Top 5 Summer Reads

Yes, I know, It’s been a while since the last news feature. I’m not being a lazy potato or anything, and goodness knows I love to blog, so I’m going to have to attribute this level of frequency (or lack thereof) to the fact that nothing interesting or even remotely thought-provoking has come up since, well, since the last.

As my lucky stars would have it however, I chanced upon an article on NPR books (which, until about 5 minutes ago, I didn’t know existed), that came up with quite the compendious list of ‘Summer Must Reads’ for young adults, and young adults at heart. I know I’m exactly one month behind, but I’m going to share it with ya’ll anyways, as I wholeheartedly believe that this one’s quite the enthralling compilation.

I’ll leave you guys with links to the books and excerpts from the source, as well as the link to the main article 🙂

The Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson

Summer Prince

“The Summer Prince is a vivid and refreshing take on the dystopian love-triangle trope that’s been ruling YA.”

Interesting. I’m not a fan of love triangles drawn front and center, though I guess if this book can make its version work, I have no cause for complaint. The story sounds enticing enough, especially since it’s set in a tropical country I have yet to explore, and revolves around a world of art and summer that somehow makes me want to hit the hoola. As always, we’ll just have to see where this takes me.

Eleanor And Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park

“Rowell nails the voices of her teen protagonists — her writing swings from profane to profound, but it’s always real and always raw”.

There’s something magical about 1986. I can’t explain it exactly, but there just is. And I love Rainbows. I guess I’ve always wanted to find out if I dig them just as much in author form. Apart from the captivating cover, I think this book’s also inviting in that it seems to tackle tougher subjects while keeping the backdrop light and humorous. I haven’t come across many books that can strike a balance between either, and the fact that this book seems to be doing its share of the hype enough justice, makes me want to grab myself a copy and find out why.

Drama by Raina Telgemeier

Drama

“Telgemeier’s art is simple but animated, and delightfully expressive — you’ll find yourself smiling involuntarily at Callie’s grimaces and cheers — and, if you’re me, slightly green with envy about the fact that Callie’s parents don’t seem to mind her dyed-purple hair”.

I’ve never heard of this one, and I’m not surprised. The story seems nothing short of generic and all too Glee-esque / reminiscent of the Troy Bolton days , though I love how it’s animated and seems to be overall, an amusing read. After all, this book didn’t just stumble it’s way through to a top-notch list for nothing, and once again I’d like to know what that is. Besides, I’d like to take a detour into the contemporary world at least once over the course of the summer.

The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence

Alex Woods

“The conclusion is every bit as improbable as getting smacked by a meteor —but you’ll still be sad to say goodbye”.

This suspiciously sounds a lot like Scott Pilgrim. And how does one even find a way to get himself smacked by a goddamned meteor? The premise sounds a bit bizarre, though it tackles some of the more widespread complications in modern society. I’ve never seen or heard of anything like it, and I guess it’d be fun as well as enlightening to try to fit myself in with misfits like the main protagonist, with whom I think I will find an easy connection to. I’m not familiar with the drama behind high school in a foreign setting, so it would probably be nice for a change to step out of my comfort zone in terms of reading material to make way for this one.

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

5th wave

“The 5th Wave mashes up Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Ender’s Game and Independence Day into a grim and riveting read — no wonder it’s already been optioned for a movie”.

Hello, sidebar.

Yes, I’m loving myself some destructive behavior. Review coming soon.

Design A

If you want to read straight from the source, this is the link:

So what do you think? Sound off in the comments to share your opinions and make my day 🙂

siggy

12 thoughts on “Top 5 Summer Reads

  1. Ha, I haven’t posted a Bookish News post in… just over a month? I’m bad at checking news frequently, and then when I do I often find nothing I want to comment on – so don’t feel bad! (I only feel slightly bad after checking my survey results and seeing that some people actually enjoy that feature. Whoops!)

    Anyways, I haven’t read ANY of these, and I’m not sure if I will. Out of all five the one that has the best potential to be read by my is The 5th Wave. It never really stood out to me before, but I keep seeing all these positive reviews for it which makes me think I should give it a shot. We’ll have to see where you stand on the hype though! Sell me that book! Make me love it! (Unless you hated it, then that will probably be all the motivation I need to not pick it up. Haha.)

    • Yeah, it’s been a while since the last Bookish News feature I’ve seen! However, you do have that excuse of having so many other features already, so it’s not all that bad 🙂 Most (if not all) your posts are enjoyable anyways 😀 I’m really loving the 5th Wave, and it’s kind of left me speechless, so I’m not so sure about selling that one to you when my review comes out, but I’ll try! Though I hope if I do get around to reading any of these, I won’t exactly hate one of them. It’s also been quite a while since that’s happened, and I’d like to keep my good review streak going, thank you. Haha! thanks for the visit Asti!

  2. I have a copy of Eleanor & Park but haven’t read it yet! Everyone has such an emotion reaction to it, it seems. I will say that I love the author after reading another book of hers — Attachments — which I HIGHLY recommend to anyone and everyone!

    • Oh cool! Never heard of Attachments, but since you recommend it, here’s to trying it out! 😀 And when you get to read it, please try and leave a review, so i’ll know where to go from there. Haha! And yeah, in a way, it’s the emotional connection of people to the book that drives me to wanting to read it. like I said, I love books that make me feel things 😀

  3. ELEANOR & PARK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! READ IT READ IT READ IT READ IT 😀 Did I tell you to read it? READ IT! I’m curious to see what you think of it!

    And you just reminded me I have The Universe Vs. Alex Woods from NetGalley… I’m still on the fence with The 5th Wave and Drama sounds interesting. I’ve never been a fan of Glee or Troy Bolton from High School Musical, but this is a book, so I think I might like it (I don’t like it when people sing on my TV unless it’s animation… weird).

    • Hmm…. based on that comment, I really couldn’t tell if you liked Eleanor and Park or not. HAHA! Or maybe you loved it? 😉 But I will try to get myself a copy! And can I just say, if you get around to reading Alex Woods before I do, I’d really wanna read your review on it 😀 I love your reviews! I never really liked Glee and HSM apart from their soundtracks (they were totally my jams for like, years) though Drama sounds likely to take its own spin on things. And yeah that’s interesting! I don’t like it either when people sing on TV. Unless they dance along maybe, or they’re really good. I happened to love Pitch Perfect 😀

Write me a little something. I reply!

