Top Ten Tuesdays: Secondary Characters

toptentuesdays

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish πŸ™‚

I loved putting this list together. I don’t usually pine for the main characters so much as I do for the less vital, yet important characters nonetheless. In this light, I found it quite the challenge to pick just ten– I could have come up with so much more. And for reasons involving clarification (in lieu of the fact that my definition of secondary may not align with yours), my picks include those I don’t consider the main protagonists, only one of which exists in most of the titles I have read thus far. And though it was somewhat a painstaking process to put this list together, I hope you like it anyway! Have a great Tuesday everyone πŸ˜‰

design

ronanExcluding him feels like I’m committing something of a crime. Though he’s quite rash and aggressive, he’s so much than what meets the eye, and because he’s a person who fearlessly stands up for his beliefs, I wholeheartedly approve of his existence.

kenjiHe is probably the funniest, most entertaining and kick-ass character I have so far encountered. Not only does he make me laugh with his crazy antics, but he also gives great advice that, most unsettling, applies to Juliette inasmuch as it applies to the rest of us. His word his absolute. I love him.

finnick

He’s more than just a charmer. Finnick is a loyal and brave person, wise and strong-willed, without having to claim the precedence of age. He is, no questions asked, one of the most impressive and flawless characters I’ve read about thus far.

nicoI don’t quite understand it myself, but Nico to me is an extremely interesting character– I don’t think I’ve heard of anyone quite like him. He’s reserved, keeps to himself, and never seems to say more than is necessary, although he is a loyal and clever person who doesn’t break easily under pressure. There’s not much of him in the books, but if that changes I am not complaining.

magnus

He always seems to be at the right place at the right time. I may, on occasion, have trust issues with regards to his true agenda, but if I look past that, Magnus is easily likeable. He’s entertaining, cunning, and immortal, three characteristics that make an unstoppable combination. He is hands down my all time favorite warlock.

patrick

He’s more to me than just comic relief. Patrick may seem like an easygoing, happy-go-lucky kind of guy, but he’s gone through troubling times himself. Yet, he always seems to serve as the ray of sunshine when needed, and he never fails to make me smile and reevaluate my own pessimistic inclinations. He’s fragile at times, but that just makes him all the more believable.

snape

I always knew he wasn’t all that bad. I agree with Harry– he’s one of the bravest people I’ve ever known myself. He wasn’t given much of a shot at redemption, but I loved him nevertheless.

iko

She’s one of the sweetest characters I’ve ever met. There isn’t much else, but it’s enough for me to like her without reservation. There’s not much of that in YA these days.

darkling

He’s dangerous and overwhelmingly attractive, and I like that. Enough said.

caroline

Caroline is probably the character who’s evolved the most as a person throughout a particular series. I always did believe she was nothing more than a prissy attempt at real class, but she’s proved to be so much more than that. I love how she’s been willing to get her hands dirty to save the people who mean the most to her. Even if it’s risky, and possibly fatal, she stops at nothing to be of help, and Β makes sure she isn’t just dead weight, without unnecessarily sacrificing herself. Don’t mind me though, if you’ve read the books and disagree– I haven’t, so my answers are based off of the show (I’m cheating).

design

So what do you think? If you have any opinions or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to comment and tell me!

siggy

37 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Secondary Characters

  1. I LOVE SEVERUS SNAPE. I’ve been a fan of him from the first book and I was so happy when it turned out I was right about him ❀

    Hello Darkling πŸ˜€

    Iko + Finnick are great picks! Iko is cute and Finnick might be my favorite character from THG.

  2. Aw Ronan ❀ If you loved him in The Raven Boys, you'll love him even more in The Dream Thieves! He can be really sweet sometimes.

    Kenji!!!! And I agree that Magnus is easily likable. Patrick is amazing, too! And Iko and the Darkling ❀

    For me, Caroline is only likable in the TV show. In the books, she's a bitch and not very interesting….

  3. I was nodding with every character as I scrolled down. Flawless list today! Oh and thank you for putting into words what I can’t seem to express when I talk about my love for Finnick

  4. I LOVEEEEEE Ronan. Have you read The Dream Thieves yet?! That is one you will want to get your hands on ASAP!
    I absolutely love Finnick and Snape and I forgot Iko! Poor Iko. I see her everywhere else but not on my list. Le sigh.

    • No I haven’t read the Dream Thieves. I’m not sure when it’s out actually XD But when it does get released, I’ll be sure to check it out πŸ˜€ Aww Snape and Finnick! They’re amazing, and have gotten lots of love today. But Iko has too! She’s not that poor after all XD We represent her absence in your list, don’t worry. HAHA!

  5. I’m fangirling over so many of your picks. I also had Iko on my list, but Finnick, Snape, Patrick, and Nico I all loooove. I had to limit myself to one character per series (except in the case of the Lunar Chronicles; I couldn’t help but put two characters on my list this week). Sometimes I like the secondary characters better than the main characters haha.

    • Yeah me too! I really tried to limit myself to one character per series. Not sure if I repeated XD WOOHOO on the characters we have in common πŸ™‚ And yeah, that happens! It’s not just a sometimes for me though. I usually love a secondary character better than the main ones. I don’t understand it, but that’s how it is XD

  6. I am the same way about secondary characters, they can be so much more interesting instead of the MC’s, maybe because of the mystery of their existence ~ the auto just doesn’t tell us much about them. Thank you for following my blog on Twitter. I Love your blog and am following by email + Twitter.

    Sarah @ Kitties Like Books Too

    • Aww you’re very welcome πŸ˜€ And thanks as well! πŸ˜€ And yeah, I appreciate the existence of lots of secondary characters just because they’re not given as much exposure! Thanks for stopping by πŸ˜‰

  7. Kenji, Finnick and Magnus are really great choices! I love all three of them, yet, somehow, none of them made my list! How strange is that? I’m with you, though, I love secondary characters a lot. Did you know there’s a weekly meme called Sidekick Showcase? Each week, there’s a theme, and it’s really a lot of fun to explain why I chose the specific secondary character I did.

    Have a wonderful Sunday!

  8. So I’m catching up on my comment, for which I have been horribly remiss, but as you know I love Ronan Lynch sooooo much. I have to admit though Stiefvater’s big reveal in The Dream Thieves threw me for a loop. I still find him terribly attractive though. And Patrick in Perks is amazing. He’s been through so much but still manages to be hilarious. I love Sam’s character too.

Write me a little something. I reply!

