ARC Review: No One’s Angel

 No One's AngelTitle: No One’s Angel

 Author: Kelly Walker

 Release Date: September 6, 2013

 Publisher: Kelly Walker (Thank you!)

 Description: 390 pages, New Adult Fiction

synopsis

Tess used to spend more hours than she’d care to admit playing her favorite computer game, using the nickname Angel. She could pretend her life was different, and she could pretend Arion was just a friend. But a girl needs more to keep her warm at night than pixels, and she traded her virtual heaven for a real-life hell. Now she’s on the run from a past she won’t talk about, and the only place she has to go is the doorstep of the friend she’s never actually met.

When Angel disappeared from their nightly games, it nearly destroyed Arion. He threw himself into work and women, but he can’t help knowing the one-night stands will never compare to the angel who haunts his dreams. At first, when she shows up soaking wet and scared-shitless on his doorstep, he thinks his prayers have been answered.

But the more Arion tries to keep Angel close, the more her fear drives her away. If they are ever going to have a chance for a future, they’ll first have to deal with the past that hasn’t forgotten her any more than she’s forgotten it–and Arion will have to learn how to let her go.

mythoughts

A Game Of Chance

As you may have already noticed, I spent what seemed like a pithy amount of time reading this particular book, the reason behind which is the fact that I could not seem to satisfy my curiosity enough with every turn to the succeeding page. No One’s Angel was, doubtless, a captivating and seductive read filled with angst and affection, loyalty and subterfuge, honesty and deceit, and most of all, a conquering, passionate love for someone you’ve always known, but have never met. The plot itself was unique, and the idea of an unlikely friendship over a computer game was one that mightily piqued my interest. The romance deliciously developed piecemeal, and the impending danger that caused Angel to run in the first place was a constant threat that made the book even more exciting. Many of the characters, protagonists included, were believable, yet impressively profound, and it was honestly a piece of cake to find myself liking their every aspect. Because this was a New Adult book, I found myself apprehensive of the likelihood that the story would drag, run-off-the-mill and uneventful (and goodness knows the sex does nothing to appease me), but after reading this book, it is safe to say that I stand corrected.

design

Fear Of Flight 

Angel (or Tess, whichever you prefer) was a broken girl with a savage past, who should have been a constant griper, or an annoying sissy, but boy was Angel a fighter. She may not have had the wings to soar well above her predicaments in the very beginning, but I loved how she evolved into a headstrong, uncompromising person, who knew when to conceal, and when to retaliate. She pushed people away, Arion most especially, and I did find it tiresome at one point that she seemed uncharacteristically oblivious to how much she was hurting Arion by doing so. Given her previous experiences with a lover, however, I found her excuses reasonable enough, and was happy with the fact that she seemed to reconcile her battling thoughts and come to a justifiable conclusion soon after. I also admired her spunk, her attitude, and her belief in taking things steady with a man she desperately wanted to, but could not immediately trust. Her chemistry with Arion (or Axel, whichever you prefer) was nothing short of electric– the scenes between them could make me swoon into ever after, and the sweet nothings they shared were heartfelt and earnest, yet far from cheesy and cloying. Much to my amazement, Angel was a character I liked well without reservation, despite the fact we share almost nothing in common.

design

Into The Abyss

Arion was arguably the most predictable character in terms of what I initially believed he would appear like. And of course, I was right on the money. Arion was a tall, muscular, drop-dead gorgeous and relentless gamer-turned-romantic with a family fortune. He had amazing eyes, washboard abs, and a smile that could belong only to a god-incarnate. Despite what seemed like utter perfection, I relished in the fact that Arion himself was far from faultless. He was constantly heartbroken, and could not seem to fight through his troubles, instead relying on alcohol and the temporary comfort provided by the space between some girl’s legs. On the flip side however, he was a very dedicated person, not only to Angel but to his family and business. He easily segregated his professional life from his personal one, and was most certainly likable outside of his sex appeal. Though I found it overkill one too many times whenever it came to his reaction to Angel and her general safety, and he sure as hell was the jealous type who used his fists more than was necessary, I thought the author was able to reasonably explain his rash behavior, and in the end I heartily approved of him. The rest of the characters were easily likable, and easily hateful depending on who’s side they were on– ultimately, I was more than impressed with the turnout.

design

Never Let You Go

Overall, No One’s Angel was a fast-paced read, and one that I thoroughly enjoyed at that. Despite being a New Adult Contemporary that could have been effortlessly boring and platitudinous, it was a nice surprise to realize that the book was filled with more action and suspense than I could have ever dared to hope for. The relationship that existed between Arion and Angel, dangerous and unsteady as it was, served only to intensify my already ignited interest. The threat posed by Angel’s alarming past felt real and authentic, and the characters themselves were magnificently portrayed. The style of writing was beautiful in essence, and the author was able to weave through words most wondrously, and I was left in awe at the elegance of the prose that could only have been attributed to an author that deserves so much more attention than she’s getting.

