Veronica Roth Stays Four The Same

And this is not just to quote a song by The Ready Set, whose vocalist I am, and forever will be, attracted to. As a matter of fact, this post is to solidify the fact that I am hellbent on grabbing myself a copy of Allegiant, and because I have probably reinforced my excitement for this conclusion way more than is necessary, I apologize.

I’m sorry, because I’m not sorry.

A New Series Four You

Divergent-Theo-James_612x612

I am SO attracted to Four (I’m calling him that because ‘Tobias’ is such a grandpa name, which is somehow sickening). I know this is probably the third time in the same number of weeks that I’ve featured the Divergent Trilogy, and if I had a dollar for every visitor thinking that I should just move on and leave this hunk alone, then I’d most likely be swimming in my own pool of Benjamin Franklins. However, I refuse to put up a faux version of myself, so I’m going to be honest and admit that for this week, I decided to look into Entertainment Weekly for my post this Saturday, yet another Divergent news feature.

And according to the source, Veronica Roth is releasing an e-series as a companion to the Divergent Trilogy, all of which are told from Four’s point of view. The first story is entitled The Transfer, which I am assuming pertains to Four’s switch from Abnegation to Dauntless, exploring his back story and thoughts on his own Choosing Ceremony. Because of the time frame, I’m not expecting to see any of Tris in this one, who met him a little more than two years later.

And honestly, I’m not sure what to think of that. I want to be excited for this release, and I am, because FOUR. And while I like science and have been taught that matter occupies space and has mass, I expect to know and believe that love doesn’t fit the criteria- though I don’t. Because isn’t it that for most, love is all that matters? And doesn’t this feeling occupy enough space in any human heart? Theory aside (and in an effort to connect the dots because that was some serious segue), I have to admit that it kind of un-thrilled me to learn that Tris won’t stumble into this book, though I’m secretly hoping that for some strange hand-of-god reason, she accidentally makes her way into Four’s 16-year old life. I am such a nerd. And while I didn’t exactly approve of the detour they took in Insurgent when they fell apart and pretty much collapsed into disaster, I’m still kind of pining for their relationship, and I really do hope they work it out (because one, it’s romantic, and two, refer to one). The point is, this book needs its own dose of lovin’.

Design A

Tris And Four On The Covers

1265-DIVERGENT-1265-COVER

Regarding Divergent, I think that the movie is getting its fair share of pre-release hype, which is great because its deserved. I’m hoping and praying for an adaptation that remains true to the book, and based on some exclusive sneak peek photos, I’m thinking the director has taken the hint, and won’t try any stupid stunts and convince himself that he can make a better version (because he can’t).

I am positively surprised by the EW magazine cover featuring Tris and Four, because they’re probably as close to how they are in my head the way they are portrayed in this shot, which is refreshing. And while I doubt that any of this was any real news for you, especially because I practically took the ‘new’ out of it, I’m hoping that this feature at least piqued your interests, if you aren’t already interested, and if you are, here’s to my hoping that I encouraged the fangirl/boy in you to try out Veronica’s new e-book series! I don’t read e-books myself, because of a pledge I want to keep fulfilling, but if you find yourselves shuffling through the electronic pages of The Transfer, I hope you come and stop by to tell me how it all worked out πŸ™‚

Design A

If you want to read straight from the source, these are the links:

So what do you think? Sound off in the comments to share your opinions and make my day πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Veronica Roth Stays Four The Same

  1. I can’t tell, do you like Four or not? Haha. I do think it’s cool that Four is getting his own little spotlight in Roth’s writing though, because I think he’s a really interesting character and while you can’t deal with him without Tris, I’m fine with them separate! He’s always been so mysterious, it’d be nice to find out more about him!

    • I love Four! πŸ™‚ I’m fine with him without Tris, because I think it’d be great to see him in the spotlight, yes. And I don’t think his character is all that Tris-centered, so he should be interesting without her. But I’d honestly prefer Tris in there with him too πŸ˜€

  2. lol, Tobias is a grandpa name! I hadn’t heard about the series of short stories coming our way (yey) and like you I’m hoping for some odd slash of fate whereby he knows Tris in these prequels. Their estrangement in Insurgent was pretty much the main reason I rated it less than Divergent when reading it, so excited about the last book. And I will miss these guys so bad when it’s all done, so I will be seeing the movies.

    • HAHA yes, Grandpa Tobias kinda rings some sort of bell. Haha! Yeah, I’m guessing it was the Tris-Tobias relationship (or the lack, thereof) in Insurgent that really made me want some more of them. But I guess I’m fine with just Four in there, as long as he can pull it off πŸ™‚ And I guess he will, he’s such a cool character!

  3. FOUR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    EEEE SO EXCITED FOR THE DIVERGENT MOVIE OMG. The moment I finished Divergent I was all hyperventilating and grabby grabby hands for the next book! I know, Tobias doesn’t sound as cool as Four… I mean, FOUR fears? That’s so freaking hot πŸ˜‰ I didn’t know about the e-book companion series thing earlier and now I can’t wait! THE TRANSFER IT IS.

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

    • OHMYGOD YOU ARE SUCH A RAY OF SUNSHINE! HAHA! Divergent is definitely an amazing read. And I think you just totally hit the nail on the head. Four fears, yes. Man that is exceptional! He’s a great character, and while I did just ramble on missing Tris in The Transfer, I want to know what you guys think! I’m glad the post encouraged you to look forward to something new πŸ™‚

Write me a little something. I reply!

