The Versatile Blogger Award (2x)

Versatile BloggerEarlier today, I received tweets from my awesomazing co-bloggers, Reem at I Read and Tell, and Shannelle at The Tracery of Ink, telling me that they had decided to give me the Versatile Blogger Award. I was completely thrilled by this, since these are the first blog awards I’ve ever received (or at least, the first I’ve come to know about, considering the fact that I’m such an ignoramus and may have been missing out on my own awesomeness HAHA). Β So thank you, Reem and Shannelle, from the bottom of my hypothalamus, I love you guys so freaking much! πŸ™‚

Now of course, there are rules to follow after having received such cool beans, so I’m going to be obedient and abide by them as follows:

design

15 Bloggers I’m Nominating

Now I’m not sure if I’m cheating by giving these out to 15 bloggers and not 15 blogs (and mayΒ technically have to come up with 30), but I honestly can’t seem to reach that latter number because many of the blogs on my Blog Roll have already been previously nominated. However, I’m a clueless potato with no real way of knowing if a blog is an Award Free Zone or not, so if I nominated you for the award, and you don’t want it, I’m sorry, and feel free to ignore this post πŸ˜€

1. Chiara (Books For A Delicate Eternity)

I don’t even know if she’s received this award before, but Chiara’s been the sweetest, most incredible blogger I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet thus far, so I really didn’t have it in me to care. It seemed wrong not to do this. Her blog is awesome too (check it out!)

2. Hazel (Stay Bookish)

In the short time that I’ve known her, I’ve found her completely adorable, and her blog nothing short of amazing (we have the same taste in fictional characters– her Swoon Worthy posts are overwhelmingly accurate).

3. Alena (Keep Booked)

She’s really nice, and her reviews are awesome, and you should check her out. I’m dying to meet her and Hazel at the MIBF, truth be told!

4. Eveline (Eveline’s Books)

She’s one of the newbie bloggers like myself that I’ve been really impressed by. I love her reviews and discussions, and am so glad to have found her blog πŸ˜€

5. Ariella (Secrets of Lost Words)

She’s so deep and talented for her age– sometimes it’s scary. Haha! I love how she steps out of the box to review shows and manga too! Her layout’s to die for, you guys.

6. Janita (Book, Interrupted)

I love how she always seems to have meaningful things to say. I adore her discussion posts, and her reviews never fail to impress me!

7. Erin (Pursuit Of Good Reads)

This is one of the newer blogs I was fortunate enough to stumble upon. I haven’t been lurking around her blog enough, but in the short time that I have been, I’ve found it entirely amazing.

8. Stormy (Book. Blog. Bake.)

Her reviews are so unique and in depth– somehow, it makes me jealous of her reviewing abilities. HAHA! Her discussion posts are meaningful too, and I find myself entertained every time I visit.

9. Kristin (Matched Manuscripts)

I love conversing with Kristin! She leaves the most thoughtful opinions on my blog, and actually listens to my recommendations, which is flattering and cool (she recommends reads too, so stop by her blog!)

10-11. Michelle and Nicole (The Twins Read)

I found this blog just recently, but I remember this being one of those blogs I scrolled almost endlessly through. And both of them are nice (equally so, to be safe).

12-13. Anjie and Veronica (The Talking Bookworm)

Their blog is simple, straightforward, and is some major coolbeans. I love their posts, and I love them!

14-15. Paola and Alix (A Novel Idea)

This blog has grown so much in the 5 years they’ve been around. They review a lot of amazing books in their amazing way, and they never fail to get me interested πŸ™‚

design

Facts About Me

I’m supposed to list down 7 of these, but since I’m in double trouble, I’ll list down 14 πŸ˜€

1. I used to have dreams of becoming a supermodel. I watched ANTM like my life depended on it when I was younger, completely idolizing many of the contestants. Now that I’m 16, I don’t think I’ll ever have the height or the confidence for something so daunting, but people keep telling me that I strut around like I’m on a perpetual catwalk, so sometimes I can’t help but reconsider (though it will likely never happen).

