Feature and Follow Fridays (4)

FFF

This is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read πŸ™‚

Follow this blog via email, bloglovin’, twitter, all of the above, or using your WordPress account, if you have one! πŸ™‚

THIS WEEK’S QUESTION

What is your preferred reading format?

I’ve only ever read books in paperback. Rare exceptions to this case include situations wherein

1) I was given a copy as a gift

2) I wasn’t patient enough to bail on the hardcover versions already stacking the shelves.

I have nothing against any other reading format. I think hard covers are durable, and prettier to look at, though they’re pricier than paperback copies, and the opportunity cost in making a purchase, in my opinion, isn’t enough to outweigh the loss, given the benefits. Besides, the covers tent to slip when I read, which is irksome, and I think I’m careful enough to make sure no one gets to break my spine or dog-ear my pages. In this way, I guess soft bound covers suffice for comfortable reading. I’ve made a pledge to read the printed word, and though I think e-books are easily accessible and may be added to entire libraries in a single device, I’m not sure I’ll feel anywhere near as content when I’m sifting through the pages of an actual book, instead of through the forward and back buttons of a virtual one.Β And I happen to like the smell of parchment.

So what do you think? Sound off in the comments πŸ™‚

 

FFFbutton

16 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Fridays (4)

  1. I love holding an actual book in my hands. However, I did finally break down and buy a Kindle recently and I love the convenience, massive amount of free books, and it’s easier on my wallet. It won’t replace an actual paperback or hardcover for me, but it’s nice. New bloglovin follower.

    Meredith
    Meredith’s Musings

  2. True. Hardcovers are really pricy. I mostly buy them when I go to the states because Canada sells them for a higher price 😦 Thanks for stopping by my FF. Following you on bloglovin.

  3. I love hardcovers, and I know about the slippy cover thing. So I usually take the cover off when I’m reading. I love paperbacks, as well, though.
    BUT. I was originally an ebook/ereader hater. I used to slam them whenever I had the chance. And then I bought one, and I have over 200 books on it (and they were all FREEEEEEE). So I love my ereader, but I am not going to stop reading real books (what is the correct term for non ebook books? I have no idea). I will always prefer to read a book in paper form.

    • Yep, I guess the real reason why I’m not buying the e-book idea is that I’ve never really been open to trying them out. But I hopped along this feature and found out that many others began from where I stand now, so I’m thinking if I try it out once, maybe I’ll change my mind. they do seem pretty darn convenient! But I did pledge on that issue, so maybe I’ll start when I’m a little more lenient with myself πŸ™‚ We’ll see! πŸ˜€ And yep, I’m thinking even after I try it, I’ll still prefer a physical copy πŸ˜€

      • I was never really open to trying out ereaders either, until I found out that I can get ARC ebooks. πŸ˜€
        They are really convenient, especially with the free books. And if the book is a lot cheaper than the physical (that’s the word I was searching for!) copy and you’re not sure if you want to read it, you save money!
        I agree, though. Physical books will always trump my Kobo (even though I am highly attached, even after only a month of owning it, haha).

      • Oh ARCs! Those are some serious perks, aren’t they? Though I’m not really trying to get myself one of those, that is quite the convenience! And all the free books too… :O We shall see! I’m open to change I guess πŸ™‚

Write me a little something. I reply!

