On Social Media And Promotion

bloggerbites

During my first week of blogging, I didn’t really put much thought into social media networking, and into the promotion that comes with it. Irony of ironies however, was the fact that I cared a lot more about my statistics during this time, because I had about 3 followers, and felt as if I was exchanging thoughts with a brick wall. Even nowadays, I haven’t tried to take a stab at exploring the idea of search engine optimization, and various other plug-ins that aid in advertisement. Usually, I just leave my blog traffic up to fate, and up to me reaching out to the rest of the blogosphere, and not the other way around. So far, it hasn’t been disappointing– people come over to comment and reply, I’ve been making lots of friends, and at the moment, I’ve stopped stalking my own viewership.

However, I do believe that social media networks play critical roles in terms of bringing in readers to the blog. While I don’t expect to generate views without active participation, I find that at some point, I have to stop with the promotion, and start focusing on creating actual content and socializing, which, if you may not have noticed, is what social media is truly made for. I try as much as possible to extend my blog’s reach, but in comparison to other bloggers, I think my methods have been pretty passive.

design

ACTIVITY ON

1. Twitter

This site is the only legitimate social media network I actively participate in, and not even half as much as other bloggers (with hypothetically, eight hands) do. Though limited in characters in terms of individual tweets, I find that Twitter has been the most paltry and straightforward, yet surefire method of promotion out there. Additionally, the feeds make it easier for me to converse with other bloggers on topics not necessarily related to books, and because I’m a self-proclaimed social butterfly with little to no street smarts, the practicality of Twitter increases for me tenfold.

2. Feed Readers

I would probably be biting the dust without these babies. First of all, my reliance to email outside of monitoring e-galley approvals and review requests does not extend to a trenchant level. Apart from the fact that I find it a hassle to input both my email address and the verification for my humanity as opposed to a one-click method for instantaneous subscription, it’s so much easier for me to filter out read and uninteresting posts with feed readers like Bloglovin’, Feedly, and RSS. And because it works for me, I like to think that my own readers find it manifest to read my posts in this way as well.

3. Tumblr

I don’t use this for promotion. If someone else wishes to stalk me, then this is simply their ticket towards that particular (and creepy) endeavor.

social

design

I DO NOT (AND PROBABLY SHOULD) USE

1. Facebook

I know some bloggers rely heavily on their fan pages, but I don’t really see what Facebook can do that Twitter already can’t (advertise and talk to people, basically). In addition, many of my real life friends are more accessible through this website, and because I try hard to preserve my anonymity, this doesn’t seem to work well in my favor.

2. Pinterest

I truthfully have no idea how to use and operate this one. It seems pretty elementary for someone with a substantial amount of brain cells like me, but then again, this platform isn’t as popular, and I don’t know if the extra effort of “pinning” (?) will prove worth my time.

3. Instagram

This is popular, most definitely, although I can’t think of anything else to take a picture of that doesn’t involve what is essentially my face, and everyone knows I’m not into that, so this seems rather pointless.

4. Et Cetera, Et Cetera

This means all the other social media networks such as StumbleUpon, Google+, Reddit, etc. I just don’t think I’ll have time time, or even just the motivation to keep myself active, and unless you can recommend to me a site that significantly aids in reaching out (not just in promoting, but also in discovering other blogs), then I don’t see myself signing up for anything else at the moment.

social2design

Β THE NUB AND GIST OF THINGS

1. Promotion through Social Media is important.

2. Social Media allows you not only to advertise, but to converse.

3. I do not use two different networks that serve the same purpose.

4. I’m a passive-active blogger.

design

What about you? Do you make sure to get involved with various social media networks as well? How do you effectively advertise? Do you talk to other people outside of your own blog, or do you keep things professional? Do you have any recommendations for the clueless other bloggers out there? Do tell! Sound of in the comments and make my day πŸ™‚

siggy

38 thoughts on “On Social Media And Promotion

  1. I definitely don’t do enough social media, and to be honest, I’ve almost given up. I quit Twitter – no time for it. I’m active on 1 book group on G+; I’ve tried Instagram – can’t take enough pictures. I do use Pinterest, but more for my own personal use, bt I’m trying my hand at Facebook. I find it easier to see what people are up to than with Twitter.