2. I’m a chemistry geek. This probably makes me seem uncool or smart-alecky, but I honest to goodness love Chemistry. I think science in general is hard, but somehow, there is satisfaction in solving lengthy problems Β and experimenting on chemicals. I’m taking up Chemistry, actually. And yes, I’m for real.

3. My brother and I look nothing alike. He’s tall, muscular, has perfect skin, and looks Filipino. I’m petite, have tan lines everywhere, and look more Japanese than anything. I used to think we weren’t really related, and the people who worked in malls kept offering us couple shirts because they thought so too. Embarrassing and cringe-worthy, but yes, it rings the truth.

4. I like playing sports. I’m not necessarily pro at any of them, but I especially like playing basketball, soccer, badminton, and table tennis, as long as it doesn’t involving swinging heavy stuff around with my arms (like baseball bats and volleyballs). I’m a terrible gymnast though. I’m inflexible as hell.

5. I am obsessed with a lot of boy bands.Β One Direction, Before You Exit, 5 Seconds of Summer, The Maine, The Cab, The Ready Set, The Summer Set, A Rocket To The Moon, Marianas Trench, Maroon 5, and anything conducive to exploding ovaries. I’m not a die-hard fan, but my iPod is chock full of their albums. I regret nothing.

6. I can’t do my own makeup. I know some girls can’t seem to leave the house without foundation or lipstick, but I’ve never really been into that sort of thing. A little perfume and neatly combed-hair usually works for me, although I would like to learn one day.

7. I’m quite vain, but just recently. I’ve been camera shy for most of my life, but I’ve been in constant exposure to DSLR’s and polaroids, so I’ve gotten used to posing automatically for the camera. It’s quite fun, actually (but don’t get me wrong, I still heartily disapprove of selfies).

8. I’m a horrible keeper of secrets. This is probably because I’m loud mouthed and an open book. I don’t keep many secrets, and tend to ramble on when I’m problematic, so it’s hard for me to keep the secrets of others to myself. If you want to share something private with me, know that you’re taking a potentially ginormous risk.

9. I am freakishly sensitive to the cold. I live in a tropical country, so it’s quite hard for me to adjust to lower temperatures. I don’t even sleep with the air conditioner anymore, because lately, it’s been unbearable. I probably have a thin dermis, or something.

10. I have a weak-spot for British accents. Actually, I have a weak-spot for gorgeous people with British accents. Β Jack and Finn Harries, Joseph Morgan, Tom Hiddleston, Nicholas Hoult, Andrew Garfield, Daniel Radcliffe, and the list goes on forever. Β I don’t know what it is, but it’s there and I can’t help it.

11. I used to watch a lot of anime. I don’t watch any more of them now (although my brother does, you’ll get along with him really well if you’re into that), because I had to make way for books and TV shows featuring real people. It was quite the abrupt change in preference, but it’s been convenient because I don’t have to read the subs. The English dubs were horrible.

12. I’m an extremely self conscious person. This is probably one of the most alarming things about me that needs fixing, because I have an uncanny concern for what others think of me. I always feel as if I’m constantly getting judged and backstabbed, though I never have any proof. I don’t think I’ve heard anyone say anything seriously insulting to my face, and likely I’m just being paranoid.

13. I trip more often in flats than in heels. I don’t get the Physics behind this. It’s weird but it happens– I tend to slip in my flats, and I keep balance better in heels because I’m conscious of the way I walk in them, so I guess that factors in. It’s hard though, since heels are generally more expensive, and the inclines keep getting higher. they’re preferable, but the tall ones just seem like they’re made for doing penitence.

Bookish Fact:

14. I never knew book blogs existed till late this summer.Β Okay, shameful fact number one. I didn’t know that people online were actually reviewing titles, doing memes, discussing and generally interacting with other people around a similar interest in books. Naturally, I embraced the book blogging world before I knew it. And then I realized I justΒ hadΒ to take part.

designAnd that’s it! Thanks again for the nomination, Reem and Shannelle ❀

siggy

 

33 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award (2x)

    • HAHAHA nope, that’s alright. At least you know you got them πŸ˜€ HAHA that’s what you think? But I think you are really! Aww well, each to her own thoughts, right? πŸ˜„

  1. You’re dying to meet this Hazel and this Alena and not me?! Okay, I must rectify this fact. What date are you going to MIBF?

    and I love your facts because I can identify. We don’t really have the same taste in boy bands, because I don’t like 1D and don’t know the rest except The Cab and Maroon 5. And it’s a good thing you’re good in chemistry, because not only the subject’s hard, but I don’t like the teacher, so I learn nothing.