If you’re looking for a riveting, exciting read about an edgy, yet genuine romance, set against a backdrop of abuse, and defiance, one about a girl who so desperately tries to build back her own wings with the one person she never thought she’d be given the chance to finally meet– then I say waste no time reading this one, because it’s definitely for you.

design

myrating

5 hearts

So what do you think of this book? If you haven’t read it, will you? Sound off in the comments!siggy

19 thoughts on “ARC Review: No One’s Angel

  1. This one sounds good, but I know the New Adult title is usually code for “lots of sex.” Is this one just a smut fest or is there an actual story that just so happens to have a scene or two of smut? The balance is important!

    • Oh, definitely not just a smut fest. As compared to the sex in the last book I read, Arion and Angel were way more restrained, because they technically had just met in person, even if they were talking over a game for two years or so. I LOVED how careful they were being with each other! That’s one of the reasons why I adored this book. It definitely did not do away with the story to make way for the sex. It’s the actual plot that’s brought into focus 🙂

  2. I love the title for this one. It’s so different, and doesn’t sound like those lovey-dovey romance book titles I see around so often. But the synopsis sounds a little dramatic (I mean, a girl you don’t know/probably haven’t seen before leaves and you’re suddenly plunged into a depression? Right…), but you gave this five stars so I’m guessing the story isn’t as simple as that, hopefully! I haven’t had the best of luck with NA books, but I really like the sound of this and I’m glad that there were no flawless characters. And being a gamer myself, I’m really interested in that factor too. Lovely review, Jasmine! I’ll go check this out on Goodreads. 😀

    • HAHA yeah the title and cover captivated me 🙂 Actually, Arion and Angel shared a lot more than just a game. They talked to each other, and gave each other advice and stuff like that, so I think I quite understand Arion’s depression 🙂 And like I said, there are reasons behind his aversion to people leaving 😉 And thank youuu! I hope you like it as much as I do~

  3. A fast paced, captivating and seductive read? With video games? Sure, I could definitely read this one! Lol. I’ll have to add it to my wish list. I’m glad this one lived up to its full potential and surprised you in a good way. 🙂 Sounds like this is one New Adult read that I don’t want to miss, yey!

    • Yeah like I said, this author deserves waaaay more attention :O It’s actually quite dramatic and exciting if you factor in the abuse, and I wasn’t much of a fan of that either. The writing is impeccable 🙂 And thank you!

  4. Thanks for leaving me out in the cold, ‘like’ button. Damn you.
    But: ASDFGHJKL. Jasmine. I need this book. And you need this book! I cannot believe that you don’t own it. I am definitely doing some digging around for you 😀
    Angel sounds like a really kickass MC, which is getting harder and harder to come across (at least in YA), so I am actually really interested in reading about her. And, Axel/Arion/whatever sounds more than swoon worthy. I cannot wait to make his acquaintance.
    I am almost 100% certain that I have never read a NA book before. I mean, I have read adult books that had 19 year old MCs – does that count? if so, they were both fantasy books, so I don’t think they do. Anyway! I think I shall make this book my first adventure into the world of NA because I trust your judgement and you loved it so much! ❤

    • Aww well thank you for that Chiara ❤ And yep, Angel was definitely an amazing heroine, and Axel! AXEL OMG. Hmmm if you've never read NA, then I'm a bit nervous about you liking it, unless you're not the conservative type 😄 It takes a little opening up to get used to, since there are more mature themes. But what I loved about this one was that it didn't FOCUS on the X-rated stuff you usually find in NA. There is an actual plot, HURRAH! And let me know what you think then, if you find it 😄

      • Well good, because I’m a very open book myself! 😀 I actually really want to explore it, but my parents are conservative, so I’ll have to buy NA books in moderation. HAHA! And that’s okay, whatever copy you find is yours for the keeping, unless you totally hate it, in which case I’m right here. 😄

Write me a little something. I reply!

