Top Ten Tuesdays: Futuristic Novels

TTT

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish 🙂

I’ll admit that I’m not much of a futuristic reader– however, this was the setting that seemed to me the least humdrum or run-off-the mill. I read a lot of dystopias, though only a few of them were staggering. For reasons parallel, I decided to put up a list of seven of my favorite futuristic (dystopian) novels, and hope that you find them to your liking! I added three of the books I am at this moment exceedingly anticipating, just to complete the ten. I’ll add a synopsis and a link to Goodreads, in case you’re interested in adding any of these to your own shelves. Happy reading, and have a great Tuesday everyone 😉

Design A

BOOKS I’VE READ

1. Divergent (Veronica Roth)

Divergent

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

2. The Scorch Trials (James Dashner)

Scorch Trials

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. No more puzzles. No more variables. And no more running. Thomas was sure that escape meant he and the Gladers would get their lives back. But no one really knew what sort of life they were going back to.

In the Maze, life was easy. They had food, and shelter, and safety . . . until Teresa triggered the end. In the world outside the Maze, however, the end was triggered long ago.

Burned by sun flares and baked by a new, brutal climate, the earth is a wasteland. Government has disintegrated—and with it, order—and now Cranks, people covered in festering wounds and driven to murderous insanity by the infectious disease known as the Flare, roam the crumbling cities hunting for their next victim . . . and meal.

The Gladers are far from finished with running. Instead of freedom, they find themselves faced with another trial. They must cross the Scorch, the most burned-out section of the world, and arrive at a safe haven in two weeks. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Thomas can only wonder—does he hold the secret of freedom somewhere in his mind? Or will he forever be at the mercy of WICKED?

 

3. The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins)

Hunger Games

Katniss, 16, takes her sister’s place in the televised annual Hunger Games, competing against Peeta, the boy who gave them bread to survive after their father died. The cruel Capitol forces each of 12 districts to submit a boy and girl 12-18, to fight to the death. Only one can survive and be rewarded. President Snow manipulates behind the scenes.

4. Monsters Of Men (Patrick Ness)

Monsters of Men

“War,” says the Mayor. “At last.” Three armies march on New Prentisstown, each one intent on destroying the others. Todd and Viola are caught in the middle, with no chance of escape. As the battles commence, how can they hope to stop the fighting? How can there ever be peace when they’re so hopelessly outnumbered? And if war makes monsters of men, what terrible choices await? But then a third voice breaks into the battle, one bent on revenge.

5. Pretties (Scott Westerfeld)

Pretties

Tally has finally become pretty. Now her looks are beyond perfect, her clothes are awesome, her boyfriend is totally hot, and she’s completely popular. It’s everything she’s ever wanted.

But beneath all the fun — the nonstop parties, the high-tech luxury, the total freedom — is a nagging sense that something’s wrong. Something important. Then a message from Tally’s ugly past arrives. Reading it, Tally remembers what’s wrong with pretty life, and the fun stops cold.

Now she has to choose between fighting to forget what she knows and fighting for her life — because the authorities don’t intend to let anyone with this information survive.

6. A Million Suns (Beth Revis)

A Million Suns

It’s been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. Everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceshipGodspeed.

But there may be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He’s finally free to act on his vision—no more Phydus, no more lies.

But when Elder learns shocking news about the ship, he and Amy race to discover the truth behind life on Godspeed. They must work together to unlock a mystery that was set in motion hundreds of years earlier. Their success—or failure—will determine the fate of the 2,298 passengers aboard Godspeed. But with each step, the journey becomes more perilous, the ship more chaotic, and the love between them more impossible to fight.

Beth Revis catapulted readers into the far reaches of space with her New York Times bestselling debut, Across the Universe. In A Million Suns, Beth deepens the mystery with action, suspense, romance, and deep philosophical questions. And this time it all builds to one mind-bending conclusion: They have to get off this ship.

7. Shatter Me (Tahereh Mafi)

Shatter Me

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Design ABOOKS I WISH TO READ

8. Angelfall (Susan Ee)


Angelfall

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

9. Under The Never Sky (Veronica Rossi)

Never Sky

Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she’s never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.

Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He’s searching for someone too. He’s also wild – a savage – but might be her best hope at staying alive.

If they can survive, they are each other’s best hope for finding answers.

10. Prodigy (Marie Lu)

Prodigy

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

Design A

So what do you think? If you have any opinions or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to comment and tell me!

siggy

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Futuristic Novels

  1. I did the same setting for Top Ten Tuesday, but I completely forgot about Patrick Ness’ works! I should have included The Knife of Never Letting Go. LOVED that book. Divergent & The Hunger Games definitely made my list as well.

    • Oh cool, I have to check your list out 😄 But yeah, I love Patrick Ness’s works! Divergent was definitely a favorite this year. CANNOT wait for Allegiant (and also the Catching Fire movie)!

  2. I’m really seeing books by James Dashner and Patrick Ness everywhere so I think I need to pick them up soon. I’ve heard some amazing things about Angelfall and because I haven’t yet been mindblown by an angel book, I had been promised that this will change my viewpoint. And I also have yet to read Under the Never Sky, I thought everyone has read it already!

    Also, Catching Fire, come sooner! Divergent, too! Eep =D

    • Yep they are! Hmm… I loved Legend, and its sad to hear Prodigy disappointed you D: but we’ll see! And yeah, All Our Yesterdays wasn’t in this list but I SO want to read it. Under The Never Sky too! Shatter Me and Of Monsters And Men were really good. Definitely recommending them 😉

  3. GREAT choices! I love so many of those and I really need to read some Beth Revis and Marie Lu ASAP!
    Under the Never Sky was soooo good and its sequel is even better! I’d highly recommend that one 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT too!!

  4. Of course I love The Hunger Games and I liked Divergent too. Under the Never Sky… This puts me in a minority but I was not at all a fan. I ended up DNFing it. Very strange plot pacing and I did not like either of the main characters.

    • HAHA yeah I can see that 😀 Hmm… I dunno, this is the first time I’ve heard negative feedback on Under The Never Sky, but I won’t be able to pass judgment till I try it out myself 😀

  5. Everyone did dystopians and boarding schools today, haha. Out of all of these, I’ve only read The Hunger Games, but I do want to one day read Monsters of Men (and The Knife of Never Letting Go), the Uglies series, and Prodigy. Great list 🙂

  6. I love this list! Chaos Walking is my favorite series ever, so glad to see Monsters of Men on here. Divergent, The Hunger Games, and Uglies are series I’ve enjoyed as well. And the ones I haven’t read? They’re pretty much all on my wishlist. Great minds think alike 😉

    • HAHA it is? Cool! I absolutely loved Chaos Walking! I’m really hoping for a new Patrick Ness series now :)) HAHA yeah great minds do think alike! Thank you for dropping by Asti 😀

  7. OF COURSE Divergent is first 😉 I read Angelfall and I thought it was over hyped. You can read my review on it if you like.. And Prodigy wasn’t as good as Legend in my opinion, but a lot of people would say otherwise.

    • HAHA yes of course it would be 😉 Oh I’d like to read that review! tThanks for mentioning it 😀 Legend was pretty phenomenal– I’m actually not quite sure how Marie Lu’s topping it. But we’ll see! 🙂

  8. Definitely agree with you on Shatter Me. As for Prodigy, I still have to read that one. I’ve read Legend, but thought it was just plain okay. Hopefully Prodigy will manage to impress me!
    Awesome list & thanks for stopping by my TTT! (:

Write me a little something. I reply!

