Review: Unravel Me

 Unravel MeTitle: Unravel Me

 Author: Tahereh Mafi

 Release Date: February 5, 2013

 Publisher: HarperCollins

 Description: 461 pages, Young Adult Fiction

synopsis

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

mythoughts

Shatter And Destroy, Unravel And Ignite

Before reading Unravel Me, I held certain reservations for this series. I wasn’t sure if Juliette’s story had any more to offer, because she seemed to have ascertained her sanctuary, and found her place among equals who would greet her, not with hostility, but with pride and acceptance. And truth be told, I wasn’t feeling up to a little more sleazy and over-sentimental. However, I was soon to stand corrected– this book held hindrances and vicissitudes more formidable and exacting, throwing down the gauntlet like never before. The numerous twists and turns kept me on edge and in constant tumult, as many of the scenes that unfolded were riveting and sensational in their complexity. The action was satisfying, the romance was rapturous, and the writing kept its uniqueness by preserving the strikethroughs,  the s c a t t e r e d thoughts, and the repetitive repetitive repetitive reflections that allowed us to take a peek into Juliette’s elaborate mind. I found myself hankering for more as I turned the last page, still shocked by the conclusion and surprised at my response to this sequel. Fortunately enough, the second book syndrome didn’t whisper in my ear as I read this one.

design

Tattooed On Your Heart

Juliette became a stronger, more trenchant and decisive version of herself, one who never backed down in the face of peril and vulnerability. Though she acted on impulse, regretting her rash, destructive behavior immediately after, I found it hard to judge her because I understood what she had to face. Thus far, her demeanor was easily justifiable. Though she invariably changed her mind throughout the book, feeling helpless one second and strong-willed the next, I admired how she kept on making the right choices in the end, and was able to open to up to situations she never thought were remotely possible. Her chemistry with both Adam and Warner were electrifying, and though it could have been alarmingly disagreeable how she seemed to have played them both, I didn’t actually think she did, and instead believed that she was simply trying to align herself with her thoughts and figure out what truly made her happy.

design

Despair And Desparation

Adam and Warner were flip sides of a coin seemingly emblazoned in gold no matter what angle you tried to look at it. Adam, on the one hand, remained a gallant person, thoughtful of others, yet sanguine and snide– and I liked that about him. Despite what others believe, he didn’t seem boring and lifeless to me. On the contrary, he felt energetic and steadfast even in the midst of battle, and his love for Juliette was alive with a passion so overwhelming, it was clearly undeniable. Nevertheless, I did wish he would stop making Juliette feel guilty, and stop spurning a burning hatred for Warner (though I honestly couldn’t blame him). Warner meanwhile, remained his domineering, aggressive self, though I found myself slowly, but surely, developing a soft-spot for him, as he started feeling more human and less machine. I was genuinely excited for his alone time with Juliette, and my views on his character went all topsy-turvy somewhere in between, because oh hot damn. He was beautiful, in ways even Adam wasn’t. I wasn’t expecting to find him crawling into my heart, coaxing me into joining him on the dark side, and even without the cookies, I would’ve gone with him anyway. I sincerely believed that he was better match for Juliette, because inasmuch as Adam deserved her, I was convinced that it was Warner in need. Needless to say, my feels were thrown off balance, and by the end of it, utter confusion was at large. I can’t decide between them, and trust me when I say: I really want to.

 “I want to be the friend you fall hopelessly in love with. The one you take into your arms and into your bed and into the private world you keep trapped in your head. I want to be that kind of friend. The one who will memorize the things you say as well as the shape of your lips when you say them. I want to know every curve, every freckle, every shiver of your body. I want to know where to touch you, I want to know how to touch you. I want to know convince you to design a smile just for me. Yes, I do want to be your friend. I want to be your best friend in the entire world.” 

design

Promises Unbroken

Overall, this book was a fast-paced read filled with action and passion, one with nary a dull moment. Many of the characters developed well, and there was a certain sense of camaraderie and fellowship at Omega Point, and the threat the Reestablishment posed felt real and impending. Kenji remained his adorkable, humorous self, never failing to make me laugh at his crazy antics. The numerous plot twists in the book were unpredictable, but not outrageous, and the writing this time was exotic, not grotesque. Though Juliette’s seemingly split personality left me perplexed on more than one occasion, her impermanence and volatility never crossed the line into being hateful so as to rub me the wrong way.

As such, if you are looking for a gripping tale of heartbreak, of deceit, of following your heart or your mind and making the right choices, I urge you to pick up this book, because it will not disappoint.

