by haven’t read. Though I do plan on reading Anna soon!

    Some Quiet Place was pretty good, in my opinion 🙂 I would definitely recommend it if you love the premise! Oh, and Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea… I loved it but there are a lot of things that are just hit or misses… Also: Fortunately, the sea is not mentioned much in Devil 😛

    • From those three, I think The Raven Boys is my best bet for a book to your liking– although Anna was none too shabby! It just gave me the jeepers creepers 😄 HAHA and thank you for your recommendations too! I’ll try those out when I find copies 🙂

  2. AHHH. SCARY SCARY.
    I’ve not read The Raven Boys yet, actually >< It's so sad!! I think I need to though… I've not read the Immortal Rules yet either!
    Have you read Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn? 🙂 I'm sure that one will definitely freak you out… You might not be able to sleep for a few nights!! xD
    Thanks for sharing, Jasmine!! ❤

Write me a little something. I reply!

