Weekly Recap (July 29 – August 4)

Blog Weekly Recap

This recap was requested by a few of my readers– I’ll be telling you what went down the past week, in and out of Flip That Page, and give you a sneak peek preview of sorts on what to expect for the week to come. Happy blogging! πŸ™‚

Design A

ON THE BLOG

I shared ten of my favorite endings to Young Adult books.

I reviewed Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave.

I debated with my brother on series and stand-alones.

Design A

IN MY WORLD

I took the UPCAT (University of the Philippines College Admission Test). It was doable, but made me think. Which scares me. So wish me luck!

I discovered the little piece of heaven on earth that is a Quick Melt Cheese Sandwich. I now have a newfound appreciation for our oven toaster.

I took two hellish long tests consecutively– on one Physics, the other on Calculus. My brain had to reboot.

I failed the Calculus Long Test on Limits, and am genuinely scared for my future. Yes, my limit exists. Math professor, you deal with it.

I spend an hour dissecting the thoughts of my high school crush (who may or may not like me back). He seems to act all jittery around me, and his friends are giving me the smug “this one here? he likes you” looks. but he’s a boy so I can only hope to, but never will understand him.

Design A

COMING SOON!

Review: Shatter Me (Tehereh Mafi)

Day of Debate: Sympathetic Villains

Blogger Bites: The Origins of Flip That Page

Top Ten Tuesdays: Books I Wish Had Sequels

Optional: Feature and Follow Post

Design A

ELSEWHERE IN THE BLOGOSPHERE

Alena tells us how it felt to meet Kiera Cass.

Amy Β discusses names in fiction and in real life.

Asti discusses the second book syndrome.

Asti also introduces (some of) us to her friend, Eve, Paper Sanctuary blogger.

Chiara discusses series and stand alones, too!

Eve discusses zombies as potential love interests in YA.

Eve also rants about people who interrupt her reading.

Hazel also tells us about the awesome time she had meeting Kiera Cass.

Kelly talks about that awkward moment when… she meets an author!

Krystianna discusses the upcoming Divergent movie.

Leigh tells us what she doesn’t like in reviews.

OctaviaΒ asks us when there is too much social media.

Reem tells us about the different types of readers.

Shanelle discusses Harry (Harriet) Potter from a female POV.

ShanelleΒ  also discusses the abuse and real meaning of dystopia.

Stormy tells us why she thinks different perspectives are important.

Traci talks about blogger burnouts with her coffee mates.

Veronica has a new blog design!

Design A

Hmm… did I miss anything? If I did, don’t hesitate to tell me so I can add it to this post.

siggy

33 thoughts on “Weekly Recap (July 29 – August 4)

  1. Thanks for linking my post, dear! (Rarely happens so I feel real happy) Can’t wait to hear your thoughts about Shatter Me!!! I love that series!! Don’t worry too much about the UPCAT results ok? Any chance you opted for UP Manila as one of your campus choices? I study there! πŸ™‚

    • You’re very welcome! πŸ™‚ Shatter Me micro-review: so far so good. HAHA! Yeahhh thanks, I’m kind of really worried, but I have faith in myself. And yes, I did! Home of the smart people πŸ˜„ Woohoooo maybe one day I’ll get to see you for realz πŸ˜€

  2. Wow!! Thank you for linking my post, Jasmine! You don’t know how much this means to me. *hugs* And, don’t stress over that high school crush of yours. Boys will always be boys. Hihi πŸ˜‰ Oh, and I haven’t read Shatter Me yet! I heard a lot of great feedbacks about it, though. Can’t wait to read it too! πŸ™‚

    • Aww you’re very welcome! *hugs back* Yeah, I’m not stressing any more. I’ve given up cracking the dude code πŸ˜„ Shatter Me is going quite well, though who’s to say for sure what it’s like, since I haven’t progressed enough πŸ˜€ Read it though! I’ll wait for the review πŸ™‚

      • Well, it’s great that you’re not stressing over him anymore. =)) Have you just started reading it? I will, maybe after I finished reading some of the pending books on my shelf. Haha. Ugh, it’s depressing how I read a certain book longer than usual because of school/internship and other stuff. 😦

      • Yep, everyone must move on. HAHA! And yeaaahh, I totally get you. It actually takes me a week to finish a book I usually finish in one sitting. Why must school do this to us D: what internship is this though? πŸ˜€

      • Same here! A WEEK. UGH </3 Well, I'm already on my fourth year in college. So instead of going to school, I go to the office for OJT. And I usually arrive home at around 6:30-7:00 and it's really tiring and all, since there are still other things to be done at home. I feel drained, so I mostly fall asleep immediately. 😦 Anyway, you're in your fourth year in high school, I assume? πŸ™‚

      • Ohh I get it! I didn’t know that though, you look so young. I kind of assumed you were closer to my age πŸ˜„ it sounds like a hassle, but it’s usually rewarding. My cousins have OJT too πŸ˜€ YOU CAN DO IT! And yeah, I am a high school senior πŸ˜€

      • Aw, I get that a lot. 😐 :)) I will do my best, thank you! πŸ™‚ Oh, I bet you’re pretty busy looking for school’s or having entrance exams! Hihi

