Top Ten Tuesdays: Summer TBR

TTT

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish 🙂

For this week’s feature, we were asked to tell you more about the top ten books sitting on our TBR piles for this summer. Being a Philippines-based blogger however, I can’t exactly claim that I have anything yet for the next summer, because its practically a year away. I’m currently a senior at my school, rains are pouring everywhere, classes are suspended in the afternoons, and my next book haul will probably come around by my sixteenth birthday. And since summer has ended over here when it’s just starting everywhere on the other side of the globe, I decided to just feature the books I’m planning to buy for myself next. I’m not exactly sure if I can get my hands on all of these any time soon, but I utterly REFUSE to become a party pooper so of course I am completing my list, and of course I am joining this feature.

This time, I’m going to leave the synopsis to Goodreads, because I’m actually opining on my picks, and for fear of posting an excessively lengthy entry that most likely no one will be patient enough to read, I’ll just leave you guys with my thoughts on the features, and hope that they inspire you to pick them up too. And with that, happy reading everyone! 🙂

1. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

I have heard so many good things about this one, seen so many good reviews, and since I’m all for getting myself into a good mood via good book, this is definitely a must read for me.

5th wave

2. The Story Of Us by Deb Caletti

I have to admit that I want to read this just because the synopsis is pretty interesting. Most of the reviews I’ve seen for this one claim it’s so-so, but who knows? Maybe it’s more my type of book that everyone else’s.

story of us

3. Anna And The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

For last week’s feature, this book was everywhere. The post to AATFK feature ratio was probably borderline 1:1. Everyone seems to have enjoyed this one, and because I hate getting left out of the good stuff, I thought hey, why not try to try it out.

Anna and The French Kiss

4. Eleanor And Park by Rainbow Rowell

This is one of those cases wherein I fall in love with the covers. Yes, yes I know, I didn’t have to be so judgy-judgy, but hey, plus points to this title for attracting readers with its not-so content! Besides, a lot of people seemed to have justified their curiosities with the actual story, so I’m thinking this should be pretty worth it.

Eleanor and Park

5. The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight by Jennifer Smith

It’s the title that’s captivating. Next to the fact that I have nada ideas for the statistical probability of love at first sight, I’m actually interested because I want to know. The story seems interesting, and though it’s one of those averagely reviewed titles, I still believe I won’t really get to agree or disagree without reading it. And so I want to.

The Statistical Probability

6. All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

This is one of those books wherein the synopsis just screams doom. And I love things like that! I’m not sadistic or anything, but because I believe that one way or another, characters resolve impossibly resolvable issues in the end, I’m going to want to give this one a shot.

All Our Yesterdays

7. Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter

Heist Society was the bomb diggity. And Uncommon Criminals was Heist Society’s appeal squared. I just adore this series! And because I have unfinished business, I really want a copy of this book. Like NOW.

Perfect Scoundrels

8. The Sea Of Tranquility by Katja Millay

I don’t even know why I want to read this. I just do. My instincts are telling me to grab a copy and I want to, because I can sense it’s going to be awesome. And let me tell you, my instincts are pretty darn spot on.

Sea of Tranquility

9. The Program by Suzanne Young

If you’ve been following this blog long enough, you’ll know that I love all things dystopian. Most of these are pretty maudlin, or just overall depressing and meant to be that way, but I love them because they tend to have strong characters who feel and care for one another. And I appreciate that.

the Program

10. This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

I love music. I hate DJing, one because I’ve never tried it, and two, because the sounds it produces seems way too loud for my taste, but this book seems unique in story line, and I want to try something different. So I think going for this one was pretty easy.

This Song

What do you think? Sound off in the comments!

32 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Summer TBR

  1. I love your list! I’ve read the statistical probability of love at first sight, perfect scoundrels, and anna and the french kiss. I can say that all three of those are really good books. I want to read the program too! 🙂

    • Yes, I’ve seen Anna And The French Kiss strewn into the same sentence as ‘the best’ on more than one occasion, fortunately 🙂 Glad you liked it! And yes, I love Heist Society, and in general, anything Ally Carter 🙂 And I agree, All Our Yesterdays just draws you in because of the story. Thank you for stopping by my feature, Natalie~

    • Awww I am so glad everyone loved that! Really makes me want and try it out, though I’m still kinda doubting my mom will approve of my reading anything involving french kisses. Haha! But I AM reading that book. And I’m glad you agree with some of my picks 🙂 Thanks, I WILL try to enjoy school. It’s hard to, but I shall try. Haha! After all, I kind of missed most my friends. Just one more year!! Thanks for stopping by as well 😀

    • You are very welcome! I’m sooo jelly that you got to read The 5th Wave. Everyone wants to read it!! And I really think I made the right choice putting Eleanor and Park on there. I love cute books 😀 And thank you as well for visiting in return 🙂

  2. Yesssss, this list is amazing. 5th Wave, Anna, Eleanor, and Statistical Probability are all reeeeally good (though Eleanor wasn’t as light as I was expecting, it deals with some pretty serious stuff). The Program made my list as well, though! I can’t wait to read it. And All Our Yesterdays sounds AMAZING, I can’t wait to get my hands on that one.

    My Top Ten

    • Yeah, I kind of thought that Eleanor was just a light read, though based on some reviews, yeah, it was pretty darn serious in some ways 🙂 But I still really wanna read it, I can deal with that! And I’m glad you liked this list 😀 The Program is a must try, and I think it offers a little something extra for the dystopian genre. I haven’t come across anything quite like its story. So I’m excited! Especially for All Our Yesterdays. I think you should try it out too! 🙂

  3. Oooh, I loved the rainy season when I lived in The Philippines (I was an exchange student there in the early 90s). I always prefer rain to heat 🙂

    You have a great list here. I hope you’re able to get a hold of these and enjoy reading them!

    • Oh, really? That is SO cool! I’m not sure what rainy days were like back in the 90’s, but it must have been way off from how it is now, because it’s all just gloom and fog and traffic 😦 But it’s fun here! Especially when it’s just lightly drizzling and you get an excuse for a cup of cot cocoa. Yum haha! And yes, rain > heat any day. Thanks as well! I do wanna read these titles.

  4. You and I have a lot of similar to-reads: Anna and the French Kiss, Eleanor & Park, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, and All Our Yesterdays. Great list!

  5. Oh no, poor Jasmine for the lack of summer. 😦 But hey, at least you got to enjoy it all while we were moaning and groaning? Maybe I should paint you a picture of a sun to hang in your room to pretend it’s still summer? I don’t knowwwww! 😛

    I haven’t read ANY of these, but there are quite a few here on my wishlist. Anna and the French Kiss is one that, like you, I’ve noticed everyone else seems to have read and loved so I want to get in on the action (even though I don’t really like contemporary or romance so we’ll see how that goes). Eleanor & Park, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, and The Program are also on my wishlist. Read those first and tell me what you think so I know whether I should read them 😉 Haha.

    • HAHA well, you have a point that I DID get my chance before any of you guys did, but it’s not that comforting to know I had a good time out of sync with you guys. Haha! Except with some of my awesome kababayans of course, my homeys. HAHA! And thanks for the offer of the painting, haha!! It’s so cool that you’re opening up to genres that aren’t really your type 🙂 And sure, if I find any of these particularly good, as in good with maybe more than two o’s, then I will come to you first and tell you! Thanks for stoppin’ by Asti! 🙂

    • Yeah, Sea of Tranquility sounds really interesting for some reason! And yeah, I wanna read The 5th Wave partly because people keep telling me it’s quite phenomenal 🙂

Write me a little something. I reply!