    And man, do I not want to have a brother and have that happen to me! Couple shirts for siblings! Excuse me while I go laugh my head off and check out all those blogs because I haven’t heard of them before.

    • Haha WOAH. You’re going to MIBF too? Now I am capital D DYING to go! I’m not sure yet when I’m going, but we must arrange it so we go there on the same date πŸ˜„ It will be SO much fun Shannelle! ❀ Haha, I'm not a directioner, but I have to say their songs are catchy. The Cab and Maroon 5 are AWESOME! I find my chemistry teacher awesome. I could tutor you, maybe…? Unless you really don't like the subject πŸ˜„ HAHAHA yes. Couple shirts, really? Goodness know how many facepalms I've shared with those kinds of situations D: And sure, check them out πŸ™‚

  2. ASDFGHJKL. If I could have somehow taken a photo of myself when I read your nomination description, I would totally post it on here, and then you would have proof of how happy this made me. Seriously, Jasmine. Day = made ❀
    I loved your facts, and there are some eery similarities between us.
    I also desperately wanted to be on ANTM, until I realised that I am short, and not a size 0, so they would never let me on the show HAHA.
    My brother and I actually DO look alike, but one time someone asked us how long we had been together. Horrible. horrible moment D:
    I cannot do my own make-up, either, and thus, never wear it. Seriously. if I'm going out, the best I can do is some mascara, haha.
    ANIME SOUL MATES.
    I am also freakishly unresisting to cold temperatures. I mean, give us a break, we live in tropical/temperate countries. The coldest we get is like 16 degrees, haha πŸ˜›
    Flats are SO slippery, it's not even funny. I walk much better in heels. Sneakers, not so much -.-
    Anyway, before this becomes an essay…
    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR MAKING MY DAY. You are my blogging bff forever and ever. We are actually going to have an amazing hang out session one day (and pig out on sushi), I just know it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • AWWWW glad to hear that ❀ ❀ ❀ I'm too short as well for ANTM! Five foot three will never cut it πŸ˜„ Well, I actually want a brother who looks more like me,but I guess even with that, you can't help the misconceptions. Horrible right? D: I can't even do Mascara! HAHA. I can probably only do foundation, or concealer, or lipstick, cause you just swipe that onto your skin, but it looks so messy 😦 HAHA really? 16 sounds cold, though I've been to colder places. It is unbearable! D: And YES I thought I was the only who could walk better in heels. It's weird but its true πŸ˜€ HAHA YAAAAAY blogging BFF! I always wanted one! Yes were are going to hang out one day, and eat sushi, and walk around Australia and just talk and have a sleepover and have movie marathons and stay up till 3AM and amazing stuff. YES WE WILL.

      • I actually have no idea how short I am, but I am pretty darn short. So I would never make it *sobs dramatically*
        Apparently any two members of the opposite sex walking together are likely couples, haha -.- And yes, super horrible D:
        You cant do mascara! I shall have to teach you when you come over πŸ˜€ I don’t really touch foundation, because I am so pale, every colour gives me a tan hahaha.
        I really want to go somewhere where it snows. Then I would know what real cold feels like πŸ˜›
        Now you have one πŸ˜€ The best one, if you ask me, haha.
        Movie marathoooooooooooons. I love movie marathons. I am actually ridiculously excited about this trip of yours. And it will DEFINITELY happen, otherwise we’ll just be missing out on super epic fun times!

