Top Ten Tuesdays: Movie Adaptations

TTT

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish πŸ™‚

I had loads of fun putting this list together. I got to give myself an excuse to re-watch some of the older movies in my hard drive, as well as put on hold some of my assignments, which is practically hitting two birds with one stone. I know, I know, I should quit procrastinating and learn to sort out my priorities (the right way), though I’m a pretty effective multi-tasker, and bottom line is, I got to accomplish everything I had to before the deadline. So go me!

I’ve never been a huge fan of movies, not half as much as I am when it comes to TV shows, and not even close to how I am when it comes to books. For this reason, I found this task pretty challenging. Determination is key, however– so without further ado, I proudly present to you my top ten list!

Hope you like it, and happy Tuesday, everybody πŸ™‚
Design A

BEST LIST

1. The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

Based on Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

Perks TTT

Logan Lerman wasn’t a blank slate, and was able to thoroughly embody the character’s struggles and personality (though I probably relished in the fact that for once he didn’t have to portray someone uncannily good looking). The chemistry between Charlie and Sam was undeniable, and Patrick was effective comic relief. In that way, it wasn’t too overbearing and provided a balance between conflict and entertainment.

2. Tuck Everlasting

Based on Natalie Babbitt’s Tuck Everlasting

Tuck TTT

I cried incessantly. I felt like I could completely empathize with the characters, and I found their struggles believable, as well as their earnest desire to find the impossible happiness that could last forever. It wasn’t too depressing though. The dispiriting scenes were given recompense with lighter ones.

3. Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows: Part 2

Based on J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows

HP TTT

This was clearly the movie of the year. The graphics and special effects were top notch, the actors were superb, and the battle scenes were beyond epic. It was pretty lengthy, but not a single stagnant moment passed me by. This was an amazing finale.

4. The Social Network

Based on Ben Mezrich’s the Accidental Billionaires: The Founding of Facebook, A Tale Of Sex, Money, Genius And Betrayal

Social Network TTT

Before I did my research, I didn’t even know this movie was based on a book. The movie however, was phenomenal. Jesse Eisenberg sounded so professional, and Andrew Garfield pulled off what is probably the greatest stint in his acting career to date. The arguments were fascinating, the emotions were raw. This one was certainly entertaining.

5. The Notebook

Based on Nicholas Sparks’ The Notebook

Notebook TTT

I was a pool of tears by the end of the movie– I was weeping into my pillow, sniffling at every other scene. And it was great, because I didn’t give. The romance was strange, but filled with hope, and I was inspired with a new confidence to strive for the people I truly want to care for. That sort of divine-like intervention doesn’t come to me too often.

6. Angels And Demons

Based on Dan Brown’s Angels And Demons

A&D TTT

I know that a lot of others didn’t care much for this movie, though I found it highly entertaining, intriguing, suspenseful, and above all astounding in its sagacity. I was surprised by most of the revelations and was kept on my toes for the better half of this movie. I was surprisingly pleased.

7. Les MiserablesΒ 

Based on Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables

LesMis TTT

If not for the cringe-worthy Russell Crowe pitch issues, this movie would been deserving of the greatest highlight for the 2012 Box Office. The pain could be heard in the characters’ voices, and it was impressive that the actors were singing that well on air. I was obviously also digging the soundtrack. Just so you know, It’s currently my jam.

Design A

WORST LIST

8. The Last Song

Based on Nicholas Sparks’ The Last Song

The Last Song TTT

Miley Cyrus could not have been any less platitudinous than the uncarved block. Her performance was drab, and I felt no (Nicholas) spark between her and Liam in this one. It progressed too languidly for me as well, and I found that by the end of it I had lost all patience. I didn’t even get to finish this one.

9. Percy Jackson And The Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Based on Rick Riordan’s The Lightning Thief

PJ TTT

What was the director even thinking. I don’t even want to believe he was actually thinking. The movie was inconsistent with the book on so many levels- Annabeth wasn’t blonde, which totally confused my image of her, the quest was altered in bothersome ways, and the lines were too colloquial and failed at any attempt on humor. I just tried to concentrate on Logan Lerman. It almost worked.