    • Oh, I see πŸ˜€ I’ve always been active on Twitter, but that’s because I talk to a lot people on there XD I’m still not sure about Facebook though, but I definitely don’t think I’ll be more active on other networks any time soon πŸ™‚ And aww, I hope you sort that out! Social media is fun, but I don’t think it’s all that effective to be everywhere. It can get to be a hassle! Thanks for stopping by πŸ˜€

  2. I use Instagram but haven’t put up my face. Obviously,most are pictures of my books but it is fun to edit my book stack. πŸ˜›
    Social media is all the rage. It is almost a given that a blog cannot function without the blogger being on twitter and instagram and so on and so forth.
    Pinterest is amazing! Its quite easy to use actually! I’ll teach you! And then you can see all the book art pinned! ^o^

    • AHHA I’m not that into photographs, really, so I don’t think I’ll have as much fun on Instagram XD And yeah, it’s almost as if no one’s gonna come to your blog unless you’re active on social media πŸ™‚ Hmmm… we’ll see. I’m up for learning!

  3. I used Twitter from the very beginning but that’s mostly because I really wanted to talk to other bloggers, and Twitter serves that purpose perfectly! And I use Bloglovin a LOT. I love having all the posts in one place and marking those that I’ve read and liking those that I want to save for later on. Also it makes me incredibly happy when I see a new follower on my profile. Doesn’t feel like I’m talking to myself anymore πŸ˜€

    • Yeah Twitter is a very interactive place to be, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ I actually have the most fun when I’m just replying to mentions or retweeting. And I LOVE Bloglovin! People say it sometimes skips a few posts every now and then, which is unfortunate, but so far, I don’t think I have been missing out on much πŸ˜€ And I think everyone loves gaining new follows! It’s a slow but sure process, and it’s rewarding πŸ™‚ I love talking to people even if I’m such an awkward potato πŸ˜€

  4. I’m not using Pinterest for blogging, just mostly for stuff and images that I like. get too lazy to pin stuff from my blog. And FB? If a person has more than a hundred friends, your links are just going to get lost in their massive news feed. That, and I’m just way too lazy.

    But as for Tumblr, if you know how to utilize it, it can give you a really broad audience.

    • HAHA well, I can live without Pinterest… maybe. It may prove useful in the future if I do decide to use it one day! I’m actually just really scared of the exposure on FB. I like to keep my blogger life separate from my real one, and that’s hard to accomplish if I’m constantly on a social media network ruled by many of my real friends XD I’m still getting the hang of Tumblr. Never had one before, but we’ll see where it takes me πŸ™‚

  5. Social media as it relates to blogging can be such a complicated thing, and you’ve hit on so many points when I try to sort out my thoughts for it(so this comment may be a ramble–consider this my advance apology).

    Social media is important to me in some aspects as it relates to my blogging. I’ve been strategizing lately on my blogging goals and how to get there. It’s funny, because much like you, when I didn’t really have a strategy at the beginning was the time I was MOST concerned about page views. Now, I think about the actual statistics less, but how to reach my audience more. I think it comes down to the fact that I’m not spending as much time obsessing over marketing my blog, but when I *do* think about it, I spend that time thinking about it strategically and thoughtfully.

    And yes, the balance between CREATING content and then promoting content has been hard for me. I don’t want to overwhelm anyone by marketing my blog, but I also don’t want to just let it sit there and be too passive about it, especially since I started my blog partially because I hope to one day have a career in the publishing industry/book world, and I think it’s important that while my blog is for fun & I love it, it’s also a way for me to learn new skills and keep my writing skills intact, especially since I currently have a job that doesn’t really work those *same* skills(but is still giving me good experiences).

