Week 5 Review: The Mark of Athena

The Mark of AthenaTitle: The Mark of Athena

 Author: Rick Riordan

 Release Date: October 2, 2012

 Publisher: Disney Hyperion

 Description: 574 pages, Young Adult Fiction

 

 

synopsis

Annabeth is terrified. Just when she’s about to be reunited with Percy—after six months of being apart, thanks to Hera—it looks like Camp Jupiter is preparing for war. As Annabeth and her friends Jason, Piper, and Leo fly in on the Argo II, she can’t blame the Roman demigods for thinking the ship is a Greek weapon. With its steaming bronze dragon masthead, Leo’s fantastical creation doesn’t appear friendly. Annabeth hopes that the sight of their praetor Jason on deck will reassure the Romans that the visitors from Camp Half-Blood are coming in peace.

And that’s only one of her worries. In her pocket Annabeth carries a gift from her mother that came with an unnerving demand: Follow the Mark of Athena. Avenge me. Annabeth already feels weighed down by the prophecy that will send seven demigods on a quest to find—and close—the Doors of Death. What more does Athena want from her?

Annabeth’s biggest fear, though, is that Percy might have changed. What if he’s now attached to Roman ways? Does he still need his old friends? As the daughter of the goddess of war and wisdom, Annabeth knows she was born to be a leader, but never again does she want to be without Seaweed Brain by her side.

my thoughts

A Millennial Struggle Between Mortal Enemies

In my ultimate failure to combat restlessness and unease after the read, I decided that the most pressing problem was bridging the gap between the Greeks and the Romans who didn’t encounter each other without deliberately throwing themselves into chaos. The thing I loved about this book was the reunion between Annabeth and Percy, a scene heartwarming enough to make me forget the fact that they were at war with supernatural forces that threatened to destroy all human life. Very predictably, the chosen seven were issued yet another mostly implacable quest, and equally predictably, were promised even less a chance of survival for this one than the last. However, there were some events that I never could have seen coming, and I did appreciate how the demigods were able to set aside their differences and realize that they were, after all, on the same team. I was happy that for the most part, they weren’t at one another’s throats, and though there were some skirmishes that deserved face palms for their utter triviality, I was grateful for the teamwork and was impressed yet again by the clever measures each of them took to (narrowly) escape their deaths. Unlike most other books, the action in this one was highly satisfactory.

Design A

Wisdom’s Daughter Walks Alone

Apart from the fact that she just found her not-so-better half, of course. I had no clue what the Mark of Athena was and what it meant for Annabeth. Although at first, I was disappointed that yet another massive problem was added to the growing the collection the seven were nursing, I was also impressed with the way they attempted to work around things, though the stakes were raised considerably high for all of them. Through most everything, they stuck together. Annabeth was the least annoying character in this book. Percy sometimes acted on impulse, said unnecessary things. Leo was awesome, but sometimes his jokes went overboard. Frank got too sensitive, and Hazel started sounding like someone’s mother. Piper practically worshipped Jason and compared his looks to Percy’s, while Jason himself remained dense, way too perfect, and somewhere along the lines, began acquiring a fervent ardor for passing out. Annabeth just retained her smarts. She was obviously the least equipped, not having any extraordinary powers, yet she used her brainiac skills to the best of her ability, and in the end none of them could have survived without her.  She had arguably the hardest task ahead,  though thankfully enough, she didn’t break from the pressure. Percy may be Seaweed Brain, but Annabeth in my opinion is just such a great catch that I’m beginning to think she’s more than his redemption.

  “He had no idea where the stereotype of dumb giggly blondes came from. Ever since he’d met Annabeth at the Grand Canyon last winter,when she’d marched toward him with that Give me Percy Jackson or I’ll kill you expression, Leo had thought of blondes as much too smart and much too dangerous.”

Design A

The Nth Quest In A Row

The Argo II was a beautiful contraption, even in my imagination, though I would have paid some serious moolah for the chance to see it live and on the big screen. I loved how most of the new enemies they encountered were older and more intimidating, really requiring tactics and strategic planning to best, as opposed to simple reliance on brute force. However, I wasn’t all too enthusiastic about playing the joker card, because seriously, some of these supposedly all-powerful opponents were jokes, because none of them should even be remotely interested in things closely associated with fashion or ballet. On the flip side, the demigods at least hatched themselves life saving plans in record time, and though that made them even less believable, I chided myself and acknowledged the fact that they were the Seven of Prophecy for a reason. They should be capable of world-saving quick thinking. I just really wish Jason’s perfection would stop getting highlighted. He probably looked worse because he didn’t get a POV, but a perfect guy who actually knows he’s perfect doesn’t serve to add to my already dwindling respect for his character. On the other hand, he at least knew his own imperfections (no matter how minimal), doubting himself when he should have. I guess the hot shot status came from the people who counted on him for most of his life, whereas he himself could count on no one else– not even his father.
Design A

Falling In And Out Of Love

The romance was funny, cute and epic. This was probably because there were about three stable-ish couples, but like so many others, I really grew to appreciate the chemistry between Percy and Annabeth. They went through so much together, and I was happy that they got the quality time they deserved. The ending to this book got me on the verge of tears, and though I was happy and sad simultaneously, both feelings only served to heighten my anticipation for the next installment in this amazing series. I still do think that in a parallel universe, everyone should take it upon themselves to give this book and its series a shot.

“We’re staying together. You’re not getting away from me. Never again.”

Design A

my rating

AWhat do you think? Tell me in the comments below 🙂

siggy

Write me a little something. I reply!

