Week 4 Review: The Lost Hero

The Lost Hero Title: The Lost Hero

Author: Rick Riordan

Release Date: October 12th, 2010

Publisher: Disney Hyperion Books

Description: 557 pages, Young Adult Fiction

Goodreads Synopsis

Jason has a problem. He doesn’t remember anything before waking up in a bus full of kids on a field trip. Apparently he has a girlfriend named Piper and a best friend named Leo. They’re all students at a boarding school for “bad kids.” What did Jason do to end up here? And where is here, exactly?

Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, ever since she had that terrifying nightmare. Piper doesn’t understand her dream, or why her boyfriend suddenly doesn’t recognize her. When a freak storm hits, unleashing strange creatures and whisking her, Jason, and Leo away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood, she has a feeling she’s going to find out.Leo has a way with tools. When he sees his cabin at Camp Half-Blood, filled with power tools and machine parts, he feels right at home. But there’s weird stuff, too—like the curse everyone keeps talking about. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist that each of them—including Leo—is related to a god.

MY THOUGHTS

The Great Prophecy

I got a mini heart-attack by the end of The Last Olympian due to the semi-snippet of this book. The prophecy was introduced by the end, and I was stoked upon learning back in ’09 that a follow up series was pushing through. The Lost Hero was a pretty new experience. I think it was clever of Rick to have written in various points of view, so I could analyze the situation through different perspectives. I was on my toes for the most part, especially during the last few fight scenes. I was a bit skeptical about the risk the author was taking, excluding Percy from the book altogether, when obviously he was the real reason why the audience of the PJ franchise remained intact. However, I think it was compensation enough that one, he was made mention a number of times, two, Jason’s existence hyped up my excitement for The Son of Neptune, and three, he introduced Leo Valdez to the world. Overall, I thought the book was a light, compelling, and easy read, and the events were explained in a non-PJ-fan friendly way. I am so proud of how this book turned out, though my emotions by the end of the reread were highly contradictory, half in part because of happiness with the way most of the book turned out, and the other half in part because of the eons that seem to be in between me and The House of Hades (which I, by the way, featured here.)

Design A

New Amnesiac On The Block

The story behind Jason’s existence pretty much kept me excited because of its utter inexplicability. His origins were mysterious and intriguing, and the fact that he didn’t belong to Camp Half-Blood really opened my eyes to the possibility that he belonged somewhere similar. Percy’s whereabouts also interested me, and I was surprised by how much I missed him, because he had never really gone missing any time before in the first place. Jason himself felt like the most so-so character in this book, however. At first I was excited for him, especially since he had an awesome back story, but as the chain of events unfolded and the plot progressed, I found it harder and harder to understand him. He’s the son of a powerful god-king? Cool beans. He can fly? Nice. He speaks Latin? Woah. He’s so attractive he should be illegal? Double woah. He has god-like powers and can defeat the otherwise practically invincible? Perfect. But waaaaaay too perfect. I find it really hard to relate to those kinds of people, because I just don’t seem to have it in me to empathize with their causes or feel any of their struggles. But on the flip side, I admire how protective and trustworthy he was. Regardless of all the fame and glory, he remained down to earth to say the least, and he didn’t seem arrogant to me (although he sold himself too short, and that kind of insulted me, so believe me when I say he was the best version of himself in this one.) Or maybe I’m just being generous because of my soft spot for blonde-haired, blue-eyes, modelesque charmers.

Design A

The Dove And The Forge

I happened to like the chemistry between Piper and Jason, and though it comes nowhere close to Annabeth and Percy’s for most readers, I found myself actually appreciating their partnership. I know I’m weird because I’m not a hardcore Percabeth shipper, but I guess I’ve done that justice by not jumping onto the Jasper bandwagon either, if it even exists at all. However, I thought they were really sweet and saw a lot of good things in each other, despite some flaws or drawbacks. I appreciate how they judged character first, and looks second, though both of them are ridiculously good looking anyway, which is probably the most annoying part. The way they worked together and put their troubles behind them really made their quest all the more attainable (because trust me, it’s hard to concentrate with a feuding heart.) I liked Piper’s character a lot better than Jason’s though, mainly because she remained loyal and rational despite losing her boyfriend and movie star dad simultaneously, which should have been enough to drive most beauty queens nuts. I thought it was pretty great that she used her wits and charm to stay out of trouble, and despite the fact that she has arguably the weakest power, she remained calm and strong, not the weakest link at all (though her powers STILL sound laughable in comparison. Magic Makeup. Terrifying). Leo was my all time book and series favorite. He’s just so adorable and upstart, and made me laugh like mad a lot of the time. Being the odd man out, I completely understood what he was going through, and felt for him the most. Flaming mechanic? Doesn’t sound like much, but his powers are way more bad-ass than he lets on. Not much else need be said, really.

“In case you think I’m not a true daughter of Aphrodite, don’t even look at Jason Grace. He may not know it yet, but he’s mine. If you try to make a move I will load you into a catapult and shoot you across Long Island Sound.”

Design A

In Search Of Answers And Salvation

The book was an overall entertaining read, and was very hard to put down. Though most of the in depth fight scenes were pretty mediocre and the characters kept on carelessly injuring themselves at the most unfortunate of circumstances, I was impressed with how they handled the life and death situations. They thought up pretty incredulous, but clever solutions to bargain for their lives, and the teamwork between the three was pretty effective, and it was as if they knew what the other was thinking, at the most of convenient times for them to have channeled their inner psychics. Consider them lucky, but I think it took true courage and heart to get through what they had to. The enemies were pretty menacing, mostly in strength, because I fear their smarts are hugely lacking. I was also glad that the rest of the camp was in this book, because I really liked the sense of family and camaraderie in that place. It showed me how readily the demigods protected one another as well as their home.

The book had some issues, but was an entertaining read, 90 % thanks to Leo, who by the way is ten hundred thousand times hotter than Jason. Gods, I love him.

“Can we just call them storm spirits? Venti makes them sound like evil espresso drinks.”

Design A

MY RATING

B

4 thoughts on “Week 4 Review: The Lost Hero

  1. So, is it weird of me to say I have never read the Percy Jackson books? Before the movie, I don’t think I knew their existence. I’m really ashamed of myself, because I did watch the movie and liked it and usually books are better than movies (at least imo). But your review really makes me want to read the books… I think I’ll skip the first one because I know the gist and go onto the second one. ;D

    • Oh, that’s great! The movie was actually good, unless you read the first book and found out that the movie had nothing to do with most of it, but I think it’s a good idea to start with the second 😀 That’s an advantage with Rick’s writing- he makes sure to recount the important details from the previous books so you can skip them and still get it 😀 And thanks for reading the review! If you ever get to The Heroes of Olympus, I think you’ll like it even better 🙂

  2. I really enjoyed this book, but I do think that Son of Neptune is stronger, and Mark of Athena even more so. That said, you are absolutely right about Leo! Ugh I love him. Percy will always be my favorite character from both series, but Leo is an extremely, EXTREMELY close second, and since we have this book to thank for that, I really can’t fault it, lol. He is freaking awesome.

    I can’t wait for House of Hades!!

    • YES! I liked Son of Neptune, 90 % because Percy was actually in it. YAY! And he’s still awesome. I actually like Leo and Percy the same, because they’re both really cool, although sometimes I tend to side with Percy because I’ve known him for longer. Haha! And yes House of Hades!! October has lots of good releases coming up, doesn’t it? 🙂

Write me a little something. I reply!