      • HAHAHA aww we even share the same dreams. That’s so cute πŸ˜„ And YES it’s weird. Even if their obviously related, people still assume. Blegh! I mean, I don’t think my bro’s ugly or anything– but eww, he’s not my type D: so it’s weird. YAY I’ll learn someday πŸ˜‰ It doesn’t snow here… but come for a visit? πŸ˜€ Maybe America. I want to go to America 😦 HAHA yes it will happen. I’ll have many opportunities to travel when I’m in college, so I’ll see you soon πŸ™‚ In the mean time, we keep in touch through here πŸ˜€

      • Were definitely connected on a deeper level, since we both wanted to be on ANTM πŸ˜›
        Haha, I know what you mean about the brother thing. NO WAY.
        I shall definitely come for a visit! I want to chill and read in the temples πŸ˜€
        I definitely want to go to America someday, and there are so many reasons for that. Going to Disneyland is definitely up there.
        YAY! Hurry up and graduate, haha πŸ˜€

      • Haha it’s like we were meant to meet online at some point. I don’t even remember which one of us found the other first. It seems as if I’ve known you since day one, really! And YAY it will be so much fun. If I get to my college of choice, it will take me 3 and a half years to graduate. It’s an accelerated course, so I am now officially excited πŸ™‚ OH I love Disneyland! Only been to the HongKong one, which was small, but the America version is to die for. I love roller coasters πŸ˜€ Nothing beats the peace and quiet of a temple though! I’m just not sure if they allow us to stay there for long. I know of a lot of serene, beach side coves though, if you’re into tropical stuff like that πŸ˜„

      • I know, right. Destined to be book blogging besties, haha.
        I don’t remember, either D: I can’t even remember how I found your blog, but I cannot remember how I found most peoples blogs to be honest.
        I hope you get into your #1 college πŸ˜€ And if not, it’s not the end of the world. Trust me, I know these things (Y)
        I am so jealous of you right now D: Even a small Disneyland is better than no Disneyland πŸ˜₯
        Well we have three theme-parks near my house, so we can go on ALL the roller coasters πŸ˜€
        Ohmygosh, keen for beach side coves. They sound awesome, and also serene. ^.^

      • Yeah I know! I can only remember finding the blogs I discovered the very first, like Asti’s and Eve’s. The rest, I dunno D: I just remember the first time I found yours, because the header caught my attention. I just don’t know how I found it πŸ˜„ And yeah, decided to stay positive about college. I trust you πŸ˜€ Hmmm… I’ll just drag you along the next time I go to Disneyland, be it the small or the humongous πŸ˜„ It’s a long way of but it’s a serious thought. Sounds like fun, you know! And COOL I’d love to go to those theme parks! Your house’s location sounds convenient πŸ˜€ And yeah, the best part about the beaches are the sceneries and the quiet. The sunsets are gorgeous too!

      • I did some weird things when I was trying to find blogs. I’d look for good commenters, and look through bogrolls. I remembered how I found your blog last night! I found it through Asti’s blogroll πŸ˜€ I liked your title, and you were on WordPress, and your content was fab, so I had to follow ;D
        Now we have to have an American Disnleyland holiday, you realise this!
        It is ridiculously convenient! I have everything in an half an hour radius (I don’t think that makes sense, but you know what I mean – everything is within half an hour of my house haha).
        Beaches are just super pretty at any time. Night time beaches are so serene.

      • Oh COOL! We have the same methods of finding blogs! I usually look through comments too, cause that’s usually where all the active people are– the ones you can talk to, I mean πŸ™‚ And I see! I think you found my blog first, since I remember clicking on your gravatar (the pretty pic!) and then clicking on the link to your blog through my comments page on WordPress, then I saw your beautiful header and your interesting posts then I just kept coming back for more πŸ˜€ And then somewhere along the road we’d have long conversations on here and on Twitter, which makes me happy. Heehee~ YES I realize this! It will be so much fuuuuuun πŸ™‚ And yeah, half hour radius makes sense πŸ™‚ I like beaches at night better, because it’s cold and not really hot, and I get burned too easily πŸ˜„

      • I like finding awesome and interactive bloggers, because it makes this whole shenanigan a lot more fun πŸ˜€
        So you do remember, woohoo! I remember falling in love with your blog when you posted the love triangle day of debate. I was like: this girl is awesome, and super smart, and blogging famous, and just epic.
        Long conversations make me super happy, too πŸ˜€
        I burn like a piece of paper over a fire. Seriously. I once got burned when it was RAINING. Raining, Jasmine, raining.

