“Waiting On” Wednesdays: These Broken Stars

WWW

This is a weekly meme hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating! 😀

Before anything else, I sincerely apologize for being AWOL. Away without leave, yes, because my blogging capabilities are internet-connection dependent, and our provider has chosen for the past few days not to cooperate. I’m a busy potato, but I’m also a blogger hellbent on world domination- well not really, but I want to keep my blog going, so I have decided that from here on out, I am going to stop at nothing to provide you guys with updates 🙂

And I’m progressing! For this week’s feature, I decided to go with a book by two authors who, though unfamiliar, I genuinely believe are deserving of my full attention, as well as of yours (So please don’t hesitate to add to your piles). I’ve never read Amie Kaufman, never heard of Meagan Spooner, and have never really considered changing my status on either, at least until I came across this title. Be that as it may, I admit that I’m none too fanatical when it comes to outer space, or anything closely related to such for that matter. However, this seemed reminiscent of Across The Universe, which I adored almost as much as its sequels, and partly due to matters of nostalgia, I realized that I found myself excited for this one.

On the other hand, I am completely fascinated by the story behind the two main characters. Lilac and Tarver are polar opposites, and though they probably don’t understand what makes the other tick in the beginning, especially because they are used to different surroundings, I believe it will be interesting to see them develop and grow on each other, and learn that in the greater scheme of things, first impressions are the least of what matters (because 99% of the time, you’ve got the wrong idea.) Besides this, I also look forward to books that pose lots of challenges and hardships, because more often than not they contain protagonists with great senses of strength and interdependence. In the end, I won’t really know what to expect until I don’t have to, and since I’m banking on peer advice for this one, I’m going to trust my instincts and see where this takes me. I think it’s going to be a lot of fun 🙂

And that cover is GORGE.

What do you think of my feature? Don’t forget to leave a comment and make me happy!

 These Broken StarsTitle: These Broken Stars

 Author: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

 Release Date: December 10, 2013

 Publisher: Disney Hyperion

 Description: 384 pages, Young Adult Fiction

Goodreads Synopsis

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

The first in a sweeping science fiction trilogy, These Broken Stars is a timeless love story about hope and survival in the face of unthinkable odds.

14 thoughts on ““Waiting On” Wednesdays: These Broken Stars

  1. Well, this book sounds interesting. Not sure if I’m totally sold on it, though…

    You know what, I’ll wait for you to read it, read your review and make up my mind ;D I always do that anyway, haha.

    • Well of course, waiting for the review is the better option… :> HAHA! And I’m glad it interests you in the least bit! I’m hoping to get to the point of reviewing this one too 🙂

  2. The cover is definitely gorgeous! I recently came across this book on Goodreads and added it to my tbr immediately. Sounds awesome – I’m a big fan of YA sci-fi! Great pick :).

    • Glad you think so! I just stumbled upon this too, while browsing lists 🙂 I’m not THAT into sci-fi, but I think this one can change my mind 🙂 And thank you so much!

  3. This cover is so gorgeous!!! Covergasm haha. And the synopsis sounds cool too! It’s already on my TBR and can’t wait for it to come out!!! 😀 New follower..

    • Yes, I love that cover. I am 90 % sure I judged it based on that at first sight… but I’m glad the synopsis is enough justification 🙂 Glad you’re waiting for it too, and thank you SO MUCH for the follow 🙂 gotta follow back! 😀

    • Oh wow. I’m not sure how to get my hands on an ARC, and I don’t think I need to– but it sure IS an awesomazing perk! Oh well. In the meantime, just gotta wait 😦 And you’re very welcome!

Write me a little something. I reply!

