“Waiting On” Wednesday: Just One Year

WWW

This is a weekly meme hosted at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating! πŸ™‚

For this weeks feature, I decided to go with a title by one of my all time favorite authors. I’m well aware of the fact that I should practically sound like a broken record by now, considering the number of times I’ve admitted that I’m a romantic, but… well. I’m a romantic! Who knew. And because I adore the romance in Gayle Forman books, I’m featuring the companion to her book Just One Day. I have nothing against Lulu, and although I had to struggle to like her for most of the novel, I think it’s great that Forman allowed me to keep an open mind and truly see the characters evolving, because they did.

On the flip side however, Just One Year is told from Willem’s perspective, and because I think he is just so adorbs, I’m going to admit that I am way more excited for this one than I was for its predecessor. Willem’s story and personality resonated with me quite well, and because he looks a helluva lot like, or might even be, Diego Boneta as seen on the covers ( he was in about 5 episodes of Pretty Little Liars, and I don’t care because he’s CHARMING) Β I am emphasizing my capital A anticipation for this book. October, don’t you bring me down.

Just One YearΒ Title:Β Just One Year

Β Author: Gayle Forman

Β Expected Publication: October 15, 2013

Β Publisher: Dutton Children’s

Β Description:Β 384 pages, Young Adult Fiction

Β Goodreads Synopsis

Can you fall in love in just one day? Can you become a new person? How about in just one year? Sheltered American good girl Allyson β€œLuLu” Healey and easygoing actor Willem De Ruiter are about to find out against a guidebook-worthy array of foreign backdrops. Equal parts romance, coming-of-age-tale, mystery and travel romp (with settings that span from England’s Stratford upon Avon to Paris to Amsterdam to India’s Bollywood) Just one Day and Just one Year show how in looking for someone else, you just might wind up finding yourself.

22 thoughts on ““Waiting On” Wednesday: Just One Year

  1. Great pick! I love Gayle Forman’s books too, and I can’t wait to read this book either. I think it’s one of my most anticipated books this year. I’m dying to learn more about Willem, what really happened in Paris, and what happens after that ending in Just One Day.

  2. Gah, this book sounds so good!! I love books written from the guy’s perspective, so I’m definitely going to have to read Just One Day… just so I can make it to this book. ;D

    My WoW

  3. I really enjoyed Just One Day, after really getting into it. Although, like you, I’m even more excited for Just One Year because it’s from the POV of Willem!! I need to know what happened and what’s going to happen with their relationship. October can’t come soon enough!

    Lovely pick, Jasmine! ❀

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

    • YAY I’m happy you think so too! πŸ™‚ I adore Willem. I think I like books told from the POV of boys, in general. Haha! That should be weird, but it isn’t. Thank you Aneeqah πŸ™‚ Everything is coming out in October isn’t it 😦

  4. I can’t wait for this one either!! Just One Day was really good and I can’t wait to find out what happened to Willem and how the story will continue. The guy on the cover does look a lot like Diego Boneta… I didn’t realize that before πŸ˜€

    Thanks for stopping by my WoW!

    • HAHA yeah, doesn’t he? Diego Boneta was the first person in my head when I saw the covers. And I really wanna know what happens to Willem, too! He is such an amazing character, and I love how it’s told from his perspective. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  5. I haven’t read ANY of Gayle Forman’s books, which is quite a shame because everyone always talks about how amazing she is. I can’t help it! I’m not a romantic. (Are you? I couldn’t quite tell from this post :P) I promise one of these days I’ll get around to reading one of her books though. Any recommendation on which one it should be? Preferably darker!

    • HAHA nope, no one can tell that I am. So yes, I am a romantic. HAHA. Willem Shakespeare got me here. I mean, William. Whoops! =)) I don’t find any of her books particularly dark, though I think If I Stay was more a heart wrenching tale than Just One Day. And I really liked Where She Went too πŸ™‚

Write me a little something. I reply!