  3. Congrats Jasmine πŸ˜€

    Honestly I’ve never been a make-up girl either. I know I should be more conscious about my skin and all but I just can’t be bothered, it takes so much effort and well usually when I go out I go to school so why would you wear make-up to school? Lol.

    • Thank you so much Charlotte πŸ˜€ I think you got an award too πŸ˜„ So congrats! (even if you didn’t I’d still congratulate you for being awesome). And yeah, I can’t be bothered with putting on make up too. It just gets smudged and dirtied when I go out anyway so you’re right– pointless πŸ˜„

  4. Thanks for nominating me! I don’t consider myself an awards-free blog, but I think it’s kind of happened JUST because I’m lazy about posting them, haha. But THANK you so much! I often feel like writing reviews is my writing weakness(strangely, since you know, I’ve decided to write a book blog).
    I am TERRIBLE at doing my own make-up. I have the very, very, minimalist basic downs(as in, I can apply foundation & powder without making myself look 5 shades lighter or darker than I really am), and. . . that’s about it. I can’t wear mascara because I have really sensitive eyes/skin, and lipstick & other make-up tends to scare me. I really like some sports too, even though I’m not that great. Softball/base ball bores me to tears, but I love tennis & basketball. But mostly I’m glad you found the book blogging community and got involved!

    • You’re very welcome Stormy! πŸ™‚ And that’s okay, as long as you know πŸ˜€ HAHA really? But I love your reviews. With the stoplight thing too, which is cute! And it’s (somehow) cool that I’m not the only who can’t do make-up. Maybe I’m too young to, but I do want to learn! I can’t wear mascara either D: Maybe the ones you smear on are the only ones I can do. I don’t like anyt sports with bats. It’s so boring just waiting for the ball to come to you! Nothing beats golf though πŸ˜„ I don’t play tennis, but I want to! Basketball is an amazing sport πŸ™‚ And yeah, I’m happy I found the book blogging community! Thank you, Goodreads πŸ˜„

  5. I’ve never been great with makeup either. I’ve only JUST learned how to apply mascara and concealer.

    I’m not great with keeping secrets either. If someone tells me something, I’m not going to blab it to the whole world but maybe to one or two friends that I know will keep the secret for me but who I can still talk to about it. Really, I’m a huge gossip. But not in a mean way like how gossipers are depicted in the movies. I just like speculating who’s dating who and who likes who and why she wore what she did, blah blah blah.

    And tan lines, my enemy. I am envious of (a) people who don’t tan and (b) people who tan but don’t get tan lines. Not fair!

    ANDREW GARFIELD! My loveeeeeeee. I’m totally with you on boys with british accents. So cool!

    And congratulations on winning the VBA! I haven’t been a reader of your blog for long but I can see how much you love blogging. You totally deserve it, Jasmine! πŸ™‚

    • I think I only know concealer and lipstick, some foundation– but nothing that involves adding color to my skin. It will make me look like a clown! D: HAHA I’m not mean either– I just trust people too much to tell them the secrets of others even without permission πŸ˜„ HAHA YES ME TOO! I am so bothered by my tan lines. They’re hard to hide 😦 And Andrew Garfield is so good looking. Can’t even wait for The Amazing Spiderman 2! And thank you Annie, I do love blogging very, very much πŸ˜€

  6. Thank you so so much again!!!! I now have bragging rights in being adorable. πŸ˜‰

    Kidding aside, I’m glad to know all these facts about you! That has got to be real awkward, people offering you and your brother couple shirts. I’m actually laughing right now because I could see it all in my head and it sounds real comical. We’re on the same page about the make up thing- I don’t really bother because I can’t even apply eyeliner without almost poking my eye. But really, I don’t understand how you love Chemistry. It has got to be my least favorite subject, after Math. :-/

    PS: I’m dying to meet you too! I’ll attend MIBF at 11th and 15th. πŸ™‚

    • HAHA you’re welcome Hazel! You had bragging rights from the very beginning πŸ˜„ HAHAHA yeah it was funny. We laughed our heads off after. It was so weeeeeird! HAHAHA I happen to find it quite easy– so much easier than Physics or Math D: I think the SciCal is my best friend πŸ˜‰ YAY okay I shall save the dates!

Write me a little something. I reply!