    All that being said, I’ve been trying to work recently on really concentrating on social media avenues that I *am* on and just leaving the others there, while focusing on being *active* in marketing to those platforms. I love twitter, because I can talk about everything on there, bookish and non-bookish, and it’s the fun/easiest for me. I think I’ve decided to not be around Tumblr, since while I enjoy reading some tumblrs I just don’t have enough time to devote to every social media site, and that’s one I’ve chosen to skip on.

    I have a FB fanpage, and a small audience there. It’s not my favorite tool, but it’s probably the easiest to keep up with, so it stays, even if not as a focus. I use instagram, but I use it for blogging things(books! look what I wrote today!) as well as real life(look at this pretty flower!). I also use Pinterest for a lot of different things, including blog posts. I submit posts to StumbleUpon, but don’t actively do anything besides that. Oh, and I guess I technically have a Google+ account, but that’s only because Google made me when I uploaded a book haul video to YouTube.

    The only social media aspect I feel is really “unique” to me is Vine, the Instagram of smart phone videos. Sometimes I do Vine reviews where I write a few things down on notebook paper and flip through them, and then I can upload those mini-reviews directly to twitter and my blog. I’ve never seen any other blogger use Vine, so I’ve gotten pretty good response from it.

    Wow. Well, I think I just wrote a blog post in your comment section. But yes, apparently I have a lot of thoughts about the topic of social media!

    • WOAH thanks so much for the input! ❀ I'm totally fine with the ramble– no need for an apology! like you, I try as much to strike a balance between creating content and promoting it. There's no real point in doing one, if you can't effectively do the other, after all! And while I don't have any real intent of working in the publishing / book world, I do believe that social media is important too, because it's a way of reaching out to the audience. But it's great that you've been using this to your advantage! I do hope one day you get to successfully work where you want to be, and I'm pretty darn sure you will πŸ˜‰ I'm still not sure about using either FB or Pinterest, but I think I'll have to explore my options a little further first. I have never really heard of Vine before, but now that you've mentioned it, maybe I'll go and check it out! Thanks again for all the info Stormy~

  6. Social media is so important when it comes to blogging and getting your blog out there. Twitter is probably the most important social media out there right now. I know some people still use Facebook but not as extensively. I use Instagram and mainly just for my own fun because I like looking at pictures of books and I like sharing my pictures of them too. But I do think they serve as another way of getting a book out there.

    • Agreed! I love how Twitter enables me to just reach out to my audience, and my fellow bloggers, which as a matter of fact, seems to be essentially the same thing XD I’m not sure about Instagram though, because I don’t really have a legitimate device that will allow me to post good quality pictures online, and I totally suck at editing them anyway, so maybe not! I guess a lot people just find the idea of visual representation more appealing than I do πŸ˜€

  7. I didn’t really pay attention to social media when I started too! But then a blogger urged me to make a Twitter account cause it’s sooo useful, especially if you’re a book blogger. On June I finally created an account and I must say it’s one of the best decision I ever made. I could interact with lots of bloggers easily! Promoting your blog is another benefits, but I think the interactions with other bloggers are what made me grow sooo attached to Twitter πŸ˜› (Probably the main reason I am getting lazier with studying haha xD)

    I actually have a Tumblr but I never really use it anymore…And I just deactivated my Pinterest account. I think Twitter is enough for me. I wanna have a social media that I can maintain easily and having one is enough IMO πŸ˜€

    • HAHA I think a lot of us didn’t really pay much attention in the very beginning πŸ˜€ I also love how you love Twitter! I don’t think I’m as attached to it as you are, because I definitely won’t let it get in the way of my studying, but I agree that it’s a fun and interactive platform πŸ˜€ I use Tumblr only for reblogging pretty pictures, which isn’t that useful for promotion, or conversation really– it’s just something I do to unwind. And yeah, one site is good if you really wanna keep active. Twitter is enough for me too, at least at the moment!