10. Twilight

Based on Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight

Twilight TTT

I felt nothing while watching this movie– I could’ve sworn I was turning into a vampire. It was just a lifeless, monotonous, humdrum, repetitious, cloying, unexciting movie. It was almost as blank as Kristen Stewart’s face.

Design A

So what do you think? If you have any opinions or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to comment and tell me!

siggy

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Movie Adaptations

    • Yes! Glad you loved it too. People thought it was too fast paced, but I honestly don’t mind not being able to solve the puzzles myself, so I thought it was pretty ingenious! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

    • I actually liked movie better than the book when it came to Angels and Demons, there was something about it that I thought went on too long and movies have a way of cutting that stuff out!

    • Thanks Eveline! Yes, still so much love for HP πŸ™‚ I think I can still go on a movie marathon for that one. Haha! I’m really hoping for the redemption of Lightning Thief in Sea of monsters though! They seem to be making progress. Annabeth’s blonde. Woohoo! Leven Rambin is still too pretty for a character like Clarisse, though I’m not that bothered. The trailer was amazing πŸ˜€

    • The Last Song was a great book. Not my favorite Nicholas Sparks title, though I thought it was pretty moving. The movie though… ugh! I have’t read the Les Mis book either. Have you seen it? It’s GINORMOUS! I’m not sure I have the time nor the patience for something that lengthy. And thanks for stopping by!

  1. I think Perks would be my top one movie adaptation too! The actors and their acting were just perfect! I’m curious about Tuck Everlasting. I’ve yet to watch it. One movie that would be on my list that was not on this one would be The Host. πŸ™‚

    • Aww yes! I watched it on premiere day, and there was a huge, intimidating line at the screening and all that, but it was definitely worth the wait. And worth all the popcorn! I loved that movie. Especially Logan Lerman and Emma Watson, cause they look so good together! Tuck is definitely a recommendation. It made me cry like a baby at the end, but I thought it was beautiful. I haven’t watched The Host, so I couldn’t add that πŸ™‚ I’m not sure I want to either… it doesn’t sound so appealing, but we’ll still see. Thanks for the visit Hazel! πŸ˜€

    • Thank you Lisa! And yeah, everyone I know who’s watched The Lightning Thief seems to think it didn’t meet any of their expectations. *sigh* But oh well. I’m checking out Sea of Monsters. I hope it changes my opinion on the entire franchise πŸ˜€ Thank you so much for the follow!

  2. Oooh great list! I haven’t seen The Perks of Being a Wallflower yet. I loved the book so much that I’m quite nervous about the film…but it’s been getting so much love in TTTs that I think I’ll give it a go. Here’s my TTT, check it out if you have a chance!

  3. Great list! I loved The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Notebook. I was so disappointed with the Twilight movie because I actually did like that book. In the movie I felt they just didn’t spend enough time with the characters to make me care about them. In the end I guess it didn’t really matter since the books got progressively 😦

    • Thank you! I loved Perks and The Notebook equally πŸ˜€ Twilight was the greatest disappointment in terms of movies for me. I didn’t like the book, but I wanted to, so I relied on the movies, which was in fact, way way worse 😦 I just wasn’t feeling it, or anything when I watched it. *sigh*

  4. The final of Harry Potter was amazing! I just couldn’t find the courage to add the movies in my list because well, nothing can be better than the books. Also, I’ve never been a huge fan of book to movie so it was a difficult task for me to come up with all the titles. Thus, still not really satisfied.

    • Ahh, I see! I’m not a fan either, but I have nothing against movie adaptations, so I’m on neutral ground really πŸ˜€ I thought the last HP movie was amazing! But you put up quite great list– so kudos to you, Sana! πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by πŸ˜€

Write me a little something. I reply!

