7 Deadly Sins Of Reading

sins

Because I have nothing else important to post for today, I decided to participate in this activity I found over at I Read And Tell — it’s a survey of sorts that has to do with the seven deadly sins, this time guilt free! And in a (sorry) attempt to Reem-ize my blog by posting similar content, well here it is! I do hope you enjoy πŸ™‚

design

greed

What is your most expensive book? What is your least expensive?

I honestly don’t keep track of this. Because I usually buy paperbacks, most, if not all of my books, have insignificant price differences as compared to one another. However, I do remember buying The Iron Daughter for a hardcover price of about 600+, which is probably as expensive as it gets for me. As for the cheapest, it’s probably the hardcover Tami Hoag book,Β The Alibi Man which I got for about 50 pesos (one US dollar, roughly). I don’t even think I got to read that one, but the price was just so irresistibly low, and I had to buy it to satisfy this itch I couldn’t necessarily scratch (possibly to reconcile myself with the fact that for once, a hardcover book was affordable).

wrath

Which author do you have a love-hate relationship with?

I don’t usually sit on the fence when it comes to authors– it’s either I love you or I hate you, unless I don’t even know you exist. I’d have to answer this one with John Green though, but don’t get me wrong. I love his books, and his style of writing is arguably the most eloquent and thought-provoking, but he seems to like tragedy and death a lot, which doesn’t align with the fact that I believe in happy endings.

gluttony

What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?

I don’t usually reread books, but if I do, then that means they’re good. I think I’ve rereadΒ The Lost Hero more than twice though, which is about as repetitive as repetitive gets. I just don’t think I could stand the thought of being away from Leo for a little longer than a month, tops. No words can express how happy I was for Mark of Athena, even if Percy almost made up for Leo’s absence in book two.

sloth

What book have you neglected to read due to laziness?

It’s probably one of the thicker, more complicated books, but I definitely remember slacking off, and voluntarily so, while reading A Clash of Kings. I have nothing against George R.R. Martin, and I think even the television adaptation is top dog, but I just didn’t have it in me to sustain an attempt at finishing the book. A thousand pages and microscopic font make a behemothic combination, and one that no doubt encourages the sloth hidden within the confines of my conscience. I’ll get through it, someday maybe, but definitely not now, and not anytime soon.

pride

What book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?

Something classic, Jane Austen maybe, or something that involves Historical Fiction. I don’t really have concrete examples for the latter, and I don’t read enough Jane Austen to stake claim to the fact that I share an active enthusiasm for her books. I do consider Harry Potter a classic of sorts, however. It’s the series everyone’s aware of, unless one has been hibernating, living under a rock for fifteen years. I hope not!

lust

What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

I don’t get attracted to females, and as long as they’re not whiney and don’t cling like leeches to their love interests, then I won’t even mind. Males on the other hand, I tend to examine carefully like specimen. I prefer anyone even remotely resembling Aaron Warner or Draco Malfoy, although a more mussed up look (Logan Lerman, anyone?) works just as well. If his name starts with an L and ends in an Eo Valdez, then I probably love him already.

envy

What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

Probably the complete collection of Kate Brian’s Private novels. I’ve never read any of them, but Kate is practically a legend in my eyes after Privilege, so I am reasonably dying to read the rest of her works. If you’re a random billionaire willing to support my cause, please don’t hesitate to send me an email, drop me a message, knock on my door, use any other means of contact. I don’t care anymore. HAHA. Or if you can’t stand 14 books, the Harry Potter boxed set with the new covers will do.

Okay, I’m fooling you, both are probably just as expensive.

designSo what do you think? I know I’m supposed to tag someone else by the end of this post, but for now, I’ll stick to Reem-izing, and just tag you, if you’re reading this! (duh, you are).

siggy

12 thoughts on “7 Deadly Sins Of Reading

  1. Yes, John Green! I dont hate him, but he contradicts my beliefs about happy endings like you said. And even I feel smart talking about Jane Austen books! πŸ™‚ I think I’ll take part in this survey next week, owing to exams till then, pretending you tagged me! Or someone tagged me. πŸ˜„

    • Oh, I don’t think I have it in me to hate on John Green πŸ˜€ It’s just that his books make me cry, and that’s like all the time! 😦 HAHA and yes, technically I tagged you. Looking forward to the post then!

  2. I always see copies of Kate Brian’s Private novels on sale but I’ve never thought of picking it up.. I did enjoy her contemporary novel, Megan Meade’s Guide To The McGowan Boys, though. I was pondering on the question for Pride but I don’t really discuss many intellectual books. I’ve only ever read a handful of them and as much as they’re great, I can’t ever be enthusiastic about them as I would be about YA books. Anyway, awesome answers, Jasmine! I love the concept of this survey! πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, I actually got reminded of Kate Brian after seeing her books on sale, but they never have the first book, so I can never buy them πŸ˜„ I don’t really like reading intellectual books, because the only books that seem to fall easily into that category are the textbooks we use at school… yuck! Haha! But thank you so much Hazel! I guess if there’s a chance that you’ll do it too, then I look forward to it πŸ˜‰ Thanks again for stopping by πŸ˜€

  3. This is a fun idea….I’ll have to think about some of these. I also have indulged in Sloth with A Song of Ice and Fire. Greed–ironically the most expensive books I bought were not for me; The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Black Gotham (about $25 a piece) I did end up reading the former though. Great read…Envy: if someone bought the entire Sandman omnibus I’d be a very happy reader. I’ll have to think about the others…Fun post. Good stuff.

    • Thank youuu! πŸ™‚ Well the Game of Thrones was actually GOOD, but the rest of the books just seem too intimidating for words. They get progressively lengthier! D: I have read about Henrietta Lacks, but never while spending $25! WOAH. Oh I dunno what Sandman is, but it seems pretty interesting. Imma check it out if it’s something I’d like πŸ™‚ And thanks again!

Write me a little something. I reply!

