Week End Recap (August 19- 25)

weekendrecaps

This recap was requested by a few of my readers– I’ll be telling you what went down the past week, in and out of Flip That Page, and give you a sneak peek preview of sorts on what to expect for the week to come. Happy blogging! 🙂

design

ON THE BLOG

I shared ten of the things that have helped make blogging easier.

I discussed the reasons behind my love for discussion posts.

I asked the question: are we screwed if YA books were real?

I reviewed an ARC copy of Ingrid Jonach’s When The World Was Flat.

I reviewed Tahereh Mafi’s Unravel Me.

I participated in Jamie’s feature entitled My YA Life In Book Titles.

I accepted the Versatile Blogger Award!

design

IN MY WORLD

I took a break from school the entire week, due to the heavy rains that kept on flooding the streets. I know I should be grateful for the time given to catch up on sleep, but I seriously feel for all the families affected by the storm, so I’ve been donating some money to raise funds for their well-being. My parents don’t know, but I guess they won’t mind.

I watched the Mortal Instruments: City of Bones movie, and thought it was pretty acceptable. It wasn’t great, but it wasn’t as horrible as my brother thought it was. I guess knowing the premise beforehand makes all the difference. The accents were pronounced, so it was quite challenge to grasp what any of them were saying.

I wrote part of a letter to my Australian penpal. I’ve never had one before, so it’s really exciting. She’s a co-blogger, and an awesomazing one at that– I do believe you may have heard of her! Plus points go to the first person who can tell me her name 😉

I completed a live redesign of the blog, adding the new header (Picmonkey customized, thank you very much), as the final touch! I know I’m not the best of graphic artists (matter of fact, I ain’t one), so I hope that in some way, you approve of the new look.

design

COMING SOON!

Review: The Raven Boys (Maggie Stiefvater) and The Woken Gods (Gwenda Bond)

Blogger Bites: On Social Networking

Top Ten Tuesdays: Most Memorable Secondary Character

Special Post: Bookish Senior Superlatives

Crossover From This Week: Day of Debate on Zeroes vs Heroes

Optional: Feature and Follow / News Post

design

ELSEWHERE IN THE BLOGOSPHERE

Abria discusses blogger burnouts and shares some thoughts on them.

Amanda tells us more about the importance of book reviews.

Asti shares her reasons for not requesting ARCs.

Bec shares some reasons for breaking a book buying ban.

Cayce shares some likes and dislikes when it comes to Feedly and Bloglovin’.

Cece tells us about what she thinks makes a good character.

Charlotte asks what we consider spoilers and how we avoid them in reviews.

Charlotte and Paola try to debunk some myths about Asians.

Chiara discusses the Disappearing Parent Syndrome.

Christy discusses reviewing every book we read.

Genevieve discusses the broody couple and the fun friend in YA books.

Erin shares some thoughts on the book trailer craze.

Hazel has a moved to a self-hosted site!

Helen discusses jumping on the bandwagon.

Holly also tells us what she thinks of negative book reviews.

Kelly shares some of her weird bookish habits.

Laura tells us about scheduling and managing posts.

Lindsey asks us what type of book shelf person we are.

Liza talks about reading books that include a foreign language.

Melissa talks over-hyped and under-appreciated books in a little video.

Octavia asks us what features have added the “spice of life” to our blogs.

Reem shares her thoughts on the different types of villains.

Sandy discusses the desecration of her books.

Stormy asks us about book cravings and what we do about them.

design

And that’s it for this week! If I missed anything else, please don’t hesitate to tell me 🙂

siggy

40 thoughts on “Week End Recap (August 19- 25)

    • Thank you Sandy! TMI was good if you’re a fan of the series, but you’ll feel left out if not 😦 I love the look of your blog now, but customizing is fun! It took me quite a lot of time to change it too but it pays off 😀 And you’re very welcome 😉

  1. Wow! That blog design looks awesome! Sorry I haven’t visited in a while. Been in an awful blogging stump, but I’m back again to fangirl over the redesign, so now worries 😉

    Oh, and It’s so awful to hear about the storms. I heard about it on Twitter, and it’s apparently pretty bad. It’s really awesome that you’re helping though! Very thoughtful of you.

