Top Ten Tuesdays: Beach Reads

TTT

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish 🙂

For this week’s Top Ten Tuesdays, I picked my “Beach Reads” based on its more literal translation. In other words, these were the some of the better books I read for leisure while I was out on vacation for the summer (I’m not a beach person.) School may be starting in two days, and while I’m kind of bothered that I have to write about books that remind me of times when my only problem was that I didn’t have one… well here it is, anyway!

I’m not going to go into the details of how and why these books found their way into my list. Needless to say, they’re pretty good. However, I’ll leave you guys with a Goodreads synopsis in case you wish to add a title to your TBR piles 🙂

1. Mockingjay (The Hunger Games # 3) by Suzanne Collins

(cannot even wait for the Catching Fire movie)

mockingjay

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Kat, her family, friends, and entire District 12.

2. We’ll Always Have Summer (Summer #3) by Jenny Han

Summer

It’s been two years since Conrad told Belly to go with Jeremiah. She and Jeremiah have been inseparable ever since, even attending the same college– only, their relationship hasn’t exactly been the happily ever after Belly had hoped it would be. And when Jeremiah makes the worst mistake a boy can make, Belly is forced to question what she thought was true love. Does she really have a future with Jeremiah? Has she ever gotten over Conrad? It’s time for Belly to decide, once and for all, who has her heart forever.

3. Where She Went (If I Stay # 2) by Gayle Forman

Where She Went

It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future-and each other.

4. The Summoning (Darkest Powers # 1) by Kelley Armstrong

Summoning

My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.

All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don’t even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost – and the ghost saw me.

Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won’t leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow got myself locked up in Lyle House, a “special home” for troubled teens. Yet the home isn’t what it seems. Don’t tell anyone, but I think there might be more to my housemates than meets the eye. The question is, whose side are they on? it’s up to me to figure out the dangerous secrets behind Lyle House…before its skeletons come back to haunt me.

5. Paper Towns by John Green

Paper Towns

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life – dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge – he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues – and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer Q gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew.

6. Burn For Burn (Burn For Burn # 1) by Siobhan Vivian and Jenny Han

Burn For Burn

Lillia has never had any problems dealing with boys who like her. Not until this summer, when one went too far. No way will she let the same thing happen to her little sister.

Kat is tired of the rumours, the insults, the cruel jokes. It all goes back to one person– her ex-best friend– and she’s ready to make her pay.

Four years ago, Mary left Jar Island because of a boy. But she’s not the same girl anymore. And she’s ready to prove it to him.

Three very different girls who want the same thing: sweet, sweet revenge. And they won’t stop until they each had a taste.

7. Along For The Ride by Sarah Dessen

Along For The Ride

It’s been so long since Auden slept at night. Ever since her parents’ divorce—or since the fighting started. Now she has the chance to spend a carefree summer with her dad and his new family in the charming beach town where they live.

A job in a clothes boutique introduces Auden to the world of girls: their talk, their friendship, their crushes. She missed out on all that, too busy being the perfect daughter to her demanding mother. Then she meets Eli, an intriguing loner and a fellow insomniac who becomes her guide to the nocturnal world of the town. Together they embark on parallel quests: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she’s been denied; for Eli, to come to terms with the guilt he feels for the death of a friend.

In her signature pitch-perfect style, Sarah Dessen explores the hearts of two lonely people learning to connect.

8. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

9. The Maze Runner  by James Dashner

(Dylan O’ Brien as Thomas! HELL YES)

Maze Runner

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every thirty days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

10. Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society # 2) by Ally Carter

Uncommon Criminals

Katarina Bishop has worn a lot of labels in her short life. Friend. Niece. Daughter. Thief. But for the last two months she’s simply been known as the girl who ran the crew that robbed the greatest museum in the world. That’s why Kat isn’t surprised when she’s asked to steal the infamous Cleopatra Emerald so it can be returned to its rightful owners.

There are only three problems. First, the gem hasn’t been seen in public in thirty years. Second, since the fall of the Egyptian empire and the suicide of Cleopatra, no one who holds the emerald keeps it for long, and in Kat’s world, history almost always repeats itself. But it’s the third problem that makes Kat’s crew the most nervous and that is simply… the emerald is cursed.

Kat might be in way over her head, but she’s not going down without a fight. After all she has her best friend—the gorgeous Hale—and the rest of her crew with her as they chase the Cleopatra around the globe, dodging curses, realizing that the same tricks and cons her family has used for centuries are useless this time.

Which means, this time, Katarina Bishop is making up her own rules.

So what do you think? It’s your turn to tell me! 🙂

48 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Beach Reads

  1. I’ve only read 13 Reasons Why and Mockingjay off this list (can’t wait for Catching Fire movie either! Trailer looks epic). I actually own The Maze Runner and it’s in my TBR pile somewhere (oh so many books) and I really want to get my hands on some Gayle Forman books since I’ve heard so many great things but haven’t read them. Boo!

