Top Ten Tuesdays: Best Endings To Books

TTT

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish πŸ™‚

I don’t exactly bother too much with beautiful beginnings, as such have the potential for ruin by dreadful culminations– lock, stock and barrel. Henceforth, I decided to focus on the books that I believe ended the way they should have– that is to say, the way I wanted them to! I’m not going to quote all of the last lines to these titles, since I don’t want to give you guys even a sneak peek at quiescent spoilers, with the exception of a few noteworthy conclusions that really fastened themselves magnificently onto the bottom of my hypothalamus. And with that, I present my top ten list!

Have a great Tuesday! Please don’t hesitate to leave a comment πŸ˜€

Design A

1. Clockwork Princess ( Infernal Devices # 3, Cassandra Clare)

Clockwork Princess

“No, the last thing she cared about was whether people were staring at the boy and girl kissing by the river, as London, its cities and towers and churches and buildings and streets, circled all about them like the memory of a dream. And if the Thames that ran beside them, sure and silver in the afternoon light, recalled a night long ago when the moon shone as brightly as a shilling on this same boy and girl, or if the stones of Blackfriars knew the tread of their feet and thought to themselves: At, last, the wheel comes full circle, they kept their silence.”

2. Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter # 7, J.K. Rowling)

Deathly Hallows

‘What if I’m in Slytherin?’
“The whisper was for his father alone, and Harry knew that only the moment
of departure could have forced Albus to reveal how great and sincere that fear
was. ‘Albus Severus,’ Harry said quietly, so that nobody but Ginny could hear, and she was tactful enough to pretend to be waving to Rose, who was now on the train. ‘You were named for two Headmasters of Hogwarts. One was a Slytherin, and he was probably the bravest man I ever knew.'”

3. The Iron Knight (The Iron Fey # 4, Julie Kagawa)

Iron Knight

“I have come from the End of the World…. From the River of Dreams, through the gauntlet and the Briar and the Deep Wyld, in order to stand before you today. I have but one request – to take my place at your side. To resume my duty as your knight, and to protect you and your kingdom for as long as I draw breath.”

4. Along For The Ride (Sarah Dessen)

Along For The Ride

“It didn’t make you noble to step away from something that wasn’t working, even if you thought you were the reason for the malfunction. Especially then. It just made you a quitter. Because if you were the problem, chances were you could also be the solution. The only way to find out was to take another shot.”

5. The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson And The Olympians # 5, Rick Riordan)

Last Olympian

“She nodded, though she still seemed uneasy. I didn’t blame her, but it was hard to feel too upset on a nice day, with her next to me, knowing that I wasn’t really saying goodbye. We had lots of time. ‘Race you to the road?’ I said. ‘You are so going to lose.’ She took off down Half Blood Hill and I sprinted after her. For once, I didn’t look back.”

6. The Fault In Our Stars (John Green)

The Fault

“What else? She is so beautiful. You don’t get tired of looking at her. You never worry if she is smarter than you: You know she is. She is funny without ever being mean. I love her. I am so lucky to love her, Van Houten. You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope she likes hers.”

(I do, Augustus.Β I do.)

7. The Disenchantments (Nina LaCour)

The Disenchantments

“Searching, always. And yes, we all are, or soon will be, disenchanted, I still want to know it all: the heartbreak, the fear, the friendship, the anger, the love. All of it.”

8. Will Grayson, Will Grayson (John Green)

Will Grayson

“I do not say ‘good-bye.’ I believe that’s one of the bullshittiest words ever invented. It’s not like you’re given the choice to say ‘bad-bye’ or ‘awful-bye’ or ‘couldn’t-care-less-about-you-bye.’ every time you leave, it’s supposed to be a good one. Well, I don’t believe in that. I believe againstΒ that.”

9. Every Day (David Levithan)

Every Day

“I wanted love to conquer all. But love can’t conquer anything. It can’t do anything on its own.Β It relies on us to do the conquering on its behalf.”

10. Monsters Of Men (Chaos Walking # 3, Patrick Ness)

Monsters of Men

” ‘War is like a monster,’ he says, almost to himself. ‘War is the devil. It starts and it consumes and it grows and grows and grows.’ He’s looking at me now. ‘And otherwise normal men become monsters, too.’ ”

Β 

Design A

So what do you think? If you have any opinions or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to comment and tell me!

siggy

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Best Endings To Books

  1. Oh man, the end of The Fault in Our Stars gets me every time! Nice choices. I just finished Along for the Ride, and loved how that ended, too. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, it was one of the more open-ended ones, though like you, I really get emotional every time I read it. Haha! And cool, I LOVED Along For The Ride! Glad you agree with me on it. I’m just such a fan of the recent Sarah Dessen books πŸ˜€

  2. I loved the ending of The Iron Knight! It was so perfect. I’ve yet to complete the Harry Potter series (gasp), but I’m hoping I love the ending as much as everyone else seems to. Nice list, Jasmine!

    • YES! The Iron Knight was most definitely my favorite book in that entire series. I just finished Harry Potter recently, after getting bugged by viewers πŸ˜„ It was as amazing on paper as it was on screen, so there was much love there πŸ™‚ Thank you so much!

    • YAY! Great minds think alike I guess πŸ˜‰ TFiOS WAS a little bit on the sad side, but it’s the kind with lots of love and hope for the future so I was happy with the way it turned out πŸ˜€

    • HAHA! Yeah, now I remember how cute and funny those chapter headings were πŸ˜€ The content was even better though. The PJ books were the type to keep me on my toes for most of the book– the chapter headings were quite relevant to the story, though not at first sight πŸ™‚ Definitely a must read!

    • Yeah, I wasn’t struck so much by the ending (although I still was), as compared to how it felt for these lines, which I remembered so well from the movies! πŸ™‚ Thank you! πŸ˜€

    • YAY! Every Day was an amazing read for me. Those lines were the ones I really believed πŸ™‚ And yep, Will Grayson as well! I don’t like saying good bye either, because it’s sad and makes me feel like I have no choice but to never see one person again. “See you” feels so much better, yes! πŸ˜€

  3. I didn’t love the ending to Clockwork Princess, but I think that was more because I didn’t love the book overall than how Clare resolved the love triangle. (Though I know others loved/hated it for that reason.)

    HP definitely ended perfectly, for being such a big series. And The Fault in Our Stars ❀ Heartbreak!

    And of course Monsters of Men. I WILL reread this series. I will. I need to relive them all again.

    • Yep, I know you didn’t love it the way I do, since I read your review back before I started blogging (:D) but of course, we can’t always agree on everything! And like I said, Cassie Clare’s books tend to be the love it/hate it kinda books. I thought the ending was too convenient yes, but that was honestly the way I liked it (Will and Jem. Could not even pick!) And oh yes– I was so happy to have finished the HP books. It ended well with both book and movie and that makes me so happy πŸ˜€ The Fault was real good too, and I think I’ve reread that one more than I should have. Haha! Monsters of Men too! Haven’t come back for it, but that book was the bomb.

  4. Eek, I’m thrilled to see Along For the Ride on your list! I loved that book’s ending (and the book in general)! Sarah Dessen is really good at satisfying endings that leave you all warm and fuzzy afterward, but this one was especially satisfying. /happy sigh

  5. I thought the ending to HP was *perfect* as well. And that quote from The Fault in Our Stars made my heart squeeze and made me want to re-read it and cry! The one from Monsters of Men made me shiver (and feel compelled to finally finish the series – it’s just so intense!!).

Write me a little something. I reply!