  8. What about Goodreads? πŸ˜€ That is by far the social media I use the most. After that Twitter, but I still don’t really get it and I feel awkward on it, haha. I have a facebook page since a few days, but I already know I’m not going to use it that much. I just like the fact that under my name it now says ‘Owner/blogger of The Daily Prophecy’ haha. I have a Tumblr, I have Pinterest, but I use those to randomly post pictures. They aren’t meant for my blog. The same for Instagram πŸ™‚

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

    • OH RIGHT! I totally forgot about Goodreads, ugh 😦 HAHA I see. I don’t really go around on social media, not even before I started blogging, so starting one now for personal reasons makes little sense to me XD I don’t actually use Goodreads a lot, not in terms of advertising. I don’t organize shelves and stuff like that either, but I do make sure to cross post ARC reviews on there πŸ˜€

  9. I completely agree with this post. Twitter especially is such an effective tool for bloggers, and although it can become a time-wasting trap, it does far more good than harm. I met ALL my blogging friends on twitter and it’s a great way to put yourself out there-both your personality and your posts. I don’t talk much about myself on my blog, so I love being able to share a bit of my life, and it is always nice when you tweet a positive review at an author and she responds. Twitter is actually the only social media I use (simply because I don’t have time to be addicted to another and I don’t want to let myself get obsessed) which probably contributes to my love of it. With the proper self-control, social media can be a marvelous thing and I do not picture myself quitting.

    • Agreed! I don’t think I’m susceptible to actually getting addicted to Twitter, even if many people my age are. But of course, I love how it works! I think I only really want to get myself involved in one social media network because Twitter on its own is enough to make me happy. I love being able to meet new people, and share a part of myself to others as well, the way I can’t seem to within the confines of my own blog. I never really try to tweet authors, but I guess it WOULD be rewarding if they responded! I do think that if used the right way, social media can be an effective tool both in marketing and in simply reaching out πŸ™‚

  10. Many of my social media sites are not actually for promoting my book blog. Like Tumblr and Pinterest – they’re mostly for my own personal use but if people have an account, then they can follow me. I think it’s a great way for people to get to know a blogger better if they have a personal account so I’m always really excited to see other bloggers having a personal account!

    I agree with you about Facebook. I don’t see how it can benefit me much and honestly, why go through all that trouble to update my feeds. I have too much to take care of already!

    • HAHA yeah! I think it’s important to get to know the blogger behind the blogs you love, and I actually relish the process of meeting and conversing with people that way πŸ™‚ I love how your social media sites are for personal reasons, because that just means you’re more friendly than professional and I like that! πŸ˜€ I’m just not sure I have the time to update Facebook, and it’s gonna be hard for me that way to keep my blogger identity separate from the real one 😦

  11. When I started my blog I knew that I needed social media to help gain readership. Therefore I use Tumblr, Twitter, Pinterest, and Goodreads. I am on Twitter the most though. It is so easy to post links to my posts and also connect with other readers. While I initially began using Twitter to publicize my blog, I now also use it to connect with some blogging buddies. I am still a little shy reaching out and tweeting others, but I am growing a little more confident every day.

    Although Twitter and other social media sites are great, I think the best way to “advertise” your blog is by leaving thoughtful comments on blogs you like to read. I love, love, love getting comments on my posts, so I automatically check out every blog from people who leave them.

    • Yes I understand! I think the time I usually gain traffic is right after a commenting spree on other blogs– it’s great to know that lots of bloggers take the time to comment back when you do πŸ˜€ I don’t think I can be as diligent as you when it comes to updating ALL of those sites, I think twitter alone is enough to gain me significant readership, as well as help me converse with other bloggers πŸ™‚ It’s fun actually– I’m starting to get why people are addicted!

