Weekend Recap (Aug 26 – Sept 1)

weekendrecaps

This recap was requested by a few of my readers– I’ll be telling you what went down the past week, in and out of Flip That Page, and give you a sneak peek preview of sorts on what to expect for the week to come. Happy blogging! πŸ™‚

design

ON THE BLOG

I shared ten of my favorite secondary characters.

My brother and I held a debate on zeroes versus heroes.

I participated in Jamie’s Bookish Senior Superlatives.

design

IN MY WORLD

After a much deserved break, I greeted an old friend once more this week. School! As such, I had little to no time to add new posts to the blog, because many of my teachers required make-up exams and classes. Needless to say, this week was nothing short of hellish.

I injured myself for the first time. I fell down a short flight of stairs after practicing for a dance number with my crew, and because none of the lights were on, and I was too scared to grope around for the switch, I missed one of the steps and dislocated my ankle. Oh well. At least I’ve gotten better– however, I’m taking precautionary measures just to make sure I can make that number after all. Wouldn’t want to waste all that effort!

My mom allowedΒ  me to attend the Manila International Book Fair. Color me thrilled, you guys! I cannot wait to get to meet my fellow Filipinos, and co-bloggers. If any of you are coming and would like to meet me, I’ll be willing to give you my number, so we won’t have to hunt each other down. If you’re not into that, then just look for a petite girl with medium length hair and braces, toting a black shoulder bag, and walking around in heels. That’s probably me πŸ˜€

design

COMING SOON!

Day of Debate: Special Post: Juan Interviews Me!

Top Ten Tuesdays: Books I Wish Were Taught In Schools

Crossover From This Week:

Review of The Raven Boys (Maggie Stiefvater)

Review of The Woken Gods (Gwenda Bond)

Blogger Bites on Social Networking

Optional: Feature and Follow / News Post

design

ELSEWHERE IN THE BLOGOSPHERE

Amy tells us more about loving secondary characters.

Asti shares her book blogging manifesto.

Asti also tells us more about what went down at her going away party!

Charlotte talks reasons to be grateful for blogging.

Chiara discusses author interactions.

Christina tells us why she likes vampire Elena (The Vampire Diaries).

Christy tells us about the things she thinks she sucks at.

Eve talks annoying characteristics of some YA heroines.

Hazel shares a list of book characters who write lists.

Helen discusses e-readers versus physical books.

Kelley gives us five more reasons why some blogs sadden her.

Kelly asks us how we treat borrowed books from the library.

Kezia asks us if we find writing reviews difficult.

Liza talks living with a non-reader.

Nara talks about disliking a friend’s book recommendation.

Natali shares some book party drink ideas to astound guests.

Octavia talks about taking a blogging hiatus.

Sandra tells us why she rarely cries when it comes to books.

Shannelle talks about working with the Philippine post office.

designAnd that’s it for this week! If I missed anything else, please don’t hesitate to tell me πŸ™‚

P.S. Please pardon me as I tend to go missing in action without prior warning– school has been getting in the way, so it’s been a challenge to find myself time for the blog. But I’ll keep trying, no worries!

siggy

30 thoughts on “Weekend Recap (Aug 26 – Sept 1)

  1. I feel you. School does cut off my supply of time that I wish I could spend on my blog. Hope you feel better with your ankle now! I always have problems with my knees and since my school has 8 floors that can be little problematic.
    And daaamn, am I jealous about you going to that book fair! We had a book festival in Edi but it was no good.
    Thank you for the link! x

    • HAHA yeah! I guess when summertime comes around once again, I will be working uber hard on my blog! πŸ˜€ That’s still in March though 😦 And yeah, I feel so much better. pain is gone πŸ™‚ And 8 FLOORS?! Woaaaaaah your school must be massive! Aww really? maybe you should come over in time for the next book fair! It will be fun πŸ™‚ And no problem as well πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh my gosh, a dislocated ankle?! That sounds awful. 😦 Glad it’s getting better though!

    By the way, I love the new look around here! And thanks for linking to my post. πŸ™‚

    • Really? Then kudos for getting it better! XD Mine is too πŸ˜‰ And yes thank you!! I hope the book fairs over there get better. When I come to visit, I expect to have some bookish fun HAHA. Or maybe I can just attend signings and conventions and whatnot πŸ˜€

    • Aww thanks πŸ™‚ Yeah, it’s quite alright now πŸ˜€ And cool! It’s nice that you’re nursing– seems really fulfilling! And no worries, its great to know you help make people feel better πŸ˜€

  3. Hope you fully recover from that dislocated ankle soon, Jasmine! But you seriously risking your life (and your ankle yet again) by walking around MIBF in frakkin heels??? Seriously tho, I’m real excited to for the event!!!! DM me your number on twitter so I can text ya! Oh and thanks for linking my list- I appreciate that! I’m looking forward to your review on The Raven Boys because I really need to convince myself to read the book ASAP. πŸ™‚

    • Aww thanks! It feels better πŸ™‚ And HAHA, people keep asking me that, but honestly, I find it harder to walk in flats, since it’s more slippery. No worries, I’m used to heels πŸ™‚ And I am super excited too!! I’ll go DM you ASAP πŸ˜‰ And you’re welcome as well! I’ll make sure to keep that review interesting to give you some motivation :>

  4. I understand the school feeling. I went back this week too. Not fun.
    Your poor ankle! But I love your show must go on mentality!
    I hope you have fun at the international book fair!
    I am looking forward to your discussion post and review of The Raven Boys. I am getting ready for the sequel to come out soon.