    Great list (even if you have school in two days so won’t get to enjoy them)!

    • Aww I really love Gayle Forman! I’m not sure if her books are your type, cause they’re kind of really romance centered, but I happen to find them interesting and amazing! 🙂 The Maze Runner was great, though it’s the only one I’ve read in that series. And thank you! Boo to school! 😦

  2. I love The Hunger Games series, but I couldn’t stand Mockingjay. I’ll have to reread it when the movie comes out, but I won’t touch it until then. It was definitely a love it/hate it sort of book.

    • I loved The Hunger Games too, and I have to agree that Mockingjay was my least favorite book in that series, although I still pretty much liked it 🙂 I understand why you’d nurse a love-hate relationship with it, but you definitely should give it a second chance! I’m hoping the movies will be good too 🙂

    • Thank youuuu 🙂 And yeah The Summer I Turned Pretty was AMAZING. I loved Along For The Ride the best among Sarah’s books as well, but I liked The Truth About Forever, too 🙂 And Gayle Forman is a great author! But I liked Where She Went better than If I Stay. Thank you so much for stopping by 🙂

  3. As I read your list, I was just sitting here going, “Oh, that sounds good… another one to add to the TBR… and another…… and, oh hey it’s The Maze R — DYLAN O’BRIEN AS THOMAS?!!” I have to admit I wasn’t a *huge* fan of the Maze Runner series as a whole, but I loved the first book, and omg. Dylan O’Brien as Thomas. YESSSSSS.

    Erm, sorry, I got a little overexcited. But GREAT list! ;D

    • HAHA nothing to apologize for!! I share your love of Dylan O’ Brien. He’s such an awesome actor and person. And if you’ve seen Teen Wolf season 3, then tell me he’s not hot as well because he’s SMOKIN’. HAHA! I liked The Maze Runner a lot, not exactly capital L loved it, but it was a pretty great read! Haven’t read any of the other books though. Thanks for stopping by 😀

      • I looove Teen Wolf! That’s the only thing I’ve seen Dylan O’Brien in, and he totally rocks that role. I love his adorable awkwardness, and he should make a GREAT Thomas, as well. So excited for that movie now!!

      • Yeah he rocks it, doesn’t he? Gosh, I am SO happy to have found a fellow fan. YAAAAY. It’s still a long time coming, but The Maze Runner definitely goes on my To Be Watched pile. Haha!

  4. Yay, me! So, I’ve read absolutely every book on your list except the last oen from the Heist Society series. Everyone keeps telling me about how amazing the series is though, so I’ll definitely have to get to that sometime. As for the other books, I’ve read and loved each and every one of them — I hope you love them as much as I did ❤ (Except Burn for Burn, it didn't do it for me…)

    • WOW yay you!! Heist Society really was amazing, and I have yet to finish the series, but I will 🙂 Burn For Burn was pretty worth it for me. I think it’s more my type of book than yours! 😀 Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. I love the books you picked (at least the ones that I know)! I still need to read Where She Went… If I Stay was really beautiful and moving. I really want to read Paper Towns and Burn for Burn though! But I thought Thirteen Reasons Why was a bit meh. Hannah’s reasons for suicide were a thorn in my side and the way she sent those tapes to make people feel guilty… I didn’t understand her. I guess it’s just me, though.

    • Where She Went was amazing. I mean, I think it’s better than the If I Stay, which was also really beautiful, yes! 🙂 I personally liked paper Towns better than Burn For Burn, but both are still pretty good titles. And yeahh, you have a point with Hannah Baker. I think she did that just cause she HAD to have some form of closure before she ended her life, and some people would say those people deserved it anyway. Except Clay! But I totally understand you, and nope I don’t think it’s just you. Great insight!

    • HAHA! I loved The Hunger Games 🙂 Waiting for the movie! Heist Society is the only Ally Carter series I’ve read, but I think she’s a pretty amazing author. And it’s cool that we have similarities in picks. Great minds think alike, yes! Haha!

    • Yep I love Heist Society. I loved The Summer I Turned Pretty, but I think the books got progressively better, so I liked We’ll Always Have Summer the best 😀 And Sarah Dessen books are great summer reads too! 🙂

  6. So many great choices…
    I love that you chose Uncommon Criminals over Heist Society – very different.
    I keep adding Sarah Dessen books to my TBR pile, but I never seem to get around to reading them! Along For the Ride just joined the pile. 🙂

    Oooo, a fellow Stiles fan – O’Brien is brilliant! I love TEEN WOLF.
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier.

    • Sarah Dessen’s books are top notch, I can tell you that 🙂 Real interesting. Love Along For The Ride! And yes. Stiles/Dylan/Teen Wolf fan. You’re very welcome! 😀

Write me a little something. I reply!