  12. I don’t know why people would keep things “professional”. It’s so much more fun to actually interact with your readers and scare them off with how crazy you are lol. Seriously though, I love using Twitter to interact with other bloggers. And on all sorts of topics- not just books! I reckon Twitter’s the easiest way to make blogger friends. And by making friends, you’re probably going to bring more people to your blog! So it’s a win-win πŸ™‚

    • I dunno, maybe some people like to intimidate their readers or something. And it works! I’m not gonna name drop, but I know a few bloggers who do nothing but review ARCs, host blog tours, attend events, and basically promote– and they REALLY intimidate me! But that’s not for me. I’d rather keep being a normal reader who’s friendly with practically everyone I meet πŸ™‚ I agree that Twitter helps a whole lot with that! I’ve met a lot of awesome authors and bloggers through there too. Win-win, definitely πŸ˜‰

  13. Story of my previous blogging life! When I first started out I was hopelessly obsessed with (a) my follower count, (b) the number of page views daily, (c) what I had to do to get an ARC, (d) the number of comments I got on my posts. I paid absolutely no mind to any interactions with bloggers, excluding comments.

    Twitter! *fist pump* That website is amazing. I like it even better than Facebook, for the reasons you listed above. It’s so easy to interact on there, and you don’t need to worry about what others are going to think of you – unlike on FB, where a post gone unliked is an extremely shameful day. I’d choose the blue bird over the white “F” any day.

    Hmm, I hardly use feed readers. I tend to rely on my own blog roll to go visit other blogs, which I realize is pretty unsociable for me. I just find readers too darn troublesome to use, and so far none of the readers I know have satisfied me much.

    Everyone’s raving about Pinterest, when truth be told, I don’t see what the big fuss is. *sheepish* But yay for Instagram! Though I hardly use it, it’s a pretty convenient way to show off your book hauls and such. πŸ˜€

    So I definitely agree with your conclusion! I’ve gotten wiser these past few months and have learned the joys of socializing. Mostly how I advertise blog posts/blog content is through Twitter, then I’ll go on my daily round of blog commenting to sort of let some of my regular readers know that I’ve got something new up. And also, another thing that I REALLY love: commentluv. Seriously, blogs who have that feature enabled are awesome!

    Great discussion, Jasmine!

    • AWWW thanks!! I totally agree with you on how I was before I got the hang of things. I pretty much just cared about statistics, and since then I’m proud to say that I’ve learned to focus on the more important things at hand πŸ™‚ I love getting comments! I don’t get that many, but it makes me feel appreciated whenever I do πŸ˜€ And yes for the Twitter loving! I don’t use FB because it serves the same purpose, unless you’re into lengthy paragraphs that Twitter practically bans, but otherwise Twitter just feels so much more convenient and effective, plus it’s a one click process! πŸ™‚ I don’t do Pinterest, and I’m way too secretive for Instagram, even if it’s just the books. HAHA. I still really love feed readers though! The Blog Roll is pretty effective too though. And YES for commentluv!! Idk how to install that, but I heart all the blogs who have them on. It’s like they’re helping me out πŸ˜€ So yeah, thanks for stopping by Meggy!!

  14. My blog is on all social networks and I use them to link to my site. Instagram shows incoming books, pinterest has book covers linked to my reviews, facebook..i have a blog page and it brings a lot of traffic. When I look at my stats..social sites bring in over 40% of guests. Twitter/Facebook being the highest, followed by Pinterest and Tumblr. Great post!

  15. I share a lot of your likes and dislikes in terms of social media. I love twitter and use it by far the most actively, although I couldn’t get by without my feed reader! I used not to see the point of facebook, but I’ve started a blog page to which I automatically post my posts through wordpress publicize. I don’t do anything else with it though, so it’s basically just another way for people to follow if they like.

    • Ahh I see! And I’m glad you agree! I use Twiter the most, definitely, but my feed readers help me navigate through the blogosphere πŸ™‚ I still don’t think I’m up for Facebook though, because I don’t see myself having it in me to constantly update that D:

Write me a little something. I reply!

