ARC Review: When The World Was Flat

 when the worldTitle: When The World Was Flat (And We Were In Love)

 Author: Ingrid Jonach

 Release Date: September 3, 2013

 Publisher: Strange Chemistry (Thank you!)

 Description: 312 pages, Young Adult Fiction

synopsis

When sixteen-year-old Lillie Hart meets the gorgeous and mysterious Tom Windsor-Smith for the first time, it’s like fireworks — for her, anyway. Tom looks as if he would be more interested in watching paint dry; as if he is bored by her and by her small Nebraskan town in general.

But as Lillie begins to break down the walls of his seemingly impenetrable exterior, she starts to suspect that he holds the answers to her reoccurring nightmares and to the impossible memories which keep bubbling to the surface of her mind — memories of the two of them, together and in love.

When she at last learns the truth about their connection, Lillie discovers that Tom has been hiding an earth-shattering secret; a secret that is bigger — and much more terrifying and beautiful — than the both of them. She also discovers that once you finally understand that the world is round, there is no way to make it flat again.

An epic and deeply original sci-fi romance, taking inspiration from Albert Einstein’s theories and the world-bending wonder of true love itself.

mythoughtsA Parallel Universe

Truth be told, I wanted more than anything else to love this book with reservation. Dismally enough, such may only occur in a parallel universe. I know for a fact that I’m not into science fiction as much I should be, so in that light, I give the book credit for captivating me with it’s premise. Though the book featured a myriad of plot holes, loose threads, and unsettled qualms that worked only to fluster and throw me off balance, I didn’t find myself as despondent and upset with the outcome as I had previously been anticipating.  The book began quite languidly, though I was hardly bothered by this. I actually admired how Lillie gathered her thoughts, and thought that she was an unyielding and independent person whose lack of self esteem was a product of her upbringing instead of innate. However, the consistent slut-shaming was disturbing and vexatious, and while the plot did not come to sorry a compromise in terms of originality, the complicated science behind the story was explained, and nowhere near adequately so. Suffice it to say, the book did not meet any of my previous expectations, unless you count the fact that Tom Windsor-Smith only stopped short of being a god (which, as it is, served only to aggravate me further).

design

Science And Faith

Lillie Hart was a simple-minded girl who lived most her life in the shadows, not daring to dream outside of the dreary Nebraskan town that she called, but did not believe, to be her home. I, at first, was fascinated by her peculiar mindset and the living, breathing idiosyncrasy that was her mother. However, I completely shunned the way with which she usually described her so-called “best friends”, and as aforementioned, the slut-shaming in this book was endless. At some point, I began asking myself why I was even reading it in the first place. And though it pains me to say so, due to the circumstances that surrounded Lillie’s romantic encounters, I wasn’t able to truly feel any real connection between her and Tom, not even when everything was starting to (somehow) fall into place. Nevertheless, I’m not going to badger on about her innumerable pitfalls and weaknesses– on the flip side, I was able to appreciate how stable she was in the face of her nightmares, and how easy it was for her to forego her rash decisions and instead listen to the guidance provided by her friends and family. And though her instant attraction to Tom proved nothing, she at least decided not to give up too easily on him. Considering the alternatives, the ending was quite preferable.

design

The Theory Of You And Me

Tom was the epitome of perfection, supremacy and transcendence. He was drop-dead gorgeous, had a British accent, had everyone wrapped around his pinkie finger and  could probably buy out the entirety of Green Grove without breaking a sweat. Logically enough, he then proceeds to noticing (duh) a nobody like Lillie. As such, he didn’t feel authentic or human to me, and I found it hard to understand what his deal was. Though I can admit that many of his scenes with Lillie were heartwarming, I could have done with a smoother development as opposed to the change that took place within him, which seemed forced more than anything else. However, I am going to give his appearance credit, because he certainly provided an element of mystery to the book, making it a fast-paced read that I would have given up on had I not felt the urge to turn one page after another.

design

In A World Full Of Strangers

While I wasn’t too impressed with how the story handled the science behind it, I do commend the book for piecing together various formulas and theories from history and using them to create a pioneer world more riveting and incredible than our own. However, I do wish it focused a bit more on the science, instead of piling up countless queries only to rush into answering them seconds later. It may have been that I didn’t understand the why’s and how’s simply because my knowledge of Einstein’s work is severely inadequate, although I do believe that you don’t have to be a quantum physicist of sorts to be able to read this book and enjoy it. Needless to say, it didn’t work for me the way it should have. Though Sylv (slut-shaming victim) may have been my favorite character in this book, I do believe that with a  little less unnecessary drama, and a little more character and plot development, When The World Was Flat wouldn’t have to fall flat.