    • Yeahp school sucks sometimes, doesn’t it D: And HAHA my ankle feels so much better now though! And yep, hope I have fun during the fair too ❀ Aww I hope that review is good too! Cannot wait to read The Dream Thieves either πŸ™‚

    • YAYAYAYAYAYAY. Such fuuun! Hmm. I’m not sure. Maybe early morning to late afternoon…? I’m not even sure what timeframe this is XD But anyway, we will meet πŸ™‚ I’ll just DM you my number too, if you want, or I can just stare at the pic you’re posting and memorize what you’re going to look like XD

  5. Okay, wow. Now my comments are being erased! *sadface* I shall try again.
    DISLOCATED ANKLE?! D: That’s horrible. But how is this the first time you have hurt yourself? Are you just ridiculously co-ordinated, or what? I mean, I’ve broken three bones, torn tendons, and had more bruises and scratches than any other human being in history. I’m just so clumsy. I need some of your co-ordinated ways!

    • AWWW but why 😦 Yep, it’s the first time. I’m not sure, but most of the wounds I get are from other people. I get pushed around a lot accidentally, because I’m really fragile πŸ˜€ I think the coordination comes with my dancing. It was actually really sad when I got injured, because I couldn’t dance for a while after. It’s much better now, though! Hmmm… when I visit, I’ll show you some exercises HAHAHAHA

      • I don’t know D:
        Why are you so happy about being fragile? Hahaha πŸ˜›
        You dance! What kind? πŸ˜€ I wish I was co-ordinated enough to dance 😦 I went to a few Irish dancing classes when I was kid, and she instructor said I was a natural *flicks hair* Too bad is was like an hour’s drive away D:
        I’m glad it’s better πŸ˜€
        BAHAH. That would be a sight πŸ˜›

      • I dunno, really. I’m not happy I’m fragile, it just something I find funny about myself πŸ˜€ I don’t dance traditional because I am waaaaay to stiff for that sort of stuff. I’d make a sucky ballerina XD I do hip hop though. That’s the only kind of dance I’m good at, and even that takes loads of practice. Ohhh I wanna see you do an Irish dance!! And yeahp, I’m glad it got better too. At least now I can walk to my classes πŸ™‚

      • You must be very small then, to be fragile! now I am imagining you as this teeny tine person, ahahah πŸ˜›
        I would have loved to be a ballerina! They are so delicate 😦
        Hip hop! I totally have to see this, Jasmine πŸ˜€
        I think I learned maybe two moves, and I was about 8 at the time haha. I am about as flexible as a pencil.
        Yay for walking!

      • Hmm… I am not THAT small actually! I am five feet tall, with a two inch bonus or so πŸ˜€ I’ll send you pictures of me with the letters so you’ll have an idea πŸ™‚ No worries, I ain’t vain, you won’t get annoyed by them HAHA. Well hopefully!! And yeah, maybe when we meet, I’ll show you πŸ˜€ And I think I might add in a flexible pencil with the letter too. They have that here! XD I hope you had fun during the lessons anyway :>

      • I have no sense of measurements outside of centimetres, so I still have no idea how small you really are πŸ˜›
        YAY for pictures! I want to see what you look like! In a totally non-creepy way, of course.
        I had a flexible pencil once! They are really hard to sharpen, haha.
        The lessons were fun, from what I remember of them. I just wish I had been able to continue D:

      • Oh. HAHAHA. Well that’s around 158 centimeters of height πŸ˜€ I’m a about 60 centimeters around the waist though XD Is that petite? :/ And YAY! I love pictures (even if I am a horrible photographer). And yeah the flexible pencils were a hassle. They twisted around as I sharpened them, so they never really got sharpened successfully D: And well, it’s never too late to learn something new! I actually wanna learn how the play the piano, and bake– HAHA sharing. Maybe you have a similar dream, or something XD

      • Ohhh. So I think you’re around the same height as me πŸ˜€ I am pretty short, too, haha πŸ˜›
        I have no idea what waist sizes are supposed to be, but that sounds pretty small!
        I can take okay-ish photos, I guess, haha. I just love taking pictures. I actually want a good camera so that the photos I do take aren’t just with a digital camera πŸ˜›
        YESSS. Damn those fun pencils.
        I want to learn the piano, as well! And the guitar. I even own two, but I haven’t learnt it yet. SHAME. I have tried my hand at baking a few times, and everything turns out crappy. But it’s still really fun though πŸ˜€ We can definitely have a bake day when you visit!

      • Ahh. I see πŸ˜€ I just don’t like walking around very tall people, because it makes me feel so insignificant! That’s why heels are my best friend πŸ˜€ I actually want a DSLR, but my parents will never get me something I don’t need. I can’t take photos that well :/ Ohh the guitar is so fun!! I only recently learned on my own, but I love singing to it, though it’s a challenge. I’ve baked before, and I ALWAYS seem to mess them up! They’re burnt, or brick-like, or taste like sand. It’s sad D: And yeah we shall. Or we could just, you know, go to Sophie’s Mom or Red Velvet (do they have those over there?) or something, and talk over some cupcakes and brownies. HA!

      • I don’t really mind if I’m near tall people, haha. But I do wear heels a lot, just because they’re pretty πŸ˜€
        I’m probably going to save up and buy a good camera, just because I want one. I’m not the best photographer, either, but I definitely like taking photos!
        :O I wish I had the will to force myself to learn, haha.
        Yeah, my baking adventures always turn out pretty shoddy. Lop-sided cakes are my specialty!
        We don’t have any cute bakery stores over here! the only bakeries we have are the boring ones that sell bready type things ;(

Write me a little something. I reply!

