Feature and Follow Fridays (5)

FFF

This is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read πŸ™‚

Follow this blog via email, bloglovin’, twitter, all of the above, or using your WordPress account, if you have one! πŸ™‚

THIS WEEK’S QUESTION

Share your favorite book with war in it, or an overthrow of the government.

Happy Independence Day all you amazing Americans!

And while I’m neither American nor political-minded even in the remotest possible way, I do think that I have a couple of books on war and government that are right up my alley. Which is a relief, because I try to make it a point to join in on the Friday hop πŸ˜€

Once again, three is the magic number, so for this feature I’ve decided to feature three of my favorites. As always, you’re welcome to click on the links to add titles to your Goodreads piles, and even more than always, are welcome to share your thoughts and sound off in the comments!

So make my day (night) and tell me what you think. Happy weekend everyone!

1. The Hunger Games (by Suzanne Collins)

Hunger Games

This was the first title that came to mind. While I’m probably looking forward to Catching Fire way more than I should be at this point (November, don’t you bring me down), I still think that the books in this series were promising. I relished in the fact that the characters were strong and looked out for one another inasmuch as they looked out for themselves, as well as the risk the author took with dramatically raising the stakes for those who walked the line between tortuous death and survival.

And I’m still loving me some Finnick Odair. I don’t care what anyone thinks.

Design A

2. The 5th Wave (by Rick Yancey)

5th wave

This pick is damn near close to self-explanatory – I revel in this book. If you scroll down or glance sideways momentarily, you’ll notice that I’m half-cheating because I’m still Currently Reading this one. However, I think this book is deserving of attention, and, Β for reasons I refuse to expound on, I think this book belongs on every shelf. In the meantime, I’m please don’t forget to check out my upcoming review!

I just totally sidetracked on an advertisement. Sorry, I’m not sorry.

Design A

3. The Maze Runner (by James Dashner)

Maze Runner

Because Dylan O’ Brien and because Kaya Scodelario (Yes, I watch Skins. Don’t judge me). Reminiscent of The Hunger Games, though unforgettable in it’s own right, I believe this one was a great book with quite a different story to tell. I thought the events were pretty interesting, minimal in stagnation, the build up was pretty consistent, and the characters continually developed. If you think The Hunger Games isn’t so Β you, maybe you’ll find The Maze Runner more to your liking! It was definitely a pleasant surprise to realize that it was more to mine πŸ™‚

Design A

And that ends this feature! Thanks for stopping by~

siggy

FFFbutton

24 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Fridays (5)

  1. I’m am one of the few that didn’t like Hunger Games. I was too depressed reading it. Of course that speaks volumes about how well it was written. Not too many books leave such a lasting impression. I haven’t read the other two, but will add them to my TBR list. Old follower..

    Meredith
    Meredith’s Musings

    • I think the series progressed as it went by. I don’t blame you for not liking the first one, cause yeah, it did end at something of a sour note, but I urge you t give the other two a try πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, if that’s the case then I do recommend The Maze Runner πŸ˜€ I found it quite an interesting (and not to mention emotional) read! Thanks for the return follow, and for the comment on the layout πŸ™‚

  2. So even though I’m not participating in this week’s F&F, I’ve come to bug you anyways. (Feel special, because I have like twenty posts up on my tab that I doubt I’ll get to before I pass out, but I’m commenting on yours :P)

    The only one of these I’ve read is The Hunger Games! I know, so bad. I do own The Maze Runner though and plan on reading the first book. I’m pretty sure I only bought it because it was one of those “If You Liked The Hunger Games…” things. Oooh but The 5th Wave? For some reason that one never appeals to me even though it seems like EVERYONE loves it and raves about it. Maybe your review will convert me?! PRESSURE! haha. πŸ™‚

    • Yes. This is me feeling special :> Thank you Asti! πŸ˜€ The Maze Runner is definitely a recommended read for fans of The Hunger Games, although I think it had elements that made it pretty unique. If you have the time, try to read it! And for the Dylan O’Brien’s sake, try the movie out as well. HAHA! The 5th Wave didn’t exactly appeal to me before all the raving and reviewing started, though I think the prose is lovely, and it was great how Rick handed the dark, heavy, psychological themes involved. It wasn’t too depressing, and I guess that thought reeled me away from it in the first place. And yes, I WILL be reviewing it, and the pressure IS there… so wait for it! Thanks for stopping by πŸ˜€

Write me a little something. I reply!

