Top Ten Tuesdays: Best Sequels

toptentuesdays

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish 🙂

Most fortuitously, I have come across a multitude of sequels and conclusions that have stunned me into silence and captured the very essence of my heart. Drama aside, I consider myself lucky to have finished quite a few series of my own, and been left nothing short of impressed with them, for that matter. I like series better than I do stand-alones, although my unfinished pile topples my the finished one catastrophically. Today nevertheless, I feature books from series I have, and have yet to finish, in the hopes that you like, and will like them too!

I will be sharing quotes from the book to help inspire you to pick them up if you haven’t already. Happy reading, everyone ❤

design

Exciting Sequels

 

1. Unravel Me (Tahereh Mafi)

Unravel Me

“I want to be the friend you fall hopelessly in love with. The one you take into your arms and into your bed and into the private world you keep trapped in your head. I want to be that kind of friend. The one who will memorize the things you say as well as the shape of your lips when you say them. I want to know every curve, every freckle, every shiver of your body.

I want to know where to touch you, I want to know how to touch you. I want to know convince you to design a smile just for me. Yes, I do want to be your friend. I want to be your best friend in the entire world.”

2. The Ask And The Answer (Patrick Ness)

ask

“It’s not that you should never love something so much that it can control you. It’s that you need to love something that much so you can never be controlled. It’s not a weakness. It’s your best strength.”

3. Pretties (Scott Westerfeld)

Pretties

“You and David could both be right. Maybe human beings are programmed … to help one another, even to fall in love. But just because it’s human nature doesn’t make it bad, Tally. Besides, we had a whole city of pretties to choose from, and we chose each other.”

4. The Iron Daughter (Julie Kagawa)

irondaughter

“I know you’d risk everything to protect us, and that’s what worries me. You still don’t know enough about this world to be properly terrified. Things are going to get screwed eight ways from Sunday, and you’re making goo-goo eyes at the enemy! I heard what happened in Machina’s realm and yes, it scared the hell out of me. I love you, dammit. I’m not going to watch you get torn apart when everything goes bad.”

5. A Million Suns (Beth Revis)

A Million Suns

“People are, at their heart, constantly moving toward a state of entropy. We’re all spiraling out of control.”

design

Stunning Conclusions

 

6. The Clockwork Princess (Cassandra Clare)

Clockwork Princess

“She leaned forward and caught at his hand, pressing it between her own. The touch was like white fire through his veins. He could not feel her skin only the cloth of her gloves, and yet it did not matter. You kindled me, heap of ashes that I am, into fire. He had wondered once why love was always phrased in terms of burning. The conflagration in his own veins, now, gave the answer.”

7. Perfect Scoundrels (Ally Carter)

Perfect Scoundrels

“Hale, stop it.” Kat reached out and grabbed his arm. “You are many things, but stupid isn’t one of them.”
“I’m too close.”
“You don’t get it, do you? Being close is good. Caring is good. I love that you’re emotional and passionate and can’t turn these things off.”
“It makes me a bad thief.”
“It makes you a good person.”

8. Last Sacrifice (Richelle Mead)

sacrifice

“Auras tell a lot, Rose, and I’m very good at reading them. Much better than you friends probably are. A spirit dream wraps you own aura in gold, which is how I knew. Your personal aura is unique to you, though it fluctuates with your feelings and soul. When people are in love, it shows. Their auras shine. When you were dreaming, yours was bright. The colors were bright…but not what expected from a boyfriend. Of course, not every relationship is the same. People are at different stages. I would’ve brushed it off, except…”
“Except what?”
“Except, when you’re with Dimitri, your aura’s like the sun. So is his.”

9. Bitterblue (Kristin Cashore)

bitterblue

“Find something useful to do with your morning,’ she thought to him as she neared her chambers. ‘Do something heroic in front of an audience. Knock a child into a river while no one’s looking and then rescue him.”

10. Where She Went (Gayle Forman)

Where She Went

“My first impulse is not to grab her or kiss her or yell at her. I simple want to touch her cheek, still flushed from the night’s performance. I want to cut through the space that separates us, measured in feet—not miles, not continents, not years—and to take a callused finger to her face.”

design

So what do you think? If you have any opinions or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to comment and tell me!

siggy

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Best Sequels

  1. Ooh, nice list! I have to admit the only one I’ve read from your list is Where She Went, but several of these books are on my TBR as I finish series! I guess I really need to get to them, huh? I do really want to read The Ask and the Answer sometime soon–I read The Knife of Never Letting Go almost a year ago and needed some time to recover from that book, but I own the entire series so I want to dive back in.

    • HAHAHA I loved Where She Went! Damn I need a reread XD And YES you must read the rest of the Chaos Walking books! They actually got increasingly better, which is rare (especially for the second books). So yeah, hope you do get to read that, and some of the other books on here that are also on your TBR pile! Happy reading Stormy 😀

  2. Yes, yes, yes to Unravel Me. When I first read Shatter Me, I wasn’t all that impressed. I stumbled across Unravel Me at the library and fell in love with it! I went back and reread Shatter Me and ended up liking it much better.

    And that quote! So fantastic.

    • YES you must! Where She Went was amazing because of Adam. I love his heartfelt songs– they sang to me too 🙂 And Last Sacrifice was a conclusion that couldn’t have been better in my opinion. I just LOVE VA.

    • Hi Jana! I do hope you get to read Shatter Me and Unravel Me, because they’re both really great reads (moreso for Unravel Me!) and oooh I think you’ll LOVE Perfect Scoundrels 😀 Thanks for visiting, and you’re welcome too! ❤ I'm kind of starstruck by you right now. HAHA! I'm glad your comment got eaten but preserved XD

Write me a little something. I reply!