      • I’m actually quite torn with regards to that! If I pass UP, I might study there (since my mom is an alumna and is capital L Loyal), although I kind of feel like I don’t belong in the Diliman campus, since it’s humongous, and I tend to get lost XD. As such, I’d prefer UP Manila πŸ™‚ I actually have an inclination to La Salle though– the scholarships they offer are tempting, and you get to finish in less than 4 years, if you’re good! Where do YOU study? πŸ˜€

      • Same here! I’m not really particular with a lot of places. But I love travelling. Weird, huh? Haha. Oh, and goodluck on that! I bet you’re already having those “nervous” feels as it gets nearer! But I’m sure you’ll be able to make up your mind about that! Both are great schools, either way! I study at Asia Pacific College! Hehe πŸ™‚

      • Oh I see πŸ˜€ Me neither. I travel, but only if there’s a tour guide to help me figure things out πŸ™‚ And YES I am so nervous! I have faith in myself though. I can do it πŸ™‚ Cool, I’ve never seen Asia Pacific, though they advertised at my school before πŸ˜„ Too bad none of the courses seemed like anything I’m inclined to :C

      • Haha. You’ll get the hang of it soon enough! Just enjoy your last year in high school. You’re going to miss it. πŸ™‚ It was actually a pretty long story of why I study there, though. Haha. Oh. What course are you planning to take, btw? πŸ™‚

      • Thank you! And yes, I think I will miss it too 😦 Hmm… care to tell me that story? Haha! I’m planning on taking Chemistry as a PreMed in UP ( I applied for the short course, too), and as a business course in La Salle. I’m planning on taking Management Engineering in Ateneo. UP is still priority though! πŸ˜€

      • Well, I actually wanted to study somewhere in Manila and actually passed a few schools there. But someone suggested APC to my parents, so I ended up studying there instead. (My parents actually wanted me not to study in Manila since it’s a bit too far from where I live and they don’t want me to live in a dorm) But I eventually learned to love my school and the environment there. Anyway, good luck on that! I bet you’re really smart since your choice of courses are.. well, somewhat hard. Haha! Good luck, Jasmine!! πŸ™‚

      • Oh, I see πŸ˜€ APC seems to be a good school– some of my classmates are planning to study there because the courses offered are great, and the education is definitely quality πŸ™‚ I live in Nova, and Manila will be really far from too, though my parents are actually okay with me studying there as long as I’m fine with a condo πŸ˜„ (My mom will probably do anything to make me study in UP HAHA). Well, I’ll probably give away too much of my identity on the blog if I tell you where I study, but I guess I am smart in some way. I’m not a nerd though, just scientifically inclined HAHA πŸ˜„

      • Really? What courses do they find great? I’m an IT student there, although, I actually wanted Multimedia Arts. Haha. Anyway, too bad I wouldn’t be able to meet your classmates anymore. Haha Well, being scientifically inclined is just as good. πŸ˜‰

      • IT! Many of classmates want to take up IT so… πŸ™‚ I suck at anything techy though, so I can’t. HAHAHA. You might meet some of them, though my close friends are taking up medicine with me πŸ˜€ We can still meet each other either way. Mehehe.

      • Really?! It is actually APC’s main course offer. But.. But I’ll be a graduate (hopefully) by the time they start for their frosh year. 😦 And yes, we will! There are so many other events where we can meet each other. πŸ™‚

  3. Really, after you mentioned the cheese sandwich I started having a hard time concentrating :D:D Anyway… gah, I hate physics! I always did, always will. And sorry about the calculus test :[ What grade are you πŸ˜•

    As for your crush… hmmmm, corner him. Or let him come. They always do ;] ;D Really, though, would it be weird to ask one of his friends? Or if one of your friends asks one of his friends? (This just became a contemporary YA novel; sorry!).

    And booooooo, did you like Shatter Me? And I’m excited for your blogger bits!

    • If this were a foodie blog, I’d have wasted no time sharing the recipe. But really, it’s just melted cheese on a round piece of toasted bread. HAHA! Yeahh well I tend to horribly fail my Math tests, so I’m not surprised anymore. I tend to study my head off for periodicals anyway! I’m a high school senior. If I call it a grade though… tenth grader I guess? :/ Hmmm… maybe I’ll just flat out ask him what his deal is…? Or will I creep him out? Or yeah, lets just contemporary-ize this– I could ask friends of friends of friends about it. Or I could just wait for him to say something πŸ˜„ They always come in the end. HA! And I don’t know yet– I haven’t really gotten to where Shatter Me is supposed to get exciting or anything, but it’s working out okay at this moment πŸ˜€ YAY hope you’ll like the post when it comes out πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Eveline! I’m seeing him today. I probably should stop studying his face, since he’s likely to notice πŸ˜• HAHA! And I’m glad you love the schedule!

  4. Aw, hope all your problems in real life will be sorted out. Right now, my bff is saying how this guy likes me and I’m fairly certain he doesn’t!! Ugh it’s such a confusing mess.. She’s saying how boys tease the girls they like and he’s always meanest towards me -___- Wish I was a mind-reader or something lol..

    • Thank you Ariella! Hmm… I can never really crack any of the guys at my school, although I’m sure its true to an extent that the guys who like to tease you actually fancy you in a way. It’s sort of how they grab your attention. Haha! Yeah wish I could read minds too :-/ but anyway, hope you get to sort him out as well!

Write me a little something. I reply!