    And, of course, thanks for linking ❤

    • Thank you Reem! ❤ And it's alright, I've noticed you were gone, but as long as you weren't gone for good, all is well 😀 We missed you though! And yeah, it's been pretty rough. But I just can't seem to get past it without helping at least. I was fortunate enough not to have felt it in the slightest after all, being cooped up in my room. And you're very welcome! 😀

  2. Ah, it’s so kind of you to be donating money because of the storms. We had some horrible ones in January this year, and so many people were affected. It’s horrible 😦
    I haven’t been hearing great things about CoB, which makes me sad. I have high expectations for this movie, darn it! I am seeing it tonight, so I guess my opinion on it will be decided upon relatively soon!
    IT’S ME! Haha 😀 I can’t believe Lindsey guessed me so quickly, that’s crazy! I am so looking forward to this letter ^.^

    • AWW yeah it breaks my heart to hear of stuff like that 😦 At least a lot of people have been working together to quell the storms 🙂 And yeah, people disliked it, but that’s usually for those who haven’t read the books and have no idea about Shadowhunters. The movie kind of assumed that everyone read, so it explained things at superhuman speed, which was unhelpful. But I hope you enjoy! Tell me what you think once you’ve seen it 😉 And yeah, she guessed it so easily. HAHA! And yeah me too. I’m still halfway through it 😀

      • That’s good!I love ti when the nice side of humanity emerges from its deep, dark, dank cave.
        I SAW IT. I have a lot of thoughts about it, and I may even do a post about (but knowing me, it probably won’t happen – sigh). The explanations were really quick, and the second half of the movie was nothing like the book, which was disappointing D: But overall I thought it was a pretty good movie. I mean Jace was GORGEOUS.
        YAY! 😀

      • HAHA yeah. Can’t just ingore the pressing problems 🙂 WOOHOO! I thought they explained it way too fast, but I didn’t have as many issues with the second half because I never read the books XD Jace was never really attractive to me, but as the movie went on, he got cuter. I don’t get why that happens. HAHA!

      • Wow, so many typos in my previous comment. I feel so dodgy now -.-
        You’ve never read the books! :O Jasmine, you need to get onto that; pronto!
        I swear that does happen. When I found out that Jamie was playing Jace, I was so disappointed, but then he really grew on me – and now I thin he’s perfect, haha ^.^

      • HAHA that’s alright XD Sorry I’ve been AWOL for a time– school’s getting to me D: HAHA yeah I need to. And in time for Heavenly Fire as well 🙂 I think its the looks of him that doesn’t suit my fancy, but as an actor, he was good. He was actually funny 😀

      • That’s okay! I completely understand. I am going on a field trip this week, so I won’t be able to access the internet D:
        I think he’s so pretty *.* Haha 😛 And he was quite funny. I think he did a perfect job of Jace. He didn’t try too hard, but he wasn’t lazy, either (if that makes sense).

      • Okay then. I’ll miss youuuuu! But have fun anyways 😉 And yes he is pretty~ The scene in the garden of sorts was heartwarming 🙂 And yeahp, he’s quite a good actor. have to see more of his movies 😀

      • I missed talking to you, Jasmine! Our epic conversations are very miss-able. D:
        YES. And he’s holding the pretty flower. I liked that scene, haha :3
        I saw him in the Twilight movies, and thought he was terrible! Which I think is weird. How can an actor b terrible in one movie, and really good in the next? Beats me.

      • I missed you too! Yep, that scene was just so sweet, I could have melted! If not for the cheesy Demi Lovato song, it would have been perf. HAHA! I never really saw him in Twilight. I gave up after the first movie XD

      • I did enjoy it, even though as a whole the movie was kind of a let down D:
        They were. I remember watching the first three consecutively, and actually laughing my head off all during the second one. By the third, I was exhausted, and just groaning at the pain of watching so many hours of those films 😛

  3. It’s very sweet of you to donate money! Not many teenagers would think of doing something like that.

    I’m thinking of watching The Mortal Instruments next week (hopefully). I’m not going in with high expectations, so i should be safe, I guess. The trailers look good… I hope it will be worth it.

    And I love your new design! The colors are amazing!

    • Yeah, it’s a program at my school, and I just HAD to. We do donation drives like that all the time 🙂 Tell me what you think of the movie soon! 😀 It was worth it, and that’s speaking as someone who hasn’t read the books. I had an idea though, but if I watched it with no prior knowledge whatsoever, I would’ve been driven nuts by confusion. And thank you Eve! I went for a bright palette in my favorite colors, though I hope they don’t blind people XD

Write me a little something. I reply!