“Yeah, bro.” Kenji puts his utensils down. “You are moody. It’s always ‘Shut up, Kenji.’ ‘Go to sleep, Kenji.’ ‘No one wants to see you naked, Kenji.’ When I know for a fact that there are thousands of people who would love to see me naked.”  

designmyrating

5 hearts

P.S. People keep asking: Team Adam or Team Warner? Let me just admit it. I have been ripped in two because of this triangle. I mean, Adam is completely deserving, but my views on Warner did a 360 after Destroy Me and Chapter 62. I mean, YOU GUYS. That chapter. I literally could not even. I was unable to even. I lost the ability to even. I just. UGH. I can’t even imagine what he’s going to feel like in case Juliette chooses Adam (I won’t blame her, but, but, BUT. OHGOD). I just.. I will go down with this ship. So Ignite Me, please? Like, right freakin’ NOW.

P.P.S. And yes, you’re not imagining it. My background HAS changed. I know you guys loved my colorful birds, but that was a premade pattern that didn’t coordinate with the color scheme, so I decided to make my own. And if you haven’t yet noticed, I am into constantly redesigning my blog. If you think it’s too tacky or distracting though, don’t hesitate to say so. I’d be glad to take it down 🙂

siggy

16 thoughts on “Review: Unravel Me

    • Team 62? WOW 😄 Hmmmm….. I don’t know! I don’t want to pick. This is seriously breaking my heart Even Tahereh’s mom is Team 62! HAHA! And I remember Tahereh saying Juliette’s picking somewhere at the beginning of Ignite Me, so I guess we’ll find out “sooner”. February 2014 is so far away! D: And still. What about Adam 😦 GOSH I need that book.

  1. I just skimmed your review because I don’t want to know much about the book before I read it. It looks good! I would have to read novella before this so I can give Warner a chance. I remembered being Team Adam? I’m just really reluctant to pick this book up :/

    • HAHA why are you reluctant? It was amazing, that much I can tell you 😉 Destroy Me was what actually started me on the whole Warner thing. Looking into his mind was definitely helpful 😀 And yeah, I was definitely Team Adam before. Now I’m just not so sure anymore 😄 Which is good I think, because whichever way it goes in Ignite Me, I think I’ll be happy enough 🙂

    • Aww thank you Lexxie! 🙂 And yes, I’ve read Destroy Me. It was really short, but it was enough to convince me that Warner had a heart. I am so ignited excited for the third book. HAHA!

  2. First – I LOVE your new background!!

    Second – ALL THE KENJI FEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELS. I’m Team Kenji. It’d done ;P Though I wish Adam would be with Juliette. I still can’t get over the scene in Shatter Me with Warner, Juliette and the child. I can’t warm up to someone like him, no matter how much “humanity” he shows. Yes, I felt sorry for him from time to time, but I liked him better when he was mean.

    Anyway. Kenji all the way ❤ I love the quote!!

    • YAY I’m glad you like it Eve! 😀 And yes. We shall found Team Kenji together, though I doubt it doesn’t exist. He is just SO freaking amazing! Every time he says ‘shit’ or ‘ass’ or anything crazy– practically everytime his mouth opens– I just fall in love with him all over again. And aww I’m opening up to Warner! 😄 I guess I STILL haven’t given up on Adam, and will not, but at least whatever happens in Ignite Me, I won’t be mad or anything 😀 I like the more human version of Warner. He’s sexier that way. HAHA! But anyway, each to her own right 😉 So yeah. We should just stick with Kenji. And YES that quote of him. Maybe I’m one of those thousands he’s talking about. 😄

    • HAHA yes I did! 😀 I’m hoping my love for this series won’t change in Ignite Me 🙂 I love myself a good finale! And yes– my love for Warner just grew exponentially. I guess Destroy Me helped lots with that 😀 And thank you Eve! I am stunned with the positive reactions 😄

  3. I really love how Warner’s character was developed in Unravel Me! (And of course, Destroy Me- which was flipping epic). I mean, he definitely seemed like a psycho in Shatter Me, but you can see that he’s more than just that in Unravel Me!
    And EEEE! KENJI IS FREAKING HILARIOUS! I love the comedic relief he provides.

    • HAHA yeah– I think Destroy Me really helped open my eyes up to the awesomeness of Warner. He has a heart, and that’s enough for me 😄 I agree that in Shatter Me he seemed not to care about what Juliette really felt, so I didn’t give him a chance. Unravel Me and Destroy Me were full of Warner revelations that helped me like him better 🙂 And YES. Kenji always seems to make me laugh. My parents now think I’m crazy because I laugh randomly at his statements 😄

Write me a little something. I reply!

