Weekly Recap (August 12 – 18)

Blog Weekly Recap

This recap was requested by a few of my readers– I’ll be telling you what went down the past week, in and out of Flip That Page, and give you a sneak peek preview of sorts on what to expect for the week to come. Happy blogging! πŸ™‚

design

ON THE BLOG

I shared ten of my favorite books with futuristic settings.

I discussed the real importance of a blog’s numbers and statistics.

I reviewed an ARC copy of Elyssa Patrick’s Stay With Me.

My brother and I held a debate on tragic endings.

I participated in Jamie’s A To Z Bookish Survey.

design

IN MY WORLD

I had a pretty lax week at school. The exam week just ended, so we simply discussed answers to the periodic exams and brushed up on previous topics. Needless to say, I was able to catch up on some much needed sleep.

I received my first ever failing card grade. To be fair, I knew it was coming, although I do have to start exerting more effort so as not to fail a second time. It’s my last year in high school, and I’m trying to keep a clean slate.

I got approved for 9 ARCs, which I am completely thrilled about. However, I got declined for a whole bunch of others, mostly because the publisher had an issue with the fact that I live in the Philippines. Thankfully enough, this didn’t entirely crush my ego (It’s not my fault I’m Asian).

design

COMING SOON!

Review: When The World Was Flat (And We Were In Love) by Ingrid Jonach

Day of Debate: Zeroes vs Heroes

Blogger Bites: A Discussion Post on Discussion Posts

Top Ten Tuesdays: Things That Make Blogging Easier

Special Post: My YA Life In Book Titles

Crossover From This Week: Review of Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Optional: Feature and Follow

design

ELSEWHERE IN THE BLOGOSPHERE

Amy put up her fantasy football team with books.

AstiΒ shares her thoughts on readers who secretly want to be writers.

BecΒ shares some tips for surviving a book buying ban.

Cece shares some bookish trends.

Charlotte shares the non-existent perks of being an international blogger.

ChiaraΒ talks about the rating system.

Eve discusses arrogance in YA and how differently it’s seen for a girl and boy.

Erin shared the ultimate reading list from Teach.com.

Erin talks about the art of DNF-ing.

Gilliane tells us why brutal endings to series are the best.

Helen tells us why book blogging is not easy.

Kelley shares 5 reasons why some blogs make her sad.

Kelly asks us about bad book habits that ruin enjoyment of a book.

Kimberly asks us why we can’t play nice.

Janita discusses movie adaptation failures.

Jazmen shares her thoughts on what makes a book bad.

Lauren shares some of her bookish secrets.

Lauren asks us how we review.

Mel discusses the hard life of a reader (part 2!)

Melissa tells us about books that should or should not have sequels.

Nikki tells us to PEE all over our book reviews.

Octavia rants on the lack of common sense.

Reem discusses swearing in young adult books.

Reem also talks about the lack of diversity in books.

ShanelleΒ shares her thoughts on having to say bye-bye to physical books.

Stormy tells us how book blogging helped her gain confidence.

Stormy also tells us why she rocks at Pinterest and should be followed.

designAnd that’s it for this week! If I missed anything else, please don’t hesitate to tell me πŸ™‚

siggy

24 thoughts on “Weekly Recap (August 12 – 18)

    • Yeah, it’s my very first πŸ˜„ It doesn’t surprise me, but I do want to turn that around. Thank goodness my average is still pretty high! Otherwise I’d be devastated D: And thanks Asti πŸ™‚

  1. Boo for the failing grade, but YAY for all the ARC approvals! I hope those two aren’t related in some way, lol. Thanks for linking to my post, by the way! πŸ™‚

    • Oh, HAHA no. I haven’t read any of those, so I didn’t give them a chance to distract me from school. I got approved after the exams, which felt so rewarding after getting my brain deep-fried πŸ˜„ I’m just a sucky mathematician, is all πŸ˜€ And you’re welcome Kelley! πŸ™‚

  2. I will be looking forward to that review of your for When The World Was Flat. I got approved for that, and if I ever want to get rid of it from my ARC August pile, I’ll need motivation. Supply it to me!

  3. Great post Jasmine! And whoa, 9 ARCs? I never ask for ARCs because I don’t think I can take the rejection. Plus, I got enough books in my TBR pile already! I think I’m doing the My YA Life through Book Titles too πŸ™‚ It would definitely be hard but entertaining..

    • HAHA yeah I never knew some publishers could be so generous πŸ˜„ The rejection is definitely a blow to your ego, but it’s inevitable. At least it’s not due to my stats πŸ˜„ I’m still a YA, so it would be a challenge to do that post, but I am totally looking forward to yours! πŸ™‚

      • I think I’ll be doing mine with a friend πŸ™‚ We’re both agreeing that it would probably be an epic fail. She told me, “Watch the peeps be confused because our post will be so messed up.” I’ll look forward to your post! And for us, it’s more like, My Current Life through Book Titles.. Just need to find a book named Nonexistent for my love life lol..

Write me a little something. I reply!