If you’re looking for an exciting, romantic read, and do not give two shits about my opinions (and even if you did, and are not ready to give up) I suggest you try this book out. Who knows, it may be more to your liking than mine 🙂

design

myrating

2 hearts

P.S. Please don’t mind the live redesigning of my blog. I don’t have time to go on a hiatus. I hope you like the changes though. I’ll try too coordinate previous posts with newer ones if I get to.

P.S. Because this book was an ARC copy that may yet be corrected and edited before publication, I will not include any direct quotes from the book.

siggy

17 thoughts on “ARC Review: When The World Was Flat

  1. I have an ARC of this book, too! I am really interested in reading it, because so far, I have only read quite mixed reviews.
    I love perfect book boyfriends, so I am really looking forward to reading about Tom 😀
    I am hoping that the science aspect won’t confuddle me, but I guess I won’t know until I read it.
    Will it make you cry if I say I miss the birdy background? I loved those cute little guys 😦

    • Oh, then I hope you like it better! I think I was just being nitpicky about the book when I read it 😄 Yeah, Tom was actually really attractive, but of course it’s the way he was described 😄 The science aspect isn’t confusing in that it’s complicated, there are no complex formulas and technical jargon and stuff like that. It’s just that the explanation was incomplete is all 🙂 But I’m sincerely hoping that’s just me missing the tiny, but important details 😀 HAHA no, it won’t make me cry. Though I actually miss my birds too 😦 I’m trying to look for that pattern on colourlovers, so that if I do, I can super-impose my color scheme and use it 🙂

      • I get nitpicky sometimes, too. Even if I liked it, the review comes out with all these criticisms, haha. It kind of makes me feel bad, and that I need to say: I LIKED THIS BOOK. 😛
        Ah, kay. I’ll try and make sense of the explanation, then!
        I hope you find a birdy pattern, then! Or you could make one 😀

      • Yeah, for some reason. I think I actually liked this one better before I had to review it 😄 Yeah, good luck, I really hope you like it 🙂 And yeah, I’ll just make one. I suck at that, though 😀

      • Reviews often bring up the things you didn’t even realise you felt about a book. it’s kind of weird, haha.
        I just opened that site, and I gave up after about five minutes. I am so technologically challenged, I’m surprised my blog isn’t the most hideous thing on the internet! 😛

      • HAHA yeah, I guess when you’re forced to read between the lines, it just comes to you naturally 😄 And really? I don’t think your blog is hideous at all! I love your background and your button and banners and header and theme and all 🙂

      • Yeah, you have to actually think about your feelings towards different aspects. I like finding out how I really felt by writing a review!
        Oh, no, I don’t think my blog is hideous, either! I love it, hehe. I’m just surprised it looks as good as it does, taking into account my lack of computer knowledge, haha. 😛
        I’m glad you like it, Jasmine ^.^

      • That’s why book reviews never feel like chores. It’s like they’re essays I enjoy writing 😄 HAHA yes, yours is so elegant and pretty 🙂 I don’t have computer knowledge either, but I guess we’re both hanging in there! 😀

      • They’re never a chore! But I sometimes have trouble writing them if I have really mixed feelings about a book :/
        Oh, yay! I’m glad someone thinks so 😀
        You must have computer skills, Jasmine! Otherwise how can you make all your pretty sidebar things D:

      • HAHA even if you do have trouble, I don’t think it’s ever something you avoid doing 🙂 I know a lot of bloggers who say they’ve grown tired of reviewing, and I hope that’s not me or you any time soon! HAHA, the sidebar comes with the basics 😀 Picmonkey + WordPress is an unstoppable combination!

      • Haha yeah me too! And I surely hope not! I love reviewing too much. Picmonkey.com is this cool site that you should check out if you want to make graphics without the html/css/photoshop pro-skills! 😀 As long as you have a photo to edit, you’re all set 🙂 I usually use a blank white photo I created from powerpoint. HAHA!

  2. Right now, I’m just thinking it’s so ridiculous, but I can’t stop reading because I have to find out what happens next. I hate the characterization and the interaction between the two, especially because it doesn’t really feel like hate at all.

    Anyway, I don’t mind your changing of the blog design! 😀

    • Oh, you’re reading it? I see 🙂 That’s basically what went through my head as well. It wasn’t going well, but I had to know what was happening 😄 I wasn’t sure what it was that was going on between them actually, but it definitely changed from negative to positive way too abruptly! And I’m glad you don’t mind 🙂

  3. I hadn’t heard of this one, but after reading your review I definitely think I’ll pass! Such a shame that the science wasn’t handled as well as you’d like. I don’t really care for romance, so really I’d want the science to be the main appeal and obviously that’s not the case here!

    • Yeah, they focused too much on the romance and the drama at the school 😦 I think they lost time in explaining because they dragged the story line too much at the beginning :O So yeah, I don’t mind if you want to pass 😄 Thanks for stopping by though 🙂

Write me a little something. I reply!

